We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed..........”
Review of Borgo Papareschi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borgo Papareschi
Ranked #49 of 1,133 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 days in October 13 in a two bed apartment. The bathrooms were dirty, the apartment was very sparsely decorated and the whole interior badly needed repainted. I will post pictures to show the ingrained grime in the shower cubicle, light switches, banister and walls. I agree with previous posts that the rooms look nothing like the website - I can only assume that they keep one really nice show apartment. We spent a small fortune on taxis as the area isn't the best and didn't feel comfortable getting the bus. For the money we paid I feel somewhat ripped off...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdinburghDesde1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear guests,
thank you for spending your time to give us your feedback, we appreciate it. We are very sorry you did not have a very good experience here in Casali Papareschi. We really care about what our guests think, and we regret we have not known what was happening during your stay. If we had known we would certainly done all our best, as maybe we could change the apartment. Very soon we are going to have a restructuring plan of the building to fix all the problem. We are inviting you to come back from the next February and check by yourself all the improvements.
About the position…we are in a couple of Kilometres from the city center, that is very easy to reach by the 170 bus, that comes every 10 minutes, otherwise in 10 minute by walk there is Trastevere station and from there you can take the tram 8, anyway 20 minutes from the city center.
For all of us will be a real pleasure to have you here again having the opportunity to show you how we can make your holidays an unforgettable experience.
Best regards, the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Borgo Papareschi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 305 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

My girlfriend, her nan and I wanted to visit Rome (a last minute deal) and we booked this apartment. It was easy to get to the apartment from the airport as we got the train from the airport to Roma Trastevere and walked from there. It is a simple walk. You come out of the station, turn right, go under the bridge and walk about 2km straight and look for a road called Albert Einstein (you need to walk down the steps at the end of that road and walk down a gravel path). The room was basic but had all the required needs (air con, shower, sink, oven, hobs, fridge, safe, etc). It did not have a kettle but it did have pans. The sofa bed, which my girlfriend's nan slept on, was a really nice memory foam mattress.

The service at reception was fantastic. They spoke really good English and they explained how to get to all the attractions.

The travel into the centre of Rome took about 15 minutes using the 170 bus to Termini. At Termini train station you could by a 24, 48 or 72 hour 'hop on hop off' tour bus. This is an open top bus which drives around Rome. It was a great way of getting around.

We had a fantastic time during the day in Rome and the apartment meant we had a relaxing evening. I would definitely use this apartment again if I visited Rome and I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear guest, we are so glad you enjoyed all the face of your holiday, and we are thrilled to have been a part of it. The reception and all the staff work hard to make the stay more comfortable than it can be. All we do our job with enthusiasm!
The welcoming memories give a strong way to spend the entire holidays, we can feel we did our job very good when we read a review like your.
Reading that we can really feel your happiness and this make us happy.
The apartments are equipped to spend the holidays in the city with all the home comfort and those are full optional as you note, we can also borrow the electrical kettle, by request. The position is perfect, close to the city center but hide from the traffic and good connected.
If you want to come back you we will look forward to you.
All our best regards, The staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at Papareschi Apartmens in August 2013.The room was very nice and clean, we got everything that we need in the kitchen.The bed was very comfortable and it was quiet every night. The staff were extremely helpful and through in explaining the facilities, transportation options, tour options, what to see and where to eat. Perfect location out of the crowd but with all you need nearby: markets, shops, pizza,bar, ice cream. The city centre is just 20 minutes away-bus 170-.Good internet connection. At our request, they arranged early morning taxi to the airport which was very reasonably priced and good quality private car. Would return again on next trip to Rome. We recommend to all!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonard_moise2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your prompt feedback: your opinion is very important to us and to other guests that will choose Casali Papareschi for an amazing holiday experience in Rome.
We are glad you could appreciate the comfort and amenities of our apartments, as well as the optimal location, not far at all from the city centre (it only takes a 15 minutes bus ride to Piazza Venezia!).
As you have experienced, our staff is always ready to help with suggestions, directions, transport and ready to give interesting local tips and solve any other issue that may occur.
It was a great pleausure having you as our guests and we are looking forward to seeing you soon for your next holiday in the Eternal City.

Best regards,
The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here with our two children and chose it based largely on the photographs on the Expedia website and, at the time, favourable reviews. Its important to say at the start that we actually ended up enjoying our stay there, but think people should be better informed before choosing these apartments as we felt we'd been misled. Staff were friendly and helpful, but here are the facts: Apart from the external pictures of the building, what we found bears no resemblance to either the descriptions or photographs advertised. Our first apartment, described as a superior apartment for four people, was tiny and sparsely furnished and we immediately asked for an upgrade to a two bedroom apartment for an additional €125 for our 3 night stay. We expected this to be more like the photos advertised but it was once again pretty basic. No aspect of it could be described as luxurious although it was certainly clean and comfortable enough. I don't know where the lovely soft furnishings and four poster beds shown in the pictures are, but not in either of the 'superior' apartments we stayed in! The apartments are in a very poor part of town and getting into the centre of Rome and back involves travel on a very crowded bus and walking through a back alley - again, this is fine if you know what to expect and we did get used to it. They are surrounded by derelict buildings covered in graffiti - you have no way of knowing this from the external photos. The apartments themselves are in lovely modernised buildings and gated for safety and we didn't ever feel unsafe there - as I say, I think it's more a case of knowing what to expect before you get there - and we didn't, so were initially surprised and very disappointed. Don't avoid - just know what it's really like before you go!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chorleymagsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this review, what can we say…we are very sorry you did not like our apartments, the pictures, in all the websites, are real pictures of our real apartment, maybe you have been in another kind of apartment, though these are almost all pretty similar.

About the place we are very close to the city center and this is not a poor district but it is a family one, that is why it is quiet and calm.
There is an old factory building in front of us but now there is a very nice project to restructure and modernize all the area.

Moreover, thank you for noticing the availability and the warmth of the staff, that is one of our strengths!

We believe we are genuine and in our apartment-hotel you can find everything you can read in the descriptions and reviews, and see in the traveler photos.

Last but not least, we are happy that you spent a nice holiday and we have been a part of it!

Huge greetings from all the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a two floor apartment for our 4 night stay, which had plenty of space for the five of us. The staff were very helpful in suggesting the best way to reach the sights of Rome. The 170 bus is often very busy and hot but only 1 euro 50 to get to the centre. We ate at some local restaurants. Retro was very good and only a short walk away. Also the ice creams from Ping Pong on the main road were delicious. At the end of a hot day seeing the wonderful sights of Rome it was good to come back to the quiet of the apartment. Travestere is a lovely area to visit in the evening with good restaurants and street musicians etc. a lovely atmosphere. You need to take a bus there though. Also make sue to pack mosquito repellent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChownA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear guests,
Thanks for your kind review! Your grateful words mean a lot to us and such good feedback pushes us to improve day after day. The 'very helpful' staff says thanks and is happy you managed to spend a great holiday at Casali Papareschi, having appreciated the roomy and comfy apartment, the bustling neighbourhood where we are located and the quick connections to the city centre.
We look forward to having you here again soon!

Kind regards,
The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights with our two teenage children. We found the apartments to be clean, comfortable and spacious. We had a two bedroom unit which was on three floors. The kitchen has basic equipment but could use something to dry dishes with. The staff are very friendly and eager to help with local information and can easily answer any questions.It is a short walk to the bus stop but be aware that the bus will be extremely crowded but that was part of our holiday experience! We did use the bus to go into the city but got a taxi back at night. The extra cost was about 1 Euro each. There is ample free parking and the whole property is very secure, this is good because the surrounding area is a little rundown. Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend these apartments to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Joanne,
Thanks a lot for your fulfilling words. The entire staff is very pleased for your review and can not wait to welcome you and your family here again. We know the buses in Rome may be a bit stressful, but on the other hand you had a comfortable, spacious and home-like place to relax when you came back from town and easily cook something for dinner. Moreover, the area where we are located is safe and there are plenty of amenities such as supermarkets, tobacconists, shops, etc...
Again, the staff would like to thank you for this wonderful review and are happy you managed to live the classic "Vacanze Romane" also thanks to our tips.

Best regards,
The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were upgraded to an apartment for our two night stay. It was spacious and comfortable, on two levels. The kitchen could have been better equipped with a few more utensils and tea towels. There was also considerable noise from apartment above us, over night. It sounded like people dragging the chairs on the wooden floors, bit hard to fall asleep with that noise, until they did... sometime after we wanted to... However over all it was good and we extended our stay, and moved into a double room, in another building, which again was spacious with no noise from neighbours. The motel is a short walk from the bus station, slightly longer, but still easy, to the train station. Staff were very helpful with which bus or train to catch to the various tourist spots.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for this review. We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience of the first 2 nights. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for the noise made by other guests during the night, we can just apologize for them. By the way, your words about the second part of your holiday delight us, and we are really pleased that you extended your stay in the hotel and we even appreciate your grateful compliments about the staff! Our main goal is our guests’ full satisfaction and this is why we always try to fix all the problems that may occur as soon as we can and try to help tourists with directions and tips about places to see and nice restaurants.
We hope you will come back one day and find the same hearty atmosphere, we will welcome you with open arms.
Our best regards
The staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Piccolotel
#235 of 3,710 in Rome
55 reviews
Ostiense
Residence Colombo 112
Residence Colombo 112
#38 of 1,133 in Rome
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
MarcoAurelio49 Apartments - Colosseo
Patrizia Romana Palace
#61 of 1,133 in Rome
219 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#12 of 1,133 in Rome
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Papareschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Papareschi

Address: Via Amedeo Avogadro, 85, 00100 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 1,133 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $58 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Borgo Papareschi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Apartments in the heart of Rome, the main building was restored and furnished with every comfort. Housed in an ancient building of 1800, once belonging to the Church of San Crisogono in Trastevere, Borgo Papareschi is comfortable and safe: the ideal solution, unique and fascinating, to experience the capital city, as they are located close to Trastevere and to historic center. All apartments are elegantly furnished and equipped with broadband internet connection, satellite TV, air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Borgo Papareschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing