We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place and great staff”
Review of Borgo Papareschi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo Papareschi
Ranked #59 of 1,164 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at Papareschi Apartmens in August 2013.The room was very nice and clean, we got everything that we need in the kitchen.The bed was very comfortable and it was quiet every night. The staff were extremely helpful and through in explaining the facilities, transportation options, tour options, what to see and where to eat. Perfect location out of the crowd but with all you need nearby: markets, shops, pizza,bar, ice cream. The city centre is just 20 minutes away-bus 170-.Good internet connection. At our request, they arranged early morning taxi to the airport which was very reasonably priced and good quality private car. Would return again on next trip to Rome. We recommend to all!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonard_moise2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your prompt feedback: your opinion is very important to us and to other guests that will choose Casali Papareschi for an amazing holiday experience in Rome.
We are glad you could appreciate the comfort and amenities of our apartments, as well as the optimal location, not far at all from the city centre (it only takes a 15 minutes bus ride to Piazza Venezia!).
As you have experienced, our staff is always ready to help with suggestions, directions, transport and ready to give interesting local tips and solve any other issue that may occur.
It was a great pleausure having you as our guests and we are looking forward to seeing you soon for your next holiday in the Eternal City.

Best regards,
The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 309 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here with our two children and chose it based largely on the photographs on the Expedia website and, at the time, favourable reviews. Its important to say at the start that we actually ended up enjoying our stay there, but think people should be better informed before choosing these apartments as we felt we'd been misled. Staff were friendly and helpful, but here are the facts: Apart from the external pictures of the building, what we found bears no resemblance to either the descriptions or photographs advertised. Our first apartment, described as a superior apartment for four people, was tiny and sparsely furnished and we immediately asked for an upgrade to a two bedroom apartment for an additional €125 for our 3 night stay. We expected this to be more like the photos advertised but it was once again pretty basic. No aspect of it could be described as luxurious although it was certainly clean and comfortable enough. I don't know where the lovely soft furnishings and four poster beds shown in the pictures are, but not in either of the 'superior' apartments we stayed in! The apartments are in a very poor part of town and getting into the centre of Rome and back involves travel on a very crowded bus and walking through a back alley - again, this is fine if you know what to expect and we did get used to it. They are surrounded by derelict buildings covered in graffiti - you have no way of knowing this from the external photos. The apartments themselves are in lovely modernised buildings and gated for safety and we didn't ever feel unsafe there - as I say, I think it's more a case of knowing what to expect before you get there - and we didn't, so were initially surprised and very disappointed. Don't avoid - just know what it's really like before you go!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chorleymagsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this review, what can we say…we are very sorry you did not like our apartments, the pictures, in all the websites, are real pictures of our real apartment, maybe you have been in another kind of apartment, though these are almost all pretty similar.

About the place we are very close to the city center and this is not a poor district but it is a family one, that is why it is quiet and calm.
There is an old factory building in front of us but now there is a very nice project to restructure and modernize all the area.

Moreover, thank you for noticing the availability and the warmth of the staff, that is one of our strengths!

We believe we are genuine and in our apartment-hotel you can find everything you can read in the descriptions and reviews, and see in the traveler photos.

Last but not least, we are happy that you spent a nice holiday and we have been a part of it!

Huge greetings from all the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a two floor apartment for our 4 night stay, which had plenty of space for the five of us. The staff were very helpful in suggesting the best way to reach the sights of Rome. The 170 bus is often very busy and hot but only 1 euro 50 to get to the centre. We ate at some local restaurants. Retro was very good and only a short walk away. Also the ice creams from Ping Pong on the main road were delicious. At the end of a hot day seeing the wonderful sights of Rome it was good to come back to the quiet of the apartment. Travestere is a lovely area to visit in the evening with good restaurants and street musicians etc. a lovely atmosphere. You need to take a bus there though. Also make sue to pack mosquito repellent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChownA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear guests,
Thanks for your kind review! Your grateful words mean a lot to us and such good feedback pushes us to improve day after day. The 'very helpful' staff says thanks and is happy you managed to spend a great holiday at Casali Papareschi, having appreciated the roomy and comfy apartment, the bustling neighbourhood where we are located and the quick connections to the city centre.
We look forward to having you here again soon!

Kind regards,
The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights with our two teenage children. We found the apartments to be clean, comfortable and spacious. We had a two bedroom unit which was on three floors. The kitchen has basic equipment but could use something to dry dishes with. The staff are very friendly and eager to help with local information and can easily answer any questions.It is a short walk to the bus stop but be aware that the bus will be extremely crowded but that was part of our holiday experience! We did use the bus to go into the city but got a taxi back at night. The extra cost was about 1 Euro each. There is ample free parking and the whole property is very secure, this is good because the surrounding area is a little rundown. Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend these apartments to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Joanne,
Thanks a lot for your fulfilling words. The entire staff is very pleased for your review and can not wait to welcome you and your family here again. We know the buses in Rome may be a bit stressful, but on the other hand you had a comfortable, spacious and home-like place to relax when you came back from town and easily cook something for dinner. Moreover, the area where we are located is safe and there are plenty of amenities such as supermarkets, tobacconists, shops, etc...
Again, the staff would like to thank you for this wonderful review and are happy you managed to live the classic "Vacanze Romane" also thanks to our tips.

Best regards,
The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were upgraded to an apartment for our two night stay. It was spacious and comfortable, on two levels. The kitchen could have been better equipped with a few more utensils and tea towels. There was also considerable noise from apartment above us, over night. It sounded like people dragging the chairs on the wooden floors, bit hard to fall asleep with that noise, until they did... sometime after we wanted to... However over all it was good and we extended our stay, and moved into a double room, in another building, which again was spacious with no noise from neighbours. The motel is a short walk from the bus station, slightly longer, but still easy, to the train station. Staff were very helpful with which bus or train to catch to the various tourist spots.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for this review. We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience of the first 2 nights. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for the noise made by other guests during the night, we can just apologize for them. By the way, your words about the second part of your holiday delight us, and we are really pleased that you extended your stay in the hotel and we even appreciate your grateful compliments about the staff! Our main goal is our guests’ full satisfaction and this is why we always try to fix all the problems that may occur as soon as we can and try to help tourists with directions and tips about places to see and nice restaurants.
We hope you will come back one day and find the same hearty atmosphere, we will welcome you with open arms.
Our best regards
The staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights.Very very nice and quiet place, friendly staff, comfortable conditions for rest, near the centre Lots of space for a family of four. Free Wifi. Very comfy beds. Easy for traveling with children.We recommend to all!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest, many thank you for your review. We are so pleased to know that you and your family have really enjoyed the time spent at the Casali. Peace and quiet are the things that characterize our structure, that is perfect for a family, our guest can spend their holiday close to the city center and in the same time without the famous confusion of Rome. We always try our best everyday in order to feel our guests more comfortable, trying to make them live an extraordinary experience and we are glad yours was satisfactory. Nothing make us more proud than your grateful words! The entire staff would like to thank you for recommending us.
We really hope to have you again as our guest soon!
Best regards,
The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just back from a short week-end spent in Rome with my husband, we staied two nights (Friday and Saturday night) at Casali Papareschi. Unfortunately our experience has not been very positive. First, location. The location is very bad, it's hidden and a good brisk 10 minutes walk to Trastevere train station (so we are not talking of the nice part of Transtevere full of night life, charming restaurants and bella vita...). From the residence, there is a shortcut to reach the main Viale Marconi, but watch out, is very dodgy (you pass by abandoned relicts of cars, lots of rubbish, dog poo). On the other side of the residence, on the left of the car park, there is an abandonend factory, where someone has planted some vine plants, but again, the place is full of squatters (we saw them at evening jumping through the fences) and we felt absolutely not safe where we were. For whom that were asking if Rome is all like that, I assure you, it is NOT! :) Second, this is a residence, so the ideal place for someone that REALLY needs a kitchen or cooking facilities, or maybe with very young kids, or for someone that stays in Rome at least one week. For any other shorter periods, look for a proper hotel. For a 150 eur a night, they do not even clean the apartment every day but every three days only. All in all the structure is good, they did a good job in the refurbishment of what I think were old houses with a quirky result. But for the price asked, there are many details that need to be improved (lights in the kitchen are not enough, no curtains at all in all apartment, no shelves in the bathroom, very very thin pillows and no spares ones...). It would have been ok at half the price paid.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fulvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very sorry to hear that your experience has not been as positive as our other guests’. Casali Papareschi is set in a quiet and peaceful location on the edge of the city centre. Marconi area, where the residence is located, is a very dynamic district of Rome, with plenty of shops, amenities, a market and exceptional connections to the tourist attractions (buses, tramway, trains). As for the shortcut, we have been asking the City of Rome to clean it and renovate it and works are starting as we speak for converting it into a public park. Plans are being made for reconverting the abandoned factory into public buildings (theatre, student houses, etc…).
As you said, Casali Papareschi is not a hotel but a residence with built-in hoilday apartments, where our guests live as they were at home (they have living space, an equipped kitchenette, and so on…). We also offer a cleaning service (as advertised on the internet on our website and on OTAs) in order to let our guests chill and enjoy their holidays. As for spare kitchen tools, pillows and every other necessity, the reception is always available and willing to help out by providing what our guests need.
We hope you come back and enjoy your next stay here in Rome.
Best regards,
The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ostiense
Residence Colombo 112
Residence Colombo 112
#33 of 1,164 in Rome
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Bollo Apartments
Bollo Apartments
#84 of 1,164 in Rome
369 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Trianon Borgo Pio Residence
Adagio Rome Vatican
#15 of 1,164 in Rome
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Papareschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Papareschi

Address: Via Amedeo Avogadro, 85, 00100 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 1,164 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $52 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Borgo Papareschi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Apartments in the heart of Rome, the main building was restored and furnished with every comfort. Housed in an ancient building of 1800, once belonging to the Church of San Crisogono in Trastevere, Borgo Papareschi is comfortable and safe: the ideal solution, unique and fascinating, to experience the capital city, as they are located close to Trastevere and to historic center. All apartments are elegantly furnished and equipped with broadband internet connection, satellite TV, air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borgo Papareschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing