We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgo Papareschi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borgo Papareschi
Ranked #40 of 1,067 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were upgraded to an apartment for our two night stay. It was spacious and comfortable, on two levels. The kitchen could have been better equipped with a few more utensils and tea towels. There was also considerable noise from apartment above us, over night. It sounded like people dragging the chairs on the wooden floors, bit hard to fall asleep with that noise, until they did... sometime after we wanted to... However over all it was good and we extended our stay, and moved into a double room, in another building, which again was spacious with no noise from neighbours. The motel is a short walk from the bus station, slightly longer, but still easy, to the train station. Staff were very helpful with which bus or train to catch to the various tourist spots.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for this review. We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience of the first 2 nights. Unfortunately, we cannot be responsible for the noise made by other guests during the night, we can just apologize for them. By the way, your words about the second part of your holiday delight us, and we are really pleased that you extended your stay in the hotel and we even appreciate your grateful compliments about the staff! Our main goal is our guests’ full satisfaction and this is why we always try to fix all the problems that may occur as soon as we can and try to help tourists with directions and tips about places to see and nice restaurants.
We hope you will come back one day and find the same hearty atmosphere, we will welcome you with open arms.
Our best regards
The staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    100
    32
    8
    10
See reviews for
102
88
11
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights.Very very nice and quiet place, friendly staff, comfortable conditions for rest, near the centre Lots of space for a family of four. Free Wifi. Very comfy beds. Easy for traveling with children.We recommend to all!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest, many thank you for your review. We are so pleased to know that you and your family have really enjoyed the time spent at the Casali. Peace and quiet are the things that characterize our structure, that is perfect for a family, our guest can spend their holiday close to the city center and in the same time without the famous confusion of Rome. We always try our best everyday in order to feel our guests more comfortable, trying to make them live an extraordinary experience and we are glad yours was satisfactory. Nothing make us more proud than your grateful words! The entire staff would like to thank you for recommending us.
We really hope to have you again as our guest soon!
Best regards,
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just back from a short week-end spent in Rome with my husband, we staied two nights (Friday and Saturday night) at Casali Papareschi. Unfortunately our experience has not been very positive. First, location. The location is very bad, it's hidden and a good brisk 10 minutes walk to Trastevere train station (so we are not talking of the nice part of Transtevere full of night life, charming restaurants and bella vita...). From the residence, there is a shortcut to reach the main Viale Marconi, but watch out, is very dodgy (you pass by abandoned relicts of cars, lots of rubbish, dog poo). On the other side of the residence, on the left of the car park, there is an abandonend factory, where someone has planted some vine plants, but again, the place is full of squatters (we saw them at evening jumping through the fences) and we felt absolutely not safe where we were. For whom that were asking if Rome is all like that, I assure you, it is NOT! :) Second, this is a residence, so the ideal place for someone that REALLY needs a kitchen or cooking facilities, or maybe with very young kids, or for someone that stays in Rome at least one week. For any other shorter periods, look for a proper hotel. For a 150 eur a night, they do not even clean the apartment every day but every three days only. All in all the structure is good, they did a good job in the refurbishment of what I think were old houses with a quirky result. But for the price asked, there are many details that need to be improved (lights in the kitchen are not enough, no curtains at all in all apartment, no shelves in the bathroom, very very thin pillows and no spares ones...). It would have been ok at half the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fulvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry to hear that your experience has not been as positive as our other guests’. Casali Papareschi is set in a quiet and peaceful location on the edge of the city centre. Marconi area, where the residence is located, is a very dynamic district of Rome, with plenty of shops, amenities, a market and exceptional connections to the tourist attractions (buses, tramway, trains). As for the shortcut, we have been asking the City of Rome to clean it and renovate it and works are starting as we speak for converting it into a public park. Plans are being made for reconverting the abandoned factory into public buildings (theatre, student houses, etc…).
As you said, Casali Papareschi is not a hotel but a residence with built-in hoilday apartments, where our guests live as they were at home (they have living space, an equipped kitchenette, and so on…). We also offer a cleaning service (as advertised on the internet on our website and on OTAs) in order to let our guests chill and enjoy their holidays. As for spare kitchen tools, pillows and every other necessity, the reception is always available and willing to help out by providing what our guests need.
We hope you come back and enjoy your next stay here in Rome.
Best regards,
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for 5 nights. We were given an upgrade to a 4 bedroom apartment which was so spacious, full of character and charming. The kitchen was a bit light on utensils (tea towels and a kettle were absent) but we got by ok by improvising. There was a communal washing machine and dryer (inexpensive) and a gym (not that I used it!). The best thing about this place is the extremely friendly and helpful staff members at reception. Denise and Tommaso were individually the best reception staff that we encountered during our 2 month trip of Europe. I learnt a lot about the way of life for young Italians through conversations with them.
The only negative aspect about this hotel, I feel, is the location. Whilst the bus stop to the centre of Rome is only a 1 minute walk and shops are close, we really didn't like Trastevere, despite Romans telling us that the heart of Rome is Trastevere. It felt a bit dingy and there were always dodgy-looking folk hanging about the place. But, we haven't experienced life in other parts of Rome so this might be normal (??).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TypicalSilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, thanks for your review. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the time spent at Casali Papareschi and our typical setting. We remind you that our staff is always willing to help with any request you may have (e.g. supplementary kitchenware, bedlinen, etc…). Said staff is extremely grateful for your words of appreciation and we can admit it was a real pleasure to have guests like you! Making our guests feel comfortable and try to make them acquainted with our lifestyle is a major goal for us.
We’re sorry that you did not enjoy the wonderful area of Trastevere, which is one of the most popular and typical neighbourhoods in Rome. It was probably just a bad timing, so we are waiting for you to come back here and give you more specific tips in order to make the most of your ‘Trasteverean’ experience.
Thanks you for been such nice and kind guests and for recommending us.
We really hope to see you soon!
The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Fantastic accomodation! Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Convenient location! Lots of space for a family of four. Free Wifi. Very comfy beds. Quirky property - a mix of old and new - extremely attractive. Can't recommend highly enough. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for your review and for using enthusiastic words to describe your stay.
We are pleased to know that your family have really enjoyed the time spent at the Casali.
Our apartments are designed to make families feel at home even during they vacations, and we are glad to know that you had that feeling during your stay and that you liked our style which is something difficult to find next to a big city like Rome.
All the staff thanks you for been such a nice guests and for recommending us.

We really hope to have you again as our guest soon!

Bye ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, good property but miser owner. Not willing to upgrade the room facilities. Old building, nice surroundings but poorly maintained. Can be much better than what it is now. Washing chargeable, no proper utensils..and charging 150 euros per day for this kind of services....

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shivam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience has only partly satisfied you. Every respectable business has incomes, but it also has to keep up with a massive cash outflow in order to be able to provide the guests with the services they need. The owners of this place and all the staff have committed themselves for this project and are involved in it heart and soul every day in order to fully satisfy every single guest, so so 'miser' is a very inappropriate (perhaps offensive) term to use to define them.
Casali Papareschi offers a specific kind of service both for short and long term and all of our guests have always been satisfied in both cases. This structure is not a hotel, but a residence with built-in hoilday apartments. Nevertheless, we offer hotel-like services such as a full time reception with qualified staff always willing to accommodate our guests' requests (as much as possible), free wi-fi, free Sat TV, a fenced-in parking lot, and common laundry and fitness areas. Moreover, the room rate you have mentioned is not correct (it is, in fact, less than 150€ per night).
As for the surroundings, their current state depends on the City of Rome, which has just started renovation works that will turn that area in a public garden.
We hope you will be able to see it in person when you come back for your next stay at Casali Papareschi.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very nice apartment, we had the two bedroom, three floors apartments. A lot of space for the hole family. Good internet connection. A few essential items missing in the kitchen, like microwave place to dry dishes. Secure parking is free
+ A lot of space for a family.
- Missing microwave in the kitchen.
- Lengthy bus ride from Rome, crowded bus in the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slb_ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casali_Papareschi, Responsabile reception at Borgo Papareschi, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review of your stay at Casali Papareschi. We are pleased to know that you found our apartment roomy and comfortable for your family. Making our guests feeling at home during their holidays is our main goal and we are proud we managed to achieve it.
All of our apartments are provided with an equipped kitchen, but we have no microwaves for safety reasons. However, we will be considering your suggestion for the future.
We offer our guest the opportunity of parking their own car in our free parking in order to let them move easily around town by bus (as you know, the bus stop is right around the corner). However, in such a busy period (Rome has faced several tourist streams due to the election of the new pope, to the marathon and to other important events) traffic on the streets may happen to be quite intense and buses to be crowded.
We looking forward to have you here again as our guests anyway.
Best regards,
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ostiense
Residence Colombo 112
Residence Colombo 112
#22 of 1,067 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Lux Appartamenti
#62 of 1,067 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Patrizia Romana Palace
#36 of 1,067 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Aventine
Vecchia Roma Resort
Vecchia Roma Resort
#17 of 1,067 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Piccolotel
#308 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Papareschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Papareschi

Property: Borgo Papareschi
Address: Via Amedeo Avogadro, 85, 00100 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 1,067 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Borgo Papareschi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Apartments in the heart of Rome, the main building was restored and furnished with every comfort. Housed in an ancient building of 1800, once belonging to the Church of San Crisogono in Trastevere, Borgo Papareschi is comfortable and safe: the ideal solution, unique and fascinating, to experience the capital city, as they are located close to Trastevere and to historic center. All apartments are elegantly furnished and equipped with broadband internet connection, satellite TV, air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Borgo Papareschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing