We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Nice Facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lunetta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lunetta
Ranked #37 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location - Nice Facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Hotel Lunetta has a great location, just a block from the Piazza Campo de Fiori where there are many restaurants, bars, gelato shops, bakeries, and street fairs. We walked from the hotel to the Vatican and the Colisseum in the other direction -- it is all very easy to explore from this hotel. The Piazza de Navonna is just a couple blocks away, the Pantheon about 4 blocks. The only taxi that was needed was to get to and from the Roma Termini (train station) and the airport.

The room was smaller than I expected, with the bed taking up the majority of the floorspace. But it was comfortable, and we didn't spend much time in the room. The place was sparkling clean and the maid service was good.

I had continual problems with the WiFi (from phone and laptop). The front desk staff were polite in helping, but they seemed to be well aware that their WiFi stunk and the hotel has apparently not done anything to address this. The "fix" was (repeatedly) to call the hotel IT 'expert' who has the staff cycle power to the Wireless Access points. This was frustrating since we really needed to access the internet a couple of times for ticketing purposes and couldn't connect.

The spa should have been fantastic, but it fell short of expectations. The large hydrotherapy pool needed to be much hotter, and the jets were pretty weak. The pool was also not very clean - there was a slimey feel to the tiles in places indicating it should have been cleaned better. The massage was disappointing - not deep or hard enough and the communication was not good enough to tell the masseuse what to do different. The steam room had a bad smell to it too. Overall it was a shame since, with the bit better maintenance, the spa would be wonderful - the facilities really are beautiful.

Breakfast was included and it was very good. A selection of scrambled eggs, pastries, bacon or sausage, ham, breads, cheeses, juices, and wonderful espresso/cappachino. The service staff was always attentive and polite.

The front desk staff were very nice and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SR-Seibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    183
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
176
412
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Lunetta for 5 nights (a long time for those staying in rome).
Upon arrival we were greeted by a cute and friendly blonde girl named Anna that upgraded us to a junior suite that was amazing had a great view of the street below. The room was very large had a big bathroom with a shower and a bath, a king size bed and a fold out couch bed (an especially big room for rome). It was really modern and we had a small balcony as well. We thanked the girl down stairs and went out exploring. In the morning there was a buffet breakfast which contained different breads and fruits, scrambelled eggs, cheeses and yoghourt. A decent breakfast. The location of the hotel was also really good, it was in a quiet location but only a 2 minutes walk (not even) from a nice big piazza (Campo dei Fiori) with restaurants and each morning there was a farmers market selling top quality produce. It was about a 20 min walk from the spanish steps and trevi fountain. Everything was in close proximity to the hotel except for the colosseum which we caught a cab to. The staff were always helpful in booking trips for us or recommending a good itinerary.
It was all smooth sailing until we hit a minor bump. We were doing a tour in the vatican- blissfully unaware of those around us, and as we were going to pay the tour guide we realised that our wallet with all its credit cards and cash was stollen! We were extremely worried. How can you do anything without any cash? Luckily we were staying at hotel lunetta and they looked after us very well by organising a surprise dinner for the 3 of us which later we discovered was free of charge. They made sure that we had everything we needed to be comfortable. Everyone was so helpful and kind to us! we had a wonderful time and the staff were amazing! we give a special thanks to Roberto and Marco at the reception desk and all the other staff who helped us with everything! we were so happy and we cannot recommend this hotel enough! Stay here on your next trip in Rome!

Room Tip: Maybe ask if you can be upgraded as this is what we did and we got a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

There were 7 of us including 4 kids. The pool was a bonus even though it was technically a "spa" pool, any water is a relief for kids touring Rome in 95+ degree weather. Easy to walk everywhere, quaint little streets, just great. Pricey but worth it! Breakfast is also awesome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently spent 4 nights at the Hotel Lunetta and it was a wonderful stay. The hotel is very recently renovated, and to a very high standard. It has an excellent location, pretty much equidistant between the Campo dei Fiori and the Piazza Navona. I had a room at the rear of the hotel, overlooking a very quiet piazza, but I can imagine that all the rooms are pretty quiet, thanks to the excellent double glazing they have installed (unusual in Rome). The beds are firm, and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was huge, and I would suggest that if any older travellers are visiting the hotel they might want to ask for a room with shower only, rather than a shower inside a bath, as my room had (the sides of the bath are VERY high and deep, and it might be hard for an older person to step in and out. The bath is also very slippy to stand on). Breakfast is excellent, way better than other hotels in Rome I have stayed it. The hotel provides: croissants, brioches, cake, bread for toasting, something hot like eggs, cheeses and hams, yoghurts, fresh fruit (as salad and also whole), several types of juices and makes excellent caffe lattes and cappucinos. But what make sthe hotel stand out to my mind is the fact that all the staff go out of their way to provide good service. Everyone makes an effort, from the wait staff in the breakfast room, to the helpful reception team. When things go wrong, as sometimes happens, they work very hard to fix things as quickly as possible. The safe in my room didn't work, at first, and the manager himself spent 20 minutes fixing it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to spend a lovely time in Rome. It is not cheap, but it is worth every penny.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, but probably those to the rear are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scot_in_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I went to Italy for our honeymoon, and our trip started in Rome at Hotel Lunetta. This turned out to be our favorite hotel that we stayed at in Italy, and we can't wait to come back to Rome and stay here again! We stayed at Hotel Lunetta for four nights and loved every minute of it.The room was very modern and elegant in its design. It truly felt like a luxury hotel and was a perfect way to start our honeymoon.

The location is near Campo de' Fiori and within walking distance of everything we wanted to do in Rome. The Colosseum, The Roman Forum, The Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Trajan's Column, the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's Square were all 15-20 minutes walking distance (and this was for people who had never been to Rome and occasionally got lost). Hotel Lunetta is located in the older part of Rome where everything is beautiful, and walking is really the ideal way to experience this part of the city. We had a great time just wandering around and trying the various gelateria's and pizzeria's we found.

There are many trattoria's, ristorante's and cafe's near the hotel so it was never a problem finding somewhere to eat. In addition, the staff are very helpful and willing to give recommendations. The hotel's breakfast was great and featured excellent pastries, cured meats, warm foods (bacon, eggs, sausage), juice, and excellent cappuccino's and cafe latte's. The staff service was excellent, and we actually found in comparison to the local currency exchange businesses that the hotel had a better exchange rate. Finally, when we left the hotel, the man who checked us out (I don't remember his name) insisted that he call a cab for us to Termini Station, so we didn't get ripped off. Indeed, the cab service he called was half the price we paid getting to the hotel from Termini Station (we mistakenly took an unofficial cab).

The only regret we have is that we didn't fit in time to try the spa downstairs. We definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome, and can't wait to return to the Eternal City and stay at Hotel Lunetta again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolasM807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I recently returned from Roma where I encountered wonderful people at Hotel Lunetta - Carlo, Vittorio and the staff. I had rented an apartment online and needless to say after 3 tries they were all misrepresented. I now needed a place to stay and ended up at Hotel Lunetta. They were very friendly, accommodating and compassionate to my dilemma. I ended up staying at their Residence Apartment which was amazing. The location, daily service and amenities were exceptional. I definitely look forward to my next visit to Roma and Hotel Lunetta. Thank you Carlo for all you did to help me find a "home" for my visit. You definitely turned a troubled moment into wonderful memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent three nights at the hotel post cruise in August. The hotel is in a great location and is lovely- very clean and everything looks new.

The week we happend to stay there however was record high heat in Rome and we were unlucky enough to get a room that the AC was struggling. I was so thankful that I brought a travel fan with me as we were so hot the first night that even with the fan we got no sleep.

Management tried their best, they moved us for one night to a gorgeous suite which was very cool however the suite was booked for the next day so we had to move yet again. The third room was not as cool as the suite but not stifling like our first room. I would have given the hotel five stars if we didn't have to keep moving but I can't fault the hotel that they were booked up. They tried their best to accomodate us.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#52 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lunetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lunetta

Property: Hotel Lunetta
Address: Piazza del Paradiso 68, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lunetta 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in early july 2011, the hotel Lunetta is the result of a complete renovation of a historic building dating back to 1368 ad and now an elegant 4 ****L The hotel Lunetta boasts 30 elegant rooms, all furnished in a sophisticated modern design, and differ among themselves for careful choice of materials and details that make one different from the other while maintaining a unique style.Opened in early July 2011, the hotel Lunetta is the result of a complete renovation of a historic building dating back to 1368 ad and now an elegant Boutique Hotel 4 ****L. The hotel Lunetta boasts 30 elegant rooms, all furnished in a sophisticated modern design, and differ among themselves for careful choice of materials and details that make one different from the other while maintaining a unique style.On the top floor the Roof Terrace Bar(open until Midnight during the summer) is the ideal place for relaxing moments sipping a drink and admire the spectacular view over the rooftops of Rome. In the morning, from 07.00 to 10.30 in the Breakfast room is served a generous Buffet with the choices of croissants, pastries and homemade cookies, natural fruit juices, as well as local meats, cheeses, scrambled eggs, bacon and specialty seasonal. Light Lunches or Dinner are served in the bar, or in the room through the Room Service. The Hotel Lunetta is located in the Historical Center of Rome near the lively Campo De'Fiori, a 30-minute walk from St. Peter's Basilica, 300 meters from Piazza Navona and a 12 minutes walk from the Pantheon and 20 minutes from the Spanish Steps.THE SPA Immersed in the extraordinary setting of the Theatre of Pompey, built in 55 BC in the ancient heart of the capital, comes the exclusive Spa of the Hotel Lunetta. An area of 300 square meters in which to relax and get in shape after a hike or a day's work.The Spa has an indoor swimming pool of 15 square meters with Jacuzzi and water blades for cervical muscles, Finnish sauna, Turkish bath, chromo therapy, emotional shower, a wonderful spa suite for couples therapy and various booths for the more advanced treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lunetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing