We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon
Ranked #198 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great central hotel”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had 3 nights in Rome with our children (6&9) at the end of our holiday in Italy. Knowing Rome would be big, hot and challenging, I wanted a centrally located, air conditioned hotel where we could escape when we needed a break. I'm really happy I chose Le Clarisse. We have had the family suite, a HUGE room with 2 singles and a large double. It is beautifully furnished, with very comfy beds and a modern shower room. It is also spotlessly clean. Breakfast was included in our room rate and consisted of a splendid buffet with pastries, cereals, yogurt, cheese & ham, fruit, great coffee (hot chocolate for the kids) etc - I had been expecting traditional hard biscuits so was very happy! It's not cheap, but we feel in the lap of luxury. Location-wise it is fabulous - we can see the Pantheon from the bedroom window and despite the heat the kids have managed some great walking routes (Pantheon/Trevi Fountain/Piazza Novona and Colosseum/Circus Maximus/Boca de la Veridad) direct from the hotel. There is a taxi rank very nearby if you're aiming further afield. Hotel restaurant (La Ciambella) is great also. Will definitely return when we are next in Rome.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd floor suite for a family - spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelswithmyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Rita B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear "Travelswithmyboys",
please let us inform you, first of all, that your review made our day!

It is reason of great pride and happiness that you fully enjoyed your family holiday at Hoel Le Clarisse al Pantheon: we truly try our best everyday in order to offer a great, personalized service and to stand to any Guests' expectations. So when it is clear that we have achieved our Goeal, we feel even more motivated to keep doing what we do everyday.

It ia also a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed, both breakfast and other meals, in our brand new restaurant "La Ciambella": given the hard work and the trust we put in this project, we are delighted to know that we are going the right way.

We hope you will be our Guests again anytime in the future beacuse we would really like to thank you personally reserving you a special treatment.

Our bwarmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    247
    56
    17
    11
See reviews for
127
301
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Located a few minutes from the Pantheon, Hotel Clarisse, is a charming boutique hotel. The decor is rich and tasteful. The adjoining restaurant is chic and serves a simply breakfast for hotel guest (if it is included in your package) along with tasty meals all day long. We spent the last 3 days of our honeymoon at the hotel. I was a little disappointed in our room. It was very clean and quaint, had everything accept a phone however it definitely lack in space. I am well aware on standard room sizes in Italy and on top of that I am a size 0 or XS. However, at the price paid it was hard to have two medium size suit cases and 1 carry-on in the room. Furthermore, the washroom and shower were so tiny I could barely take a shower. I had the opportunity to view other rooms and found that they were much bigger for the same price. My advice would be to book well in advance and request a bigger room. Overall, we had a pleasant stay. The staff were very nice and helpful. I would definitely return....for a bigger room :) I had the opportunity to view other rooms and found that they were much bigger for the same price. My advice would be to book well in advance and request a bigger room. Overall, we had a pleasant stay. The staff were very nice and helpful. I would definitely return....for a bigger room :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch3Ls3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Rita B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for taking the time to share such a flattering review with other travellers.

Also: thank you for choosing as for such a special occasion as your Honeymoon is!

Your appreciation is the most precious reward we could receive for our hard work. We are glad you enjoyed our Staf service, location and tasty breakfast and meals in our restaurant "La Ciambella".

We are truly sorry, though, you did not fully appreciate your room as apparently it did not meet your size expectations, even though we would just like to inform other travellers that all of our rooms are larger that normal standards in Rome.
Please, next time (if you would give us the pleasure to host you again in the future) inform the Staff as soon as possible of anything we could do to in order to make your stay as pleasurable as possible, and we will be more than happy to do our best to satisfy your any need.

With the hope of meeting you again in Rome,
we send our

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

There's no photo of the hotel's name on the building because there isn't one! There's no lobby either. There's no phone in any room! Our room looked out over the kitchen exhaust pipes. We only stayed one night that was supposed to be three and they refused to refund us. We got Visa Signature involved and showed them the photos we took. Visa sent a refund and took this hotel off of there site. If you want a great hotel in this area, try the del Senato in the Pantheon plaza.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Rita B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mr "John K",
first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time, after two months from your stay, to create a brand new profile in order to review your brief stay at Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon.

Secondly, I must admit that we were all quite shocked at reading such a harsh comment. Luckily enough we have the right to explain our point of view to other travellers.

1) The Hotel fetures a big, shiny, copper sign labelling: "Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon", perfectly visible from the street;

2) Your statement about the lobby is incorrect and unfair: the Hotel does feature a large and bright lobby which includes tables and sofas for our Guests. The lobby is located on first floor. The pictures you have taken belong to the ancient building in which the Hotel is located. That is a public and accessible area, but it is a service area and allowed to Staff only. As you may know, it is not possible to build up or modify buildings belonging to the Historical Center of Rome, as they are protected by very strict rules in this sense;

3) You had reserved two deluxe rooms. As any of our readers can check, if they please, the pictures on our website, they certainly cannot be defined unsatisfying rooms, from any point of view you may want to look at them. They are our quietest, brightest, largest rooms and feature any kind of amenity and service a Guest may need during their stay, as you can read by yourself by the many kind reviews;

4) Our Staff has been at your complete disposal during your stay with us, always kind and smiling despite you being rude and unkind towards them and their efforts. They tried to do their best in order to offer other rooms with no surcharge and understand which were the reasons of your dissatisfaction;

5) We could not refund you as you have paid your stay to the website you had reserved through, and not directly to us, first of all. We had not received the payment from them yet, as they pay at the end of the month. Also: as any other Hotel in the world, we do have a cancellation policy featuring penalties that any Guest willing to reserve is made aware of. You have willingly subscribed it;

6) You had a travel agent reserving for you and, before coming, you did not even bother to have a look at the pictures or at our public website in order to see if our Hotel could fulfiill your needs and stand to your expectations;

6) Visa does not show Hotels on its website, it does not work like that;

In conclusion, we are extremely regretful to acknowledge that your observations are unfair, undeserved and misleading.

I hope I have cleared out our position. Our good will and great respect towards our past, present and future Guests gives us trust in the fact they are perfeclty capable of judging this situation by themselves.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Pros: location (Pantheon), most comfortable beds on our entire Italy trip, wonderful restaurant, large room, large bathroom, quiet.

Cons: no view from room at all (darker interior courtyard).

My husband stays at the nearby Minerve hotel on business - in his opinion, it's nice but not worth the money. We chose le Clarisse for half the price and were very pleased.

Staff was helpful (especially Giulia at check-in, English very good (better than my Italian). Did we mention the comfy beds? Comfy by European standards at least, "firm" doesn't quite cover their rock-hard beds. Radiant floor heating in the bathroom, powerful air conditioning in the bedroom.

Breakfast was included in the attached restaurant (outside and next door down) and it was quite a nice spread of juices, breads, cold cuts, hard boiled eggs, cereal and yogurts. Ordered cappucinos and lattes, we were ready to go.

As the pantheon area was pandemonium, it was nice to be JUST far enough away to not hear it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cglow9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Rita B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Cglow9

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you have really enjoyed our hospitality and services.
We hope to host you again the next time that you come to the Eternal Rome !

Arrivederci !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It's a very well priced hotel, especially if you book directly through their website!

Location: Perfect! We walked absolutely everywhere - Pompeii, Colosseum, Vatican, etc. Literally, I couldn't ask for a better location...

Rooms: Recently renovated, very clean and quite large, but.... While the windows provided good sound proofing to stop the noise (not too much noise anyway as the hotel is located on quiete street) coming from the outside - there was virtually no soundproofing with neighbouring rooms. It wasn't a big problem for us as our neighbours were rather quiete - but we could still hear them. Also the mattress was a little too hard for our liking - it didn't stop us from sleeping though after walking for the whole day :)

Room Tip: Book on their website directly for a better deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kostya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at a deluxe room 3 nights in june together with family to celebrate a birthday.
First og all, the deluxe room is not worth the extra money. The only difference from the standard rooms are a jaccuci, and we prefer an ordinary shower.

The rooms are new and clean, but nothing special. The bathroom is nice.
The people in the reception are very friendly and service minded.
Their breakfast restaurant is brand new and nice, but breakfast is typical boring Italian/French.
We did not eat other meals their, but we had a bottle of wine and a great complimentary snack one night. They have a rooftop terrace, but its nothing in particular and we didn't use it.
If you want great location and are looking for good value for money, Le Clarisse is a good choice,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Food_traveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon on our honeymoon in Italy. I cannot even begin to tell you how amazing this hotel is. The location is perfect. You are in walking distance to most of the things you'll want to see and do in Rome and if not you can take a quick bus ride to get where you want to go. The staff, especially Sergio was amazing. He helped us book our Vatican tour and arranged for taxi service when we needed it. The rooms were very nice and modern and the bathroom was amazing. Just wish you didn't have to waive your hand to get the light and heat to stay on In the bathroom. The breakfast in the morning is delicious and definitely worth waking up for. We cannot wait to go back to Italy and we definitely will be staying at this hotel again!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#114 of 1,258 in Rome
761 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#302 of 1,258 in Rome
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Pantheon Inn
Pantheon Inn
#467 of 1,258 in Rome
432 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#126 of 1,258 in Rome
1,062 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#55 of 1,258 in Rome
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon

Property: Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon
Address: Via Dell'Arco della Ciambella 19, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon is a three stars hotel established in an antique building dating from the 12th century. Thanks to its prime location, is the ideal place to enjoy Rome and its surroundings. It is conveniently located close to the main commercial streets for shopping and the major tourist attractions for sightseeing such as the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Campo de Fiori, Largo di Torre Argentina, Via del Corso, Piazza di Spagna, the Vatican, Saint Peter's square, Foro Romano and the Coliseum. Overlooking our terrace or historical buildings, the 24 rooms are designed to meet the needs of families, couples on a romantic getaway and business travellers looking for tranquillity. All rooms are soundproofed and non-smoking, with air conditioning, safe, free wi fi, Tv lcd 27" satellite, Sky Tv, minibar, courtesy tray. The comfortable and modern bathrooms offer a wide shower, dry hair, body care kit and quality bath linen. Some rooms have a Jacuzzi and old brick ceilings. For the comfort and pleasure of its guests, the hotel offers Wi Fi in public areas with a 24h/24h reception desk and the possibility of an happy hour or tasting some dishes of the Roman culinary tradition at "La Ciambella" our partner Restaurant, Pizzeria, American Bar. During the course of summer, you can enjoy the terrace located on the second floor and relax after a day of exploring the city. Quality facilities and an excellent location make the Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon, the perfect starting point for indulging in what Rome has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Clarisse al Pantheon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing