We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ranked #34 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Beautiful property. Be sure to get breakfast included in your rate, it is relatively expensive. Breakfast choices were excellent including made to order hot items. Rooms clean and well appointed. We had adjoining rooms with our kids, which was a major convenience. Staff was very nice. Welcomed with sparkling or regular water, coffee or sparkling wine - nice touch. Doorman excellent. Concierge very knowledgable. Great location.

Room Tip: We had the small rooms on the fourth floor, which adjoined with our kids. These rooms were nice, alt...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MemphisMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
There are newer reviews for The First Luxury Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 815 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a great hotel in a quiet spot in convenient location. We paid for the extra night and went right to our room after overnight flight and felt right at home. It was a smallish room but brand new with a huge comfortable bed ( I wanted to take the bed with us), beautiful shower and very comfy feel. Lots of places to plug in phones ipads et. We loved the lobby, restaurant and roof garden that has great views of the Vatican etc. Smaller artsy type hotel but very upscale. It is right up the block from shopping etc. It is at the north edge of "the sights" and so a bit of a walk to say the Colleseum, but it certainly works as a venue. Nice staff all around. Our room had an odd waist high window that sat right over the lobby entrance. It is almost like we didn't have a window, but it was ok. We loved it and of course it is in Rome so how can you not like it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a real window.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Raymundo4855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

From welcome, welcome, welcome on arrival by staff offering coffee or prosecco to duty clerk showing us room and operational details to concierge finding us a table at a magnificent Italian home fare eatery, service style and class was omnipresent. For a smart hotel where you can feel special, delivers service and quality the first art is not to be missed. Of course I could comment on art work and hotel finish but the website can fill you in. Our only note would be that electricity is cut from the room when you leave rendering charging of devices impossible. Stuck with a flat phone and iPad wasn't fun. Tip check alternate supply source before you stroll out.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank ann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our 10th Wedding Anniversary in Rome and we could not have picked a more perfect hotel. From the moment we arrived we received amazing hospitality from the staff. In fact every member of staff we dealt with were superb which the hotel should be proud of. The hotel is in a great central location, amazingly clean, fresh and modern. The food there is spectacular and the bar staff know how to make a brilliant cocktail. We would also like to mention that on arrival we dealt with a trainee named Flavio. I am not sure why he is still a trainee as he done a fantastic job of providing all the information we needed and answered every question we wanted answered... Brilliant member of staff so please pass on my thanks to him making our stay extra easy and extra special.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor about your stay at The First.

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay during your 10th Wedding Anniversary and that you enjoyed the hospitality of our staff, the location of the property and the modern design of our spaces. We will also extend your comment to Flavio who will be extremely thrilled to hear that he has contributed to your wonderful stay at The First.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The First.

Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We'd never heard of this hotel before, but chose it based on location, reviews from Tripadvisor and pictures we saw. The room was indeed beautifully decorated and surprisingly spacious. The most comfortable bed I ever slept in, walk in closet, big bathroom, separate living room, terrace… Only complaint was the air conditioner, which was controlled by the reception. Even though they turned it on/off immediately upon request, this is usually something you'd want to do yourself. Room was too cold (even for July) most of the time. They had an issue with the hot water when we were there, but I guess this could happen anywhere. The hotel's small, but the staff's great, specially Dario, who was super attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kikinielander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor about your stay at The First.

We are glad that you have had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our perfect location, super comfortable bed in our spacious and modern design room. We will also extend your comment to our Shift Leader Dario who would be extremely thrilled to hear that he has contributed to your wonderful stay at The First.

We are however sorry about the issue you have had with the air condition. Actually every room has the possibility to minimally control the temperature, to have it up to 3 degree higher or lower but the whole system is indeed centralised. We however would be delighted to personalise the air condition's temperature to our your needs, but we apologise if we did not do a better job in explaining this to you. As for the hot water situation it was indeed a temporary and unfortunate issue and we thank you for your understanding.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The First.


Sincerely yours,


Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We spent three nights at the first arts hotel in July. I was a little worried that it wasn't one of the many "known" five star hotels in rome. I usually exclusively book through Amex Platinum but I trusted the trip advisor reviews and am so glad that I did!!!!
The location was excellent. 2 blocks from the piazza del poppolo. 10 minutes to the spanish steps...we even walked to the vatican in 30 minutes. There were tons of restaurants and cafés within couple of minutes walk.
The room and hotel were clean and new and modern. Really stunning decor and functional...(I'm learning how important that is in enjoying your hotel stay) All of my advance room requests were honored and the staff were incredible!!! Nice, helpful genuine...I could go on and on. They helped us with advice. Booked advance tickets and even helped me to get a pair of shoes repaired on our last day in rome...and only charged me 10€! Wow! Now that is service. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and will certainly return! Thank you to all of the staff at the first arts.

Room Tip: Ask in advance. The staff was very great and did their best to accommodate.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shaumie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time leave a comment on Trip Advisor about your stay at The First.

We are glad to learn that you have had a memorable stay with us. We always tried our best to accomodate our guests' special requests and we cannot be happier to know that we have accomplished to satisfy your needs during your stay with us.

We deeply thank you for the kind comments you shared on trip advisor and for trusting us to host you in Rome despite us being a new boutique hotel, and we really look forward to welcome you back at The First soon.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manger, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Best hotel I've stayed at in Europe for a long time !
Fantastic welcome from Dario too on Reception. He was a gold mine of recommends for places to eat and places to go. It felt like we had our own personal guide and we'd only just checked in. Great breakfasts. Super service all round.
I can't imagine going back to Rome and not having to fight to get a room there. Bit of a long winded hotel name tho is the best I can do to criticise the place !! ;)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigehall10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe F, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at The First.

We are happy to hear about the great welcome by our Reception Shift Leader Dario and the superb recommendations has has given to for the places to eat and go during your stay here. It is our objective to make sure that our guests are pampered during their stay with us and we are glad that we have done so for you. For the next time when your plans bring you back to Rome do not hesitate to contact us directly and we'll be sure to reserve one of our best suites for you.

Look forward to have you back at The First soon.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
433 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#53 of 1,267 in Rome
1,370 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#37 of 1,267 in Rome
1,064 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $401 - $1,084 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the iconic shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the Italian contemporary luxury, with 29 rooms and suites perfectly matching culture and elegance. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like in an art gallery, yours for a few days. Enjoy AcquaRoof dining with breath-taking views of the Eternal city, and the amazing cuisine of Michelin star Chef Alessandro Narducci at Acquolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing