We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The First Luxury Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ranked #34 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just perfect...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Driving into Rome gives you such a buzz, the city is so beautiful. This hotel is tucked away, 2 minutes walk from The Peoples Square, right next to shopping central. On arrival you are greeted with big smiles and warm welcomes and cold glass of fizz. Your bags are whisked away to your room where you find high celling's, amazing artwork and palatial home comforts. I was taken for a special birthday treat, and it felt just perfect.

Inside the hotel there is an amazing Michelin star restaurant, All-ore. It is definitely worth going. We tried the taster menu with accompanying wines - wow, what an experience, finished off by the singing of happy birthday and a wonderful candle topped cake.

The staff were extremely helpful, they booked visits to various historic sites, recommended wonderful places to eat, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious, absolutely spotless, with the most comfortable bed. The bathroom was his and hers, with a very large shower, definitely big enough for two.

Paying a visit to the roof top terrace is a must, wow the views are outstanding, the bar is fully stocked, and you can fine dine in the open.

I highly recommend this hotel, I would definitely love to go back.

Room Tip: I think you can't go wrong no matter which room you stay in.... If you have the money, go for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    121
    31
    6
    9
See reviews for
105
463
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lechlade
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed for 3 nights in a Junior suite. The room (and all of the hotel) was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was perfectly adequate, quickly delivered and tasty.
The location is excellent for getting around Rome.... walking distance to everywhere or the Metro is only a few hundred metres away behind Piazza del Popolo.
The best though is the team that work in the hotel.... Dario and Karin were the ones we met at check-in / out and they were both fantastic.... Very friendly and helpful.
We would happily recommend this hotel and the next time we are in Rome we would not even think of staying anywhere else.
Thanks again to the First team for making our short break in Rome so enjoyable.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MandGLechlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get a room upgrade to a spacious jacuzzi suite (not that we had use of jacuzzi) but after a heavy night of rain we woke to a soaked carpet, the drain outside had blocked, eventually that day we got the floor dried. The room was very comfortable.
The views from the rooftop are amazing, the bar was not open, but you could go up and enjoy the view. The hotel is in a central good location, easy to walk to main attractions.
Staff were very helpful and ensured restaurant and attraction bookings.
Breakfast was OK, a good continental selection but the English Breakfast wasn't exactly 'English' and included a 'hot dog sausage'. For €30 we thought it was expensive.
A good hotel with interesting pieces of artwork around hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The_hammonds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel to celebrate 30 years of marriage . We selected this hotels after reading such good reviews on trip advisor . On arrival we were greeted by Dario & given a welcome glass of prosecco, when we said it was our Anniversary he upgraded us to make our stay more special .The continental breakfast had a very good variety to satisfy all tastes, staff were very friendly & we loved the complimentary nespresso coffee machine in our room,a very nice touch.The hotel is in an excellent location ,we walked almost everywhere after being given a hotel map on arrival with helpful directions & restaurant recommendations.All in all an excellent choice of hotel, with exceptional staff .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights in the First. All the staff could not help us enough and really did make the experience wonderful for us.
However, a couple of negative points: The room was so hot and after speaking to reception they advised they are unable to switch on the air conditioning until May, so we had to keep our window open, unfortunately could hear noise from staff from the kitchens below. The staff were very apologetic and did offer me the upgrade i already paid for free of charge. This was very generous but this did spoil the overall weekend.

The roof top bar was not open due to the weather, however, we were very disappointed with the bar downstairs, no atmosphere at all, all weekend we did not see anyone, this needs to be more inviting. I don't think Sy TV in the bar area gives the right impression.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria,BC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is an amazing hotel, perfectly situated between The Vatican and the Colosseum, around the corner from the Piazza del popolo and the Via del Corso. It is quaintly tucked on a side street, a fabulous market on the corner where you can purchase wine, cheese, sweets, etc. One block from the Tiber river, you will never be lost and navigation to any site is a breeze. The breakfast was delightful, hot entrees, cold meats, cheeses, fruits, fresh baking, quality yogurt (no cheap plastic containers!) and prosecco. There was also an option for eggs to order, which we declined already having too many options. We arranged for airport pick up through the hotel, and while more expensive than a taxi it was direct in all ways, a necessary luxury after a long trip. The driver graciously offered cold water, Italian candies and a narrative of the ancient city while enroute. The welcome at the hotel by Giuseppe was warm and efficient, and included invaluable recommendations to local restaurants off the tourist path for afforable and excellent Roman cuisine. When our plans fell through for a cooking class, staff at the hotel arranged private classes for the next day which included pick up and drop off at the hotel. Our suite was spotless, a comfy haven with dreamy mattresses and pillows. Our room had two French doors onto a quiet patio which allowed us to sleep blissfully with the doors open to the fresh air. Our only complaint was the lack of adequate lighting for make-up application in the dark bathroom, perhaps a lighted make up mirror? The roof top deck is spectacular to say the least, and is featured on Luxury Link as one of the top 9 hotel decks in the world, rightfully so. We were greedily happy that the roof bar was closed (off season), we often had the multi-tiered beauty to ourselves!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We arrived after our all night flight. The room was not quite ready. The manager offered us a glass of prosecco was very refreshing. We were recommended a place for lunch. More on that later. We were taken to our room where we settled in. Everyone out of their way to accommodate us.

Room Tip: A jacuzzi suite with a patio is the room to select.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#28 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#57 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Property: The First Luxury Art Hotel
Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials bringing life to a modern class atmosphere. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the Italian contemporary luxury, with dedicated multi-lingual staff that will make your stay a memorable experience. Perfect match between culture and elegance, all 29 rooms and suites are provided with LED TV with cable sports and movie channels, minibar, iPod/iPhone docking stations, a selection of books and marble bathrooms. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like a small art gallery, yours for a few days. From the rooftop garden, guests can enjoy the breath-taking views of the Eternal city. The First is a smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing