We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best Italian welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ranked #27 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The very best Italian welcome”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent five days at this hotel celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary.Our flight ( courtesy of Monarch ! ) was four hours late so the warm welcome and glass of Prosecco was particularly appreciated.We had a junior suite which had everything you could wish for with a fantastically comfortable bed.Only negatives were that the roof top restaurant was not open so dining restricred to the michelin starred restaurant which as you would expect tended to provide brilliantly presented and cooked but expensive small quantity dishes.When we dined there ( just the once ! ) they surprisingly ran out of one of the very limited first courses by 8.30 when it was only half full.At the time of year we stayed (April )they did not switch on the air conditioning which meant we opened the windows only to be awakened early in the morning by noises from the street mainly being deliveries to the hotel or refuse collection.
That said the staff at all levels were brilliant and helped us find some great places to eat !

Room Tip: The junior suites are worth the extra ! If the air conditioning is not switched on and you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W JOHN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    126
    32
    7
    9
See reviews for
113
488
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We got in after a long flight to find the concierge named Meriam who helped is tremendously to find our way around the city and to find the best restaurants. I would definitely go back. In addition to the service, the restaurant was exquisite. Definitely the best experience I could have asked for.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandragordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is located very close to Piazza Popolo and we picked the hotel based on the location. The check in was very quick and very pleasant. We booked two rooms and the rooms were clean and spacious with comfortable beds. The staff made us feel very welcome. We went to Rome to celebrate my daughter's birthday. On her birthday, the hotel staff came to our room with a birthday cake and surprised us. The hotel has a lot of unique paintings displayed all over. The drinks, food and service were excellent at the restaurant/ bar.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Have just returned after a three night stay in Rome. Staff very pleasant and helpful giving good tips about where to visit. Greeted at check-in with a glass of prosecco. Room very clean and comfortable and located in an ideal situation. Thanks for a great stay would love to return in the near future!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

we stayed four nights in this Hotel, modern and with nice room, at our arrival we were offered a drink, we got a warm welcome from the staff at the front desk, we got useful information about where to go and what to see in Rome, the room was clean spacious and well furnished, we got a normal and without problem stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamzara3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We ate at the hotel's excellent Michelin-starred restaurant All'Oro in March 2013. We were so impressed we asked to see a typical room and decided we had to stay there. We stayed for eight nights at the end of March 2014.

The hotel is beautiful designed: the lobby, bar, restaurant and the rooms. Our Art Suite was tastefully decorated and spacious. We noted the complaints others had: the room temperature did not cause us any problems; we found the (on our booking) inclusive breakfast buffet to be more than sufficient; and used the Nespresso machine at least once per day and were not charged.

We used room service for a dinner, a lunch, and for breakfasts and it was fast and efficient. We have stayed at many 5 Star hotels around the world (including St Regis Rome and Jameirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto) and none have delivered room service breakfast with at least one thing wrong (incorrect order, items missing, wrong milk, butter missing etc,) but in three breakfasts I think the only thing we spotted was there was no salt and pepper ... hardly a deal breaker.

The location is excellent and most central sights are walkable. Although the Concierge Service had pre-booked restaurants that we had chosen on most nights, there are a lot of small well-regarded (based on Tripadvisor ratings) trattorias nearby and we did visit two, which were very good.

The restaurant was excellent last year, but has "upped its game" and, though expensive, is an amazing experience (see separate review).

All the staff were pleasant, willing and helpful and seemed totally genuine in wanting you to really enjoy your stay. Special mention needs to go to Dario Segnalini. We had a couple of niggling problems during our stay (one-offs and not worthy of specific mention) but he ensured his team dealt with them quickly and efficiently, and with the minimum of fuss. He is a credit to the hotel.

This was our third trip to Rome, and we enjoyed it so much we have already rebooked for another trip later in the year at First Luxury Art Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

What a fantastic hotel! From the moment you enter, you are made to feel welcome. in previous stylish hotels that we've stayed at, we haven't always had the warm cosy feel even though they look good but here it really felt like we had it all.

Check in was seamless, staff were knowledgeable, genuine and the free room upgrade to an Art Suite + bottle of Prosecco on arrival certainly didn't go amiss!

The room was beautiful, the bed was huge and very comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious with his and hers basins. There were 2 huge TV's in the room, one in the bedroom and 1 in the living room but the latter only had Italian channels whereas the one in the bedroom had Sky, although we didn't master this.

Quite a nice touch are the ipads in the lift which show the art in the hotel on a slideshow, also the notes app is used and guests are always writing anonymous messages to each other which is quite fun!

Breakfast was plentiful and very good, although it didn't change during our stay which might have been nice but not a complaint by any means. The rooftop bar was being refurbished but you could still take your own drinks up there to enjoy the view.

With the huge number of food choices on offer, it can be overwhelming and easy to pick a touristy place rather than an authentic Roman place but staff again excelled here and of course there is the in-house Michelin starred All'Oro restaurant which we unfortunately didn't get a chance to sample.

All in all a great trip and a great hotel. It may not be cheap, but you really couldn't fault the place. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldy_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
402 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#46 of 1,257 in Rome
1,322 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#38 of 1,257 in Rome
1,028 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Property: The First Luxury Art Hotel
Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials bringing life to a modern class atmosphere. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the Italian contemporary luxury, with dedicated multi-lingual staff that will make your stay a memorable experience. Perfect match between culture and elegance, all 29 rooms and suites are provided with LED TV with cable sports and movie channels, minibar, iPod/iPhone docking stations, a selection of books and marble bathrooms. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like a small art gallery, yours for a few days. From the rooftop garden, guests can enjoy the breath-taking views of the Eternal city. The First is a smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing