We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ranked #29 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I just had my honeymoon here - what a great place!

The staff are extremely friendly and kind. Breakfast is excellent and the rooftop bar was very nice at sunset & the restaurant awesome. The suite I stayed in was amazing, each one being decked out in art from an individual artist and very luxurious.

This hotel makes a real change from other cookie cutter hotels, and was uniquely enjoyable. In turn, it has been uniquely memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M00M00MAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    121
    32
    6
    9
See reviews for
110
469
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a 3 night stay. So very enjoyable. Beautiful décor. lots of white, lots of art. Loved it. We had a Junior suite which had a pretty well sized main hallway, large bathroom with modern glass shower and separate tub, as well as a sitting room with sofa/chair/desk area, and a large bedroom, with king bed (we had the best sleep here) and walk in closet. There was also a balcony with access from sitting room and bedroom. A gorgeous room that was a pleasure to retreat to in the Rome heat (40 degrees during our visit). Service was wonderful - the gentlemen upstairs at the rooftop bar, and especially the ladies at the front desk - so lovely to chat with and great help with confirming reservations and anything we needed during our stay. The Bellini I had at the rooftop bar (incredible views of Rome - go when the sun is setting) was incredible, made with real peach puree and juice. Breakfast was nice, excellent espresso and a nice overall selection of food. You were also able to order a la carte from the kitchen which was nice just for a couple simple poached eggs. Location-wise was excellent as well - last time we visited Rome we were closer to Trevi which we thought was more 'central' - but we definitely preferred the location of the First. Down a quiet street (nice and quiet for sleeping!), right near Piazza del Popolo, lots of shopping nearby and close to all the sights. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Junior Suite - we had room on the 3rd floor corner, facing the courtyard. I think it was 305 or 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toronto82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent six nights at The First Luxury Art Hotel in July. The front desk staff (Antonio, Meriem, and Agata were wonderful. The breakfast buffet had everything we could possibly want and Andrea and Guillermo were great hosts and remembered my double expresso every morning. I suggest booking a package that includes the breakfast buffet to avoid sticker shock with the breakfast buffet bill. The hotel suite was very large and more than adequate in all respects. The Hotel is ideally located and an easy walk to all the major attractions and is very close to the Tiber River if you wish to walk the river to you attractions.

Room Tip: Book a suite and include the breakfast buffet. Talk to the staff and say their name. They apprecia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenB-cpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just stayed here for 3 nights, and the location is perfect, the bed very comfortable, the room furniture really nice. The things that let this hotel down for us was that for one of the 3 night we were in a different room to the first 2 nights and there was a bath with a shower hose, but no handle to hang the shower hose so it was very awkward and uncomfortable to shower. The bathroom got very wet. I don't expect this type of thing at a 5 star hotel. The other thing letting this hotel down was the breakfasts - very average, compared to other 5 star hotels that we stay at.
The staff are very friendly, and happy to make recommendations. If the shower issue was fixed and breakfast was better, we would return.....I suggest that the Management of this hotel go and visit other 5 star hotels and see the breakfast spread that is offered and expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsthotel, Direttore at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Steven C,

Thank you for taking the time to write us and for your precious comments
which we have taken all into good considerations.

Upon checking our records, it transpires that your reservations were
in fact for 3 nights, but for two completely different dates.
I also found that the first two nights where during July, whilst
the last night was for a date in August. As you surely appreciate,
sometimes it becomes necessary to allocate different rooms for the
different dates although keeping of course the same or higher category
rooms booked (as matter of fact for your second visit you enjoyed a
complimentary upgrade so to be on a same level as of your first visit).

I thank you for pointing out that the bathtub was not quite as
splashproof as expected, and we have already looked into the possibility
to place a partition around the bath tub to avoid further mishasps.

For what concern your comments about our breakfast, I have already
spoken to All’oro , our Michelin Star partner who manage our food and beverage
operations to ensure that the quality of the services and produce offered will be
at a par with the class and guests expectations. I am sure that Chef Riccardo di Giacinto will immediately react in order to elevate the breakfast to nothing less than excellence.

Please contact me if you wish to share more suggestions.

Thank you again for the comments and hope to see you back soon at
The First Luxury Art Hotel in Roma.

Best regards
Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,SC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a 3 night stay at this hotel recently and overall came away with a very mixed impression . First the good- the staff were very nice and helpful in most cases. The only exceptions to this were in the bar (more on that later) . One of the more curious items is the bathtub/"shower" arrangement. I confess that I have never seen this exact contraption and fussed and fumed as I attempted my initial "shower" in the tub with a wand as water sprayed off the walls and my body all over the bathroom. My wife and daughter fared only slightly better. We all "made do" but having to "gird yourself" in order to shower is not something one generally experiences in a "5 star " property. I noticed a review from last year that said they planned to "fix" this but at this date, no.

There is a rooftop bar with a nice view but when we were there it was in the upper 90's and simply too hot for a glass of wine in the late afternoon. We stopped by out first day there and were told the downstairs bar was closed at that time but the upstairs bar was open. We opted to try the rooftop after dinner. We arrived around 10pm and were seated only to wait 15 minutes without contact from anyone. We departed.

The next afternoon , I called the front desk and specifically asked if the downstairs bar was open. I was assured that it was indeed. My wife and I went down, around 6p.m. someone saw us from the restaurant and came to say the bar was closed but upstairs was open. After some discussion with the front desk folks, they agreed to bring us a couple drinks gratis in the downstairs bar. We still are amused/puzzled about the hours of the apparently theoretical downstairs bar.

5 star? no. Worth the money? probably not. But that is surely an individual judgement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creekcrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsthotel, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma. We are delighted to learn that our staff have met your expectation and that you found them very helpful.

We however are extremely sorry for the lack of attention and service you encountered with our Food and Beverage Outlets. Our partner, one-starred Michelin Restaurant All’Oro, has been involved in your claim and we are fully committed to ensure that the same issue will not occur in the future. For this misunderstanding the bar/restaurant have offered complimentary drinks for you, though this did not indeed compensate the inconvenience you had but we hope that you appreciate our gesture to redeem the situation.

As regards to the shower, we actually have fixed the shower problem from the comment you saw on previous review, therefore would you be so kind to advise us your room number in order for us to immediately take care of the matter. You may write directly to gm@thefirsthotel.com and thank you in advance for your cooperation.

We appreciate all your feedback and we are sorry that we have not met your expectation this time but we hope to have another chance in the future to show you the real 5-star experience at The First.


Sincerely yours,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager, The First Luxury Art Hotel Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our European vacation and could not have been happier with our hotel selection. From the minute we walked in the door the staff was welcoming and attentive and made sure that we had a cool drink while we were checking in. Before we were taken to our room we were asked if we would like to see the rest of the hotel and were taken to the rooftop bar/restaurant which has incredible views of Rome. The room itself is large, very well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom is also large with great toiletries and fluffy robes and towels. The hotel is very centrally located and within walking distance of much of Rome. The staff is what truly made this hotel special for us......excellent service with a smile! Many thanks to Nadia, Giulia, Dario, and Agata. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home from a three night stay at The First Luxury Art Hotel. From the moment we were picked up from the airport we knew we were in great hands, We were warmly welcomed by staff the moment we arrived,once we checked in we were shown around the hotel before going to our suite. We booked a junior suite which was perfect,with a great size lounge,bedroom,bed,and bathroom. All decorated beautifully with amazing art work, the bed was very comfortable.
All the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful,always on hand no matter what time it was,providing us with the best service I've EVER had in any hotel anywhere in the world!!!! Two ladies in particular at the front desk were so helpful, (you know who you are) They helped with booking tours,restaurants and generally making you feel at home nothing was ever two much trouble.
The only point I'd like to say is we thought the breakfast was over priced at 30 Euros. With that said I'd still choose to stay at this hotel again because everything else was amazing, and as the hotels name suggest it really was a First class Luxury Art Hotel. The location was also great so close to many beautiful sites such as Piazza Del Popolo, Villa Borghese, Fontana Di Trevi,and all within easy walking distance, Taking a walk up the Via Del Corso is a must,such a beautiful place just wish I could of stayed longer, but sure I will return soon.
So if your thinking of going to Rome and want a beautiful Hotel that has first class service and a great location with warm and friendly staff this hotel would be a perfect place to stay.
Finally I'd like to say a huge thank you from the Wood family.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#53 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#36 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Property: The First Luxury Art Hotel
Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials bringing life to a modern class atmosphere. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the Italian contemporary luxury, with dedicated multi-lingual staff that will make your stay a memorable experience. Perfect match between culture and elegance, all 29 rooms and suites are provided with LED TV with cable sports and movie channels, minibar, iPod/iPhone docking stations, a selection of books and marble bathrooms. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like a small art gallery, yours for a few days. From the rooftop garden, guests can enjoy the breath-taking views of the Eternal city. The First is a smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing