We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Time in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ranked #29 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Time in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in Rome for 6 nights at this wonderful hotel in mid to late April. The place is located in an excellent and convenient part of town, in a completely renovated charming building. The property is very small so it feels cozy, romantic and intimate. Upon checking in they agreed to give us a very nice upgrade (we're part of the IPrefer reward program) even thought we booked through Expedia, so we were able to enjoy an amazing deck with views of Rome in our very own room. In general, the service was top notch and everyone was extremely pleasant. Front desk was always happy to help, they booked restaurant reservations, tours (the wine tasting tour to Tuscany was awesome) and activities. My husband and I can't wait to go back! Don't forget to spend sometime on the rooftop deck, the drinks can be a bit pricey but it is absolutely worth it given the great views!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jake2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    121
    32
    6
    9
See reviews for
110
468
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We checked into the First Luxury in early April. Having just travelled over 28 hours, getting upgraded to the First Suite (we had booked a Junior Suite) was a great start to the holiday. Nice firm bed (to recover from the jetlag), two beautifully large bathrooms and two spacious living rooms.
The room was nicely furnished and the art pieces added to the ambience.
The hotel is positioned just north of the shopping/tourist area and just east of the Vatican. This meant that both of these main attractions were in easy walking distance.
The hotel is located in a small laneway though … so when we initially arrived, our taxi pointed us down the wrong path.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoobishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I arrived on a Sunday in November 2013 at the First Luxury Art Hotel around 9a & was pleasantly greeted by the staff. Unfortunately, my room was not available – understandable since the hotel was at capacity. That afternoon, they notified me that the room was ready & I was pleasantly surprised with the complimentary upgrade to an ‘art suite’. The room was grand - HUGE marble bathroom with spa shower (great water pressure), soaking tub, and luxury amenities. Nice sitting area with a working desk and comfy seating area centered on the decorative fireplace. The bedroom was a very nice size with large walk-in closet and ample storage areas. The private terrace access was a great plus from both the sitting area & bedroom. The staff was quite helpful setting up a private guide for the Vatican tour and restaurant reservations. Location PRIME!! Easy walk to most of the sites & the location quiet…though right around the corner from shop & restaurants. Very pleased with the hotel & will certainly return for future visits to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biology100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed March/April 2013 for our honeymoon. This hotel is truly luxury and the staff is fantastic. Most of the staff speak English, and they are extremely welcoming to Americans. They have no problem calling a cab, giving directions, or making recommendations. Their customer service is on another level - once we arrived the lady who checked us in gave us a tour and the doorman shortly arrived with our bags. Once we got settled I realized I left my comb on the airplane. I called the front desk to request a comb, but they did not have any. However, they said they had no problem going to a local shop to pick one up for me. Within 30 minutes they came to our room with a comb - it was wonderful and free of charge. That set the tone for our great stay. I gave them 4/5 stars because you cannot control your thermostat in the room, so we were very hot at night, even with sleeping with the window open. Had we been able to control our thermostat I'd have not a single complaint. It's definitely worth the stay, not to mention we were walking distance from several shops/restaurants.

Room Tip: get the junior suite - it's spacious and the bathroom was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tranise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed late December, the location is perfect for the centre, quiet but just a few minutes from shops and restaurants. We would recommend the rooms higher up, our original junior suite was v nice, but a tiny window with an alley view and too hot so the charming manager upgraded us to a roof suite. We found the bar and lounge area rather clinical and unwelcoming, this should be improved, the art itself was ............odd, however it's an excellent hotel and the staff could not be more helpful or friendly, we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher floors are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We just finished a stay at the hotel in April of 2013. The hotel and it's staff truly deserve five stars. We arrived at check in to English speaking staff and were upgraded upon check in. Inside our room, a First suite was a bottle of champagne and some cookies. The room was nice, very modern and spacious. It consisted of two rooms; a living room and bedroom. The bathroom was modern with a rain shower and one sink. The bed was hard and pillows very soft. It was winter and the air conditioning was turned off. Opening the windows solved the problem and made it quite nice. There was a bit of noise from the street when opening the windows but it got quiet around 1130.

A minor gripe about the room was the shower door didn't close and water went out on the floor. The floor was marble so it wasn't an issue. Also, the wifi in the room was absolutely terrible. It only worked (sort of) near our door and not a foot further. I got one bar in this location. The problem was especially true in the bedroom, couldn't even see the network. This was frustrating.

The hotel itself is simply elegant. The staircases and common areas are lined with fine marble and art. The bar is beautiful and restraunt gorgeous. We didn't eat breakfast there as it was quite expensive- 15 for continental or 30 for buffet. Upon check in we were informed it wasn't included in our rate and we could purchase it or just order items ala carte. Then, when I went down the first morning I was informed no ala carte items were available, only two choices were possible which were continental or buffet. Therefore, if I wanted one egg scrambled it would be 30. Yikes. Not too worry, plenty of coffee shops just around the corner provided nice eats in the morning.

The location was great. The furthest we walked was 25 minutes to the Vatican and colesum. Everything else was closer. Tons, means tons of places to eat around. Another note is the staff, they do go out of their way to help you. They will tell you "we are always here" this is true as we could always ask them anything. We had our laundry done a few times, it was expensive but we are on a two week journey and needed it. The hotel also rents small electric cars but I wouldn't dare drive in this city, it's crazy.

I would highly recommend the hotel and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nimisis303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsthotel, Direttore generale at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the First Luxury Art Hotel Roma and also for having taken the time to share your comments with your beautiful words of praise.

We are happy that you found everything to your satisfaction. It is indeed our constant aim to make our guests feel at home and to render their stay as memorable and comfortable as possible. We were therefore delighted to learn that we succeeded in doing so, and that you enjoyed being here. Your kind words of appreciation were also passed on to the staff.

We look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Giuseppe Falconieri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed Feb/March 2013
After looking online at several hotels for our first trip to Rome, looking for a light modern hotel in a central location, this hotel was top of the list. The hotel itself is in a quiet side street but in a central location, perfect! With numerous shops and cafes just steps away, a few minutes walk to Piazza del Popolo and the Borghese Gardens and a 5-10 minute walk from the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, the location could not be faulted.

The hotel itself is lovely, very bright and modern. We stayed in Room 204 which was nice and spacious with a great bathroom. The only small complaint was the walls are quite thin so every night we could hear the TV from the next room which was not ideal but not a major problem.

We had breakfast at the hotel everyday and it was one of the best breakfasts we have had. The selection was amazing, everything you can think of and if there was something you wanted which they didn't have out, all you had to do was ask. The breakfast staff were all very friendly and helpful but also let you eat your breakfast in peace which was great.

With regards to the other staff, we had mixed views. The man who checked us in was lovely, very friendly and chatty and made us feel very welcome. During our stay however, the reception area felt a little bit awkward. It's not your normal reception desk, its almost like a room of its own which was nice and private but not very welcoming. Everytime we walked past there was somebody behind the reception desk (which is behind a wall!) but also a member of staff sitting on the sofa on their laptop which made you feel like you were disturbing them. This was not a massive problem, it just felt a bit awkward at times.

I booked this trip as a surprise for my boyfriends 30th birthday. The one big disappointment I had was that this was not acknowledged at the hotel, despite informing them of this at time of booking and on arrival at the hotel. Having just read other reviews of this hotel, other guests received a bottle of bubbly or a cake or something which makes it just that bit more special and while this is not expected, I think the hotel needs to be consistent, especially being a 5* Luxury hotel!

All in all, these few bad points are only small things and do not change the fact that this is a great hotel with lovely rooms in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LPRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#53 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#36 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Property: The First Luxury Art Hotel
Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials bringing life to a modern class atmosphere. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the Italian contemporary luxury, with dedicated multi-lingual staff that will make your stay a memorable experience. Perfect match between culture and elegance, all 29 rooms and suites are provided with LED TV with cable sports and movie channels, minibar, iPod/iPhone docking stations, a selection of books and marble bathrooms. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like a small art gallery, yours for a few days. From the rooftop garden, guests can enjoy the breath-taking views of the Eternal city. The First is a smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing