We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ranked #33 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and returned to Rome for the 4th time together. This trip was the best, and the hotel was one of the reasons. The staff is wonderful, accommodating...the location was fabulous. We didnt eat at the hotel. We enjoy goining out into the neighborhood. We will return to the eternal city and would love to stay here again. Be sure to have drinks at the rooftop. The view is stunning!

Room Tip: If you require a bathtub or shower, just ask when booking. Remember it is europe, but this staff wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    135
    33
    7
    10
See reviews for
126
511
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is located down a small side street -- not exactly where you would expect to find such a lovely hotel. The location, however, is very good and we walked to many of the major sightseeing sights. Every thing we experienced was top-notch: warm welcome upon our late arrival, efficient check-in, prompt delivery of our bags, the most comfortable bed I've experienced in a hotel, clean & modern bathrooms (no baths), excellent wifi connection (a must for my businessman husband), a beautiful rooftop deck with fantastic views of Rome, and excellent recommendations for local restaurants (thanks, Agata!). During our 8 day trip in Italy, our family of four ranked each hotel from a scale of 1 - 10 . We gave this hotel a 9.5 only because the downstairs breakfast was a bit expensive---although good! Agata (sorry, I hope I'm spelling her name properly) recommended Osteria Dell Antiquario for dinner one night and we all ranked it a 10. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueskies185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Most likely the favourite hotel of our honeymoon. Beautiful, spacious room - including bedroom, sitting area and a lovely, luxurious bathroom (quite unusual when travelling through Europe). The bed was big, and so comfortable as were the pillows. I think the location is perfect for Rome, especially for those who want to shop, close enough to Via Del Corso and the Spanish Steps without being noisy. I loved the rooftop bar, very cool and with a fabulous view. The staff were friendly, happy to provide advice, arrange tours etc, as well as going the 'extra mile' with a few issues we had. Room service food was of exceptional quality too! I will absolutely be staying here again when we next visit Roma.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a hidden gem of a hotel. I have stayed at 5 star hotels and resorts all over the world and this hotel is without question a 5 star +++ quality hotel. This was my first time in Rome and we wish we had stayed a few more days. The hotel was impeccable, the staff were helpful and the location was perfect. I had reserved 2 rooms for my family and they were equally amazing. The décor of the hotel and guest rooms are modern and elegant (you definitely get the feel of a boutique type hotel). The customer service from the time we walked in the door until the moment we left was five star all the way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnytraveler1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

There is a lot of good things to say about this hotel. Great location, quiet, yet very central. The art pieces are enjoyable, spacious rooms, good service. We received a complimentary bottle of vino spumante on the night of arrival. Staff is at your service when it comes to information about shopping, restaurants etc, we got a tip about a nearby trattoria (Il brillo parlante), and we loved it.

However, the room was not to our taste. Although bathroom and bedroom were fresh and very stylish, there was only one window in the room. It was a narrow window by the bed, and also covered with darkblue curtains on the sides. So there was very little natural light in the room, and no possibility to get proper lamplight. Apparently it's part of the stylishness to have very dim light, so you can't for instance read a magazine sitting in the sofa group (we had a junior suite). There was no lamp on the writing desk in our room, but I have seen from webpictures that some of the other rooms have that. Bathroom also dark walls, little light. It was almost like a windowless hotelroom, which certainly is not what we want.
We only stayed for one night, breakfast was good. Among the negatives was also a late delivery of luggage to the room, after 20 min I called the reception and luggage arrived 5 min later.

So if you're no light-craver like us, I guess- go for it! We won't return, though.

Room Tip: Let reception know if you'd rather have a shower than a bathtub. Ask for two windows if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank iTravelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The First Luxury Art Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Rome!

Thank you for selecting The First Luxury Art Hotel Rome for your recent stay.
We are pleased you took the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor and thankful for your positive comments on our service, suite decor, welcome amenities and breakfast.
It was with regret that, though, that we read your remarks on the lack of efficency of our luggage service. It is only by receiving such information that we are better able to rectify and resolve any problems that we may have. To that end, we have reviewed our luggage handling procedure in order to cosistently provide a seamless service to our guests.
Please note that your comments regarding the lighting in our rooms have been taken on board and that we are already looking into introducing the best eco friendly solutions that would enhance even more the character and the warmth of our suites.

You may contact me directly when planning a future trip to Rome in order that I can personally make the necessary arrangements to ensure that your next stay is a comfortable and enjoyable one.

I do hope that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The First Luxury Art Hotel Rome.

Best Regards

ELEFTHERIOS KAVIERIS
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great Hotel! The Staff are so helpful and attentive, rooms are a good size for Europe Hotels and everything is modern and Clean. Location wise was perfect very central and a close walk to all the main attractions, will definitely will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My plans called for only one night in Rome, and I wish I had stayed longer. This new boutique hotel was a gem. I was excited by the images when I booked on line, and was extremely pleased to see that the hotel looked as good (or better) in person.

From the e-mail on the day before arrival (from Tatyana, who was confirming my arrival time) to the ease of check-in, the experience was terrific. And yes, I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite -- which was well beyond my expectations. The rooms were beautiful...spotless...well-appointed...bathroom amenities were great...and the art collections were fun!

The location was very convenient...the staff was very helpful...the 6:45 AM check-out on Sunday (YIKES) was effortless.

Kudos to this hotel...I can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,263 in Rome
420 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#53 of 1,263 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#38 of 1,263 in Rome
1,053 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Luxury Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Luxury Art Hotel

Property: The First Luxury Art Hotel
Address: Via del Vantaggio 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The First Luxury Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 stars boutique hotel located in the historical center of Rome, a drop from the iconic shopping streets and The Spanish Steps. The historic building dates back to the nineteenth century and has been completely renovated respecting the original architecture, redesigned with refined colors and natural materials. The First welcomes its guests to venture into the Italian contemporary luxury, with 29 rooms and suites perfectly matching culture and elegance. Each room is curated by a contemporary artist, just like in an art gallery, yours for a few days. Enjoy AcquaRoof dining with breath-taking views of the Eternal city, and the amazing cuisine of Michelin star Chef Alessandro Narducci at Acquolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The First Luxury Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1st Luxury Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing