We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locationa”
Review of B&B Ciao Bella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Ciao Bella
Ranked #2,095 of 3,645 Rome B&B and Inns
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great locationa”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed here for three nights. The location is excellent. Nice easy stroll to the Colosseum, The Forum, the Palatine Hill. Easy walking distance to the Termini.
We had the Japanese room which has the ensuite, the room is a good enough size but with not many places to put your things. Also, as readers we found the bedside lighting inadequate.
The overpowering smell of plug in room fresheners was awful, we took the battery out of the one in the room, but there was another one in the hall. We understand why they're used, the cooking smells from other apartments were at times overwhelming. This room overlooks an alley with at least one kitchen backing on to it, we think maybe a restaurant.
There is an airconditioning unit in the room but there was no control for us to use it. The evenings were quite warm which meant the windows needed to be left open, in a crowded neighbourhood like this we found it quite noisy and as already mentioned a bit smelly. There is no traffic noise at all.
The room and bathroom are clean. Linen is clean and the mattress is comfortable but very soft. The wifi is good. The shower is adequate.
Breakfast is self serve, packet cakes, cereal, yoghut, milk, tea, coffee, juices, bread, jam and a toaster. The table is set with disposable cereal bowls and bread and butter plates with plastic knife and spoon. The odd thing is there is chinaware and stainless steel cutlery available which we chose to use.
The hostess is very friendly but lives elsewhere, if you need something you have to phone or email her.
All in all the location is the main reason we would stay here again and would choose the other room which is lighter and larger and looks out over the coutyard.

Room Tip: Choose the Scheherazade Room, no smells from the alley, light and airy and larger with more room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didowollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed there three nights. While the owner is lovely and the rooms and location are good the fact that there were hotels nearby that cost the same per night made me wish I had been more patient in the selection of my accommodation. The main thing I had issues with was the self service breakfast included in the price. This consisted of nothing more than tea/coffee, cereal and bread. Not what I expected for €80 a night.

Room Tip: Use proper utensils. Your guests are not kids to use paper plates, cups and spoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed here quite recently in early May. I highly recommend it, due to its great location, friendly host, unique charm, clean rooms and reasonable rates.

Ciao Bella is located only 10 minutes stroll from the Colosseum, Ancient Rome and Via di San Giovanni in Laterano (a popular bar street protruding out from the Colosseum). The neighborhood is nice and safe as well. It’s situated in an apartment building which has a charming inner courtyard.

The room and common areas are very clean. The bed is a little hard, but nice overall. There's an open window with a lovely view of the courtyard. There isn't any a/c but that's not really necessary in Rome, as temperatures are typically moderate; just open your window. In winter, you can use the radiator/heater.

In terms of food and drink, the offerings are various breads, pastries, fruit juices (try the blood orange which is essentially a combination of orange and grapefruit juice) and an espresso/coffee machine.

Floriana, the host, is very friendly and her English is good. She provides you with information on the city, as well as restaurant recommendations and a good map. There's limited contact with her, as she primarily is there for your check-in. I actually prefer this to B&B's where the host is present all the time and smothers you. That said, she's just a phone call away in the event you need some assistance. You're provided with keys to the main gate, second gate, B&B and your room and you have access in and out whenever you like. (Keep in mind some other B&B’s require you to be back at a certain time for access.) If you’re coming in from a flight, be sure to get Euros from an ATM, as Floriana accepts cash only upon check-in.

We readily enjoyed it and will stay at B&B Ciao Bella again upon return to Rome.

Note: Don’t mistake this for the hostel of a similar name. This review is of B&B Ciao Bella on Via Mecenate, not Ciao Bella Hostel or B&B Ciao Bella Roma on Via Quattro Fontane. I understand some people have booked at the hostel thinking that they’re staying at the B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here in May and it was so quaint and comfortable. Floriana is very accomodating and she will help you with anything you need. She gives you advice on where to go and has a map waiting for you when you get there. I loved this place because it was within a 10 min walk to the colosseum and the walk through the park to get there was very scenic and beautiful! The neighborhood is very nice with very close restaurants and gelaterias:) I felt like i was in a movie when i walked into the front doors of this place because it has this little courtyard before you go into the building where you can look up and see everyones windows open and clothes hanging.. the same with the view from my window in my room! I stayed in the room with the private bathroom. There is also a small terrace off the kitchen that is nice to go out onto with your coffee in the morning and just take a deep breath and relax. There is always something in the fridge to drink and bread to eat in the morning... and an expresso machine of course! I cannot say enough about this place. It was absolutely wonderful and I loved Floriana. She is one of the nicest people I have ever met. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend 08/06/12-11/06/12. It's perfect for a weekend in Rome. It's location is amazing, just a short walk through a pretty park to get to the magnificent Colosseum!!!

The owner contacted us the evening before we flew out to Rome with directions for us to reach the b&b from the train station, she was very helpful and friendly. Once we reached Ciao Bella she gave us the keys and told us to phone her if we had any problems and that was that, very easy and stress free! We didn't see the owner again so we left a note to say thank you with the keys and on we went. It's great to be able to come and go as you please and staying in a place like this felt way more relaxing than staying at a busy hotel!!

The b&b is situated within an apartment block, it's basically the owners second apartment that they use as a b&b so it's very cute and homely! There's only 2 rooms, ours was decorated beautifully with an oriental feel. Our room was spotlessly clean and smelt amazing - had fresh flowers to welcome us!

Breakfast is basic with Cereal, bread, fruit, yogurts and biscuits. There is a microwave and toaster as well as a cooker - so you can cook your evening meal there too if you'd like.

If you want a cheap but comfy stay in Rome book Ciao Bella, it won't disappoint! If I go back to Rome I will be staying here.



If your looking for a cheap but relaxing weekend away, stay at Ciao Bella.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms - both very beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi-Isabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

the location is central, right near santa maria maggiore plaza and colosseum. the building is an old fashionate one with inner court. the view is on the inside court but it is compensated by the location in the heart of rome. it consists of 2 rooms, is practically an apartment with one kitchen 2 rooms and 2 baths. we stayed in the sehrezeada room, a very high and big room with a big bed as a baldaquine. the bath is near the room. in the ikebana room the bath is inside but it is smaller and the view is not so good, to another buliding. the breakfast consists of bisquites, marmelade, and some juice, probably italian style.

Room Tip: choose the seherezada room, is biiger and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabone77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The B&B consists of 2 bedrooms in an apartment that's close to Termini station and about 12 mins walk to the Colosseum.
The bedroom has an ensuite bath but is on the small side with a tiny sink, towels are changed every 3 days and the tiles on the floor are cracked. There is A/C, wifi, small flat screen tv and access to a kitchen for cooking.
Off the other room it also has a private bathroom, but it's not ensuite. there is a washing washing machine available, but no dryer. The seep quality is great because the B&B is located on a quiet side street.
The breakfast is standard with muffins/croissants and juice/coffee, with juice available throughout the day.
Overall a good value and in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjo008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#388 of 1,257 in Rome
408 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,202 of 3,645 in Rome
89 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#96 of 1,257 in Rome
1,180 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#278 of 1,257 in Rome
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Ciao Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Ciao Bella

Property: B&B Ciao Bella
Address: Via Mecenate 27, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,095 of 3,645 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ciao Bella Apartment is situated within a short walk from the Coliseum and the Basilica of S. M. Maggiore, where hospitality and friendship will frame your stay in this lovely apartment in the historical center of Rome. Located 150 meters from the Coliseum, surrounded by the historic park of Colle Oppio and the Domus Aurea, is well connected to other cultural and shopping areas as it's very close to the Metro stops Line A, B and Termini Train Station. The Ciao Bella is located on the 2nd floor of an old historic building, with its own concierge and elevator. There are two large bedrooms, each with ensuite facilities and decorated with great care and attention to detail: - The Sheherazade room creates a romantic environment thanks to the poetic four poster bed that will be surrounding your nights. - The Ikebana room takes you to the Far East with its authentic Chinese and Japanese paintings without renouncing to a touch of elegance and modernity.The kitchen compliments beautifully the two bedrooms. In the apartment you'll find many services: free wireless internet access, TV LCD, DVD player, A/C, fully equipped kitchen, bathrooms with shower, plus laundry facilities. Pick-up from the airport or railway station are also available upon request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing