We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant, knowledgeable,charming guide”
Review of Rome with Marisa

Rome with Marisa
Ranked #232 of 802 Tours in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: "Rome with Marisa" provides Rome Private Tours for Indipendent Travellers (Italian and English). Each tour is provided by Marisa, archaeologist and qualified tourist guide. Discover Rome with a local guide!
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellant, knowledgeable,charming guide”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent the morning seeing some of the highlights of the Capitoline Musuems.....what an education Marisa gave us.
After a delicious lunch at a local restaurant Marisa toook us to the underground...St Clemente.
Marisa's knowledge and her ability to explain what we were seeing and the historical significance gave us insight that we could not have gotten from any tour book.
We Highly recommmend Marisa!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ransom1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mari1978, Proprietario at Rome with Marisa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Many thanks for the review!
Come back soon to Rome, we must visit together Ancient Ostia!
There are many hidden jem (like St.Clemente) waiting for you and your wife!

Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a morning to remember”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

by chance we heard of a private tour guide called Marisa so we booked her for a 3 hour session and had an amazing morning visiting some of Rome's less well known and some underground treasures. Marisa is an archaeologist so knows her stuff and is passionate about her subject. her English was excellent and her manner charming and engaging. Would highly recommend and will use her again on our next trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mari1978, Proprietario at Rome with Marisa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you so much!
It was a morning to remember even for me!
It always a pleasure to work with people nice, smiling and interested like you (how rare!).
Come back soon, we have many other hidden jewels to discover
Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really getting to know ancient Rome”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were in Rome with friends who had been before and wanted to opt for something off the usual tourist trail. Marisa suggested 'Underground Rome' . This proved absolutely fascinating. She was so knowledgeable and we felt we were being given a real insight into the lives of the people of ancient Rome. As well as her undoubted archeological knowledge, her passion for her city and insights into life for modern Romans made this an unforgettable three hours. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marionss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mari1978, Proprietario at Rome with Marisa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Many thanks for your review!
I love this tour, and I'm so glad you like it too.
You can feel and breathe the Roman History! Nice morning with you and your friends!
Come back soon :)
Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second Tour”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our second time using Marisa and just like the first tour with her it was fantastic. This year we brought our two girls with us and Marisa gave them a tour they will not forget. They are ages 9 & 11 and we found that they were engaged for the whole time. Marisa was great in explaining everything so they could understand and they interacted very well. We had a wonderful lunch and she even thought the girls a little Italian. My wife and I had toured with Marisa last year and we knew that she would be wonderful for our family, we were let down. If looking for a great guide and one who loves her job and is knowledgable then you can't go wrong. We had a wonderful time once again in Rome and Marisa was a big part of it.

Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mari1978, Proprietario at Rome with Marisa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
thank you so much! :)
Second tour, second nice experience for me too.
Come back soon to Rome for a third tour, or just to have an ice-cream together! And send my greetings to your "girls".

Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Marisa Tour Guide: Eccelenza”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour with Marisa around the Roman Forum, the Palatine Hill and the Colosseum. Over 4 hours, Marisa was full of interesting information, with a lot of interesting archological information in particular. She was very quick to respond to my email enquiry and to make arrangements, and very happy to match what we wanted to cover on the tour. Highly recommended!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mari1978, Proprietario at Rome with Marisa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks Stephen!! :)
I was really happy to find someone so interested and expert in the Roman History.
Thank you for having chosen my Private Tours.

Marisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rome with Marisa also viewed

 

Been to Rome with Marisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing