We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of I Dormienti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
I Dormienti
Ranked #858 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great location close to the Colleseum and to the main train station. Perfect for exploring. Clean room, modern decor. Very friendly staff and helpful. Breakfast is served in a cafe just below would wwas great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emilia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    17
    10
    13
See reviews for
14
40
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Location was perfect, walking distance to Colosseum and many other tourist sights. Also very close to a Metro station, various bus stops, and train station. Rooms were interesting with modern amenities and furniture, good views, classic roman cobblestone street. Great value considering the location. I would highly recommend this Hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

we had a great time in this hotel! if you want a hotel in the center of rome and you don't have much money to spend i highly recommend this hotel!
the nighberhood is very cool and friendly and very close to the colleseum!
the workrs were very very kind and helpful and the rooms were always clean. it's a great place espcialy for young people who want to experience the real rome
if i go back to rome i'll defenetily go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This delightful hotel is a few minutes walk from Termini station, or one stop on the metro. It's in a great little cobbled Roman street full of authentic character. The hotel itself occupies the first floor in an older apartment building accessible by lift or stairs. The rooms are clean & bright, with white tiled floors & white painted walls. The hotel's styling is minimalist with artistic touches such as the unpainted ceilings. Rooms have comfortable beds & en suite with soap, towels & hairdryer. The staff are excellent, polite, friendly & ultra helpful. Its central location means the major attractions are within easy walking distance. For value, location & atmospherics it's highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
198 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

You can't beat the location of this hotel -- it's less than two blocks from the Cavour Metro stop, and less than fifteen minutes' walk to the Coliseum, Forum, Termini, etc. Our room had a mini-fridge and a nice private bathroom which were great, and everything was cleaned daily. Breakfast at a shop on the street is included (not on Sundays) and it's near lots of great restaurants. It was definitely worth the money, and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Private bathrooms are always worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbinz410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Depending on what you are looking for, I Dormienti can be either a very good or a very bad experience. If you are a backpacker and are used to hostels, then this accommodation is perfect. But if you are more an hotel-type person, then you might not like it. It is very simply decorated, rooms have ensuite facilities and provide basic facilities (hair dryer, towels and soap). Nothing to be excited about. Our room was quite clean but there was a strange smell. Breakfast is served in a nearby bar (the qyality is very poor, though). Room price is very reasonable.The location is excellent. Right outside the metro stop Cavour and at a walkable distance from the train station (15 to 20 min) and to main attractions (Colosseo: 10 mins walk). The area is really nice (try sandwiches at Tricolore - same road, n. 126).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rachele78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Value for money, located next to metro station, walking distance to Colosseum and most of the attractions. Good for couple, solo travelers and more. Full of nice cozy restaurant nearby. Friendly staff, clean room, simple but modern design.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Tourist House
Tourist House
#749 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Monti
Conte House I
Conte House I
#747 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#356 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Santa Prassede
Hotel Santa Prassede
#645 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#359 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#84 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Dormienti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Dormienti

Property: I Dormienti
Address: Via Urbana 96, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #858 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Dormienti rooms in Rome is set in an historical building of late 800s in the caracteristic central quarter of Rome called Monti, famous for its small cobbled streets and monumental masterpieces such as the Basilica of S. Maria Maggiore. I Dormienti is only 200 meters from the subway line station Cavour and comfortably close to all the major sights in the city. All rooms have been designed to recreate a functional easy and clean modern ambient with en-suite private deluxe bathroom. Free WiFi is offered and in-room minibar is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your I Dormienti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing