We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Great Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of I Capocci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
I Capocci
Ranked #118 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

My fiance and I recently stayed at I Capocci with family and utilized it as more of a vacation rental than a B&B since there were 6 of us.

The I Capocci was immaculately clean, in a great location (right near the Colosseum however still on a quiet residential feeling street), and ideal for what we were looking for which was for each pair traveling to have their own space however there was also an area in the kitchen where we could gather and enjoy our evenings with some wine and cheese from the local stores.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sschwar5037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    25
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
75
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I rarely write reviews, but after two weeks in Italy with two extremely different experiences I felt I should.

We were three twenty-something females travelling around Italy and had an amazing experience in all the places we stayed at - with exception of this one.

The pros: it is actually a beautiful property. The three of us had the whole downstairs with 2 double bedrooms (one with an en-suite bathroom and the other with a bathroom across the corridor from the room). The b&b is in a great location - less than 10 minute walk from colloseum. And there was a great wine bar/bookshop close to it with a Sicilian bartender who makes the most amazing drinks.

The cons: Despite informing Guido of our arrival time, we were made to wait around 30 minutes before we could get in to the property. We were also informed we had internet downstairs (separate from upstairs) but the one downstairs only worked for one of us.

After we checked in we were told we had to pay the full amount upfront and in cash. This usually isn't a problem, but I wasn't informed of that when booking and assumed like in the previous places we stayed could pay upon departing. We did not have the full amount on us and Guido did not budge and insisted we paid upfront and was even going to walk us to a cash machine so he could get all of his money. My friend and I found a cash machine, but only gave him half and said we'd pay the balance when we left. He wasn't too happy with that but eventually agreed that we could put the balance in an envelope before we left, as he wouldn't be able to coordinate time with us. The night before we left I found an envelope slid under the door reminding us to pay off the balance.

The morning we were leaving, 30 minutes before the check out time of 10am, Guido practically kicked us out. One of us was still getting ready and it turns out he had a new set of guests which were staying downstairs. So while the rooms were still not prepared and one of us was still getting ready, he takes our suitcases upstairs, brings 2 sets of new guests downstairs and takes the keys from us.

A side-note: breakfast wasn't at the b&b but at a nearby hotel (for a buffet) or cafe (for a typical Italian breakfast). We never tried the hotel, but we weren't impressed with the breakfast from the cafe.

We might be the exception to the rule, and others who stay might have a great experience but I felt it was only right to share. Just so others are prepared in case they choose to stay here.

Choose this place for its location, but I'm sure there are better places within the same vicinity for a better price with better treatment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icapocci, Owner at I Capocci, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear guests,
thanks for your review. We consider every feedback as a gift and be sure we will make good use of it.
I am really sorry that you did not fully enjoy our hospitality. You can find plenty of positive testimonials and confirmation of our good records in all websites we are listed on (e.g.: FLIPKEY, AIRBNB, BBPLANET).
I think there have been a series of unfortunate circumstances that contributed to this negative outcome. I added few comments and explanations below:
You indeed had to wait some minutes for my arrival at the appointment. There is no excuse for it, in your case traffic in Rome catch me badly and I truly apologize.
We offer free of charge WIFI internet connection. We have installed two networks in the apartment in order to ensure our guests can always benefit from this service and we cannot explain the problems you mentioned. I wish you could tell us while you were there.
Probably you did not notice, but the information on payment terms (cash at check in) was clearly indicated in booking confirmation message dated February 21, 2012.
It is general rule for all hotels of any level to get a guarantee at check in. This is normally achieved through an inprint of credit card, but we are a small family business and do not have access to this payment tool, thus we needed cash.
You did not have the required cash and I offered as a courtesy to walk you to a cash dispenser nearby. Given that you could not retrieve the whole amount, I then accepted a delayed payment with expectation that you would have done it next day. Few days later, the night before your departure, I left an envelope just to facilitate it.
Check out was agreed at 10.00. We are normally very flexible, but in May we are fully booked and we needed to change over the rooms for next guests. I knocked at the door at 10.30, 30 minutes later that agreed time, not 30 minute earlier. I can ensure it as the cleaning personnel never arrives before this time. I must suppose there was confusion between Italian and UK time which is one hour earlier. Next guests were there just for registration and were not supposed to get the room before 14.00. Their presence was not at all an element of time pressure.
Breakfast is served indeed at one of two carefully selected locations nearby. We offer a choice in order to better serve guests with different habits. Because of the offering of salty food, we normally suggest guest from UK or US the one you unfortunately did not try.
Net, I hope that everything has been clarified now and I hope we will have another chance to host you in the future and demonstrate our quality of service.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We recently stayed at I Capocci on the advice of friends, and we were glad we did. It is in a nice area, with plenty of small shops and restaurants, and does not seem swarming with tourists, but it is still a short walk to the colliseum, and mere steps from the subway, with easy access to all of Rome. We walked here from Roma Termini train station in about 10 minutes.
The B&B is kept spotlessly clean, smells fresh, and offers 3 small but fully equipped rooms, with equally small but lovely bathrooms. It has been recently renovated with care and attention to detail, and keeps the comfort of guests in mind. Beds are comfortable, linen feels expensive, and towels are thick!
The owner was not on site, except when we arrived, but is friendly, professional and knowledgeable, and ready to answer any questions by phone or email. We recommend this B&B wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Nerva Accomodation
Nerva Accomodation
#95 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Monti
La Scalinatella B&B
La Scalinatella B&B
#360 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Monti
Inn Urbe Colosseo
Inn Urbe Colosseo
#84 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#25 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Monti
Relais Monti
Relais Monti
#107 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Tiburtino
B&B Foscari House
B&B Foscari House
#220 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Capocci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Capocci

Property: I Capocci
Address: Via Dei Capocci 83, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The b&b "I Capocci" is a comfortable and intimate 18th century apartment. It has been recently completely restored, both inside and in the exterior facade. It develops onto two floors connected by an internal stair. It's located at 200 m from a Metro B station. Each room features comfy Pasha mattresses, private bathroom, TV, DVD player, safe, hairdryer. The house, warm in winter and cool in summer, is equipped with air conditioning and heating, free wifi Internet access and local phone calls. We will be happy to assist and advise you during your stay in Rome and we look forward to having you as our guests soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your I Capocci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing