We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five tours in Rome and Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artviva - The Original & Best Walking Tours

Artviva - The Original & Best Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.05*
and up
Fascinating Florence: Guided Walking Tour
Ranked #231 of 755 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tofino, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Five tours in Rome and Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We used Artviva for tours in both Rome and Florence (five tours). We booked our tours based on a Rick Steves recommendation and Internet research. Helen (our morning guide in Florence) was amazing. She was very knowledgeable / interesting and showed her strong passion for the art and architecture of Florence. We had two tours back to back in the afternoon and unfortunately do not know the name of the young lady from Florence who was our afternoon guide. Again, her passion for the art and architecture was addictive and made the tour come alive.

In Rome, we took the Vatican tour and the walking tour with Simone. Simone was outstanding in his knowledge / passion of architecture and history. You could ask him any question and get a knowledgeable answer. My favourite part of the whole day was walking through the Roman forum and talking with Simone about what we were seeing.
I highly recommend this company.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    4
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vatican Museum Tour - waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Artviva’s ad is very misleading: “This Vatican private tour provides a wonderful opportunity to experience the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's, all in the company of a great tour guide!” We booked our tour on a Wednesday. The first thing our guide told us was that we would not have a tour of St. Peter’s because the Pope gives audience on Wednesdays. (We were not informed about this at the time of booking - Artviva has since updated their site with this information.) After a very boring Vatican Museum tour, our guide then informed us that she would not be going into the Sistine Chapel with us because no talking is allowed in the Chapel. She explained where the line was to get into St. Peter’s, talked about the Sistine Chapel for two minutes and then left. After we visited the Chapel, we decided to see St. Peter’s and eventually found the end of the line. It was total chaos and we were very disappointed that our tour did not help us skip this line. We would have been better off saving our money and seeing these sites on our own; we were pretty much on our own, anyway.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cmboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artviva, Manager at Artviva - The Original & Best Walking Tours, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We appreciate you having taken the time to review our tour. However, we have checked our records and have not had any private Vatican tours booked on a Wednesday in May nor even so far in June. Nonetheless, by way of general explanation, the Vatican is a place of worship, a museum, the Papal residence (plus home to some 800 or so clergy, state officials and Swiss Guards) and is even an independent nation in itself! Considered the holiest of Catholic sites and an important pilgrimage destination, all visitors must adhere to the Vatican rules. These include for instance, not speaking in the Sistine Chapel. For this reason, as stipulated on our site, our guides accompany clients into the chapel but speak about it outside. Similarly in the St Peter’s Basilica there are restrictions. On our site we have always included notice that during services or special occasions, the Basilica may be closed. This happens regularly on Wednesdays when the Pope holds his Papal Audience. Despite this, we’re pleased you were still able to get in. We are sorry though you did not find the vast history of the Vatican and its most precious collection of artworks to be interesting to you. That you were there during the time in which the Pope holds his Audience is a great privilege however and we do hope you were able to appreciate the excitement of this great tradition as for many, a visit to the Vatican is a life’s dream come true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Vatican Museum Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I just wanted you to know that our tour guide for the Vatican tour, Chris, was outstanding. He was instructive without being pedantic or patronizing; he was humorous and extremely tolerant of our somewhat inane questions. He obviously knows his stuff and his enthusiasm is contagious. Granted he had a lot to work with in terms of subject material but even so, he made the tour so much more interesting and amusing than it would have been without him. Many thanks.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emeric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artviva, Manager at Artviva - The Original & Best Walking Tours, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
It is a fine art to be able to provide such an outstanding tour when dealing with such a vast subject matter, and Chris is certainly a master artists in this respect. We very much appreciate your great review and are pleased and privileged to have been able to share such a great guide with you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Silvia is an excellent guide.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Took the Vatican Museum and original walking tour of Rome. Our guide Silvia was informative, entertaining and very friendly. Saw all the sights while getting interesting historical information. Skipped through lines of people to get into Vatican Museum and Colosseum. Be prepared to walk, but you do get a nice glass of wine at the end of the walking tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pommesfrites2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artviva, Manager at Artviva - The Original & Best Walking Tours, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your time in writing your review. We’re glad you found Silvia to be so informative, entertaining and friendly, and that you so appreciated our tour’s balance of history, sights and a glass of wine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Old Rome Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We took a tour of Old Rome with ArtViva. Our guide was excellent, the tour was well paced and we hit all the high spots. We had to deal with heavy rain at times, but our guide found cover for us while he explained the history and importance of the sights. He gave us an overwhelming sense of the history of the city, the people and the architecture. It was an afternoon well spent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artviva, Manager at Artviva - The Original & Best Walking Tours, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
It’s a true compliment that despite the heavy rains, you found the tour and our guide to be so excellent. The vast history of Rome really is impressive and we are happy to hear our guide was able to capture all the important elements in just a few hours. Grazie for taking time out to share your thoughts on our tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artviva - The Original & Best Walking Tours also viewed

Castel Gandolfo, Province of Rome
Albano Laziale, Province of Rome
 
Albano Laziale, Province of Rome
Castel Gandolfo, Province of Rome
 

Been to Artviva - The Original & Best Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing