We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget place in the perfect location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Santa Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Santa Sofia
Ranked #31 of 1,088 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Budget place in the perfect location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I booked this place for a photography tours I was leading through Central Italy. The location was my main reason, but also many hotels won't take group bookings, even though we only needed 6 rooms.

The experience booking was a little convoluted, with emails taking some days to be responded to, and then eventually they needed a deposit but wouldn't take it by credit card, only giving the option by western union, or international bank transfer.

This is a working convent, and I hadn't really expected any creature comforts. The nuns who run the place were friendly, but not so helpful with tourist information, like where to park (they suggested a parking lot at the station, kms away, but there is plenty of over night street parking just on via Cavour, and the side streets past there. The rooms were very basic, the beds like camp-beds with a mattress on top (don't move too quickly or you will fall out!), my window wouldn't lock (main floor courtyard), and the noise from the square below was unbearable late into the night (imagine 100s of people drinking and partying below your bedroom). Breakfast is not worth the money or the time. The coffee comes out of an instant machine, and the rest is cornflakes, "rosette" rolls (very fresh), triangle fake cow cheese, and maybe some jam. We were given breakfast in the deal, but given the choice, I'd rather save the 5 euros and eat elsewhere. Bathroom was clean, well sized, great shower cubicle with plenty of hot water and pressure.

Positives? There was free wifi in the lobby, and some of the rooms (mine!) and the location is perfect, right in the middle of an area full of Romans going about their daily life, and some really great second hand, and designer stores, wine bars, and very good local eating haunts. Also, the nuns were very respectful, and there wasn't much religious paraphernalia decorating the place.

So, all in all, this place was more than adequate for me, and even the people in my group (who have more needs than I do usually) were happy to save some money too. I would definitely stay here again because at this price, and location, you can't beat it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel. The front square is full of people drinking and partying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photo_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    171
    52
    17
    6
See reviews for
41
96
101
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have now stayed at this lovely convent eight times, with parties of school children and also with friends. It is mostly perfect in that it is central, simple, clean and in a lively area of Rome with an underground nearby. However, some rooms are a bit scruffy with showers that need replacing. I would suggest asking for an updated room (some now have air conditioning) and if you don't enjoy noise and hustle and bustle, best avoid a room at the front. I sometime purposefully choose one of these as I so love the early morning bells and rush to work and also the long evenings watching the diners and folk loafing by the fountain. But I also sometimes ask for a room at the back where it is perfectly peaceful - but no view whatsoever - just walls - unless you are lucky enough to be on the third floor where you have marvellous views into back gardens and patios! Do check our the attached church from where you can hear the nuns singing at 7.30 every morning. I would never stay anywhere else in Rome and have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a/c and decide if you want atmosphere or quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Have just returned from my fourth visit to Rome and my second stay at Casa Sant'Anna. Its a perfect place to stay for solo travelers because of the very reasonable curfew and security in place. The Convent is spotlessly clean and at this price (50 euro per night) having your own bathroom is amazing. The breakfast is minimal but if you need something more substantial there are two restaurants in the piazza open for breakfast and many more only minutes away. Its a five minute stroll to many of Rome's ruins and a similar distance to the Metro that gets you to other sites within minutes. Its all about location really and the added bonus is that the piazza is not filled with vendors selling to tourists but Roman families out for a stroll and gelato at dusk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Very clean with good simple furnishings. Helpful staff. Some rooms are hot in summer. Location is perfect for tourists.

Room Tip: Front rooms can be noisy with the piazza down below. Some back rooms are hot in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Storkoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Our family of four stayed in two doubles in late June, 2011. The convent is SPOTLESSLY clean and the location is fabulous, just a couple of minutes from the Colosseum, but you still feel like you're not in "tourist-central". The hotel is not air-conditioned and there are no ceiling fans, so it was a little warm, but fine with the windows open. The rooms overlooking the Piazza are really noisy, but we loved watching the acitivity on the piazza from our window. If you prefer a quiet room, request one away from the square. We liked the bustle and noise, lasting well into the wee-hours! A lovely neighbourhood and nice breakfast. We thought it was a gem.

Room Tip: If you're averse of noise, request a room away from the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoName011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

We were pleased with these very basic accomodations. They would work for women traveling alone or couples. Ukranian sisters manage the convent, very little English is spoken but really isn't a problem. Rooms were basic but clean and acceptable. Convent is on a square that can have a lot of noise. Breakfast was rolls, jelly, cheese and either coffee, tea or hot chocolate. The location could not have been better, we walked easily to the Coloseum, Trevi fountain, Spanish steps, etc. After looking at some of the hotel prices in Rome we were more than pleased with this choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathleenglackin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

I stayed there for three days, in november, I had inside room so, fortunately, it was silent.
The zone around is AWFULLY CAOTIC!
But, this place could not be called HOTEL, only because there is reception, because there are the rooms with the bathroom.......It's too poor for being called HOTEL.
Anyway, for whome needs a quite clean place, near to Colosseo, cheap, and for who's travel alone or in couple, without pretending too much, and for who doesn't take coffe in the morning (only instant coffe :-) ), it can be right place to stay for some days.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank adaisola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#84 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Monti
Eurostars International Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Trevi Palace Hotel
Trevi Palace Hotel
#233 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,593 of 3,758 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santa Sofia

Property: Casa Santa Sofia
Address: Piazza della Madonna Dei Monti 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,088 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Casa Santa Sofia 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Santa Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing