We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not disappointed”
Review of Taverna Barberini

Taverna Barberini
Ranked #5,569 of 12,268 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $22 - $67
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Trevi
Description: delicious family restaurant in the heart of Rome.. the best traditional roman cusine and fish cusine at lunch and dinner, in a friendly atmosphere. Very typical tabernae in rome.TAVERNA BARBERINI OFFER YOU...GLUTEN FREE CUISINE!!!!!
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not disappointed”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Based on the good reviews I read on Tripadvisor we ate here for lunch. We had the starters special and two pastas. The portions were copious and the quality above average, special mention goes to the pasta which was fresh and well prepared. The price paid was a bit above average but the meal we had was well worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharkfin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    196
    63
    44
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Authentico”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

When you've eaten enough pizza and want a really authentic Italian meal this downstairs establishment is a great choice. Opposite the Barberini Palace and a block up from the Piazza, they provided a delightful experience not just a feed.
After the best Aperol Spritzer I've ever had we ate whole fish, scampi, salad and bread, all fresh and reasonably priced.
The piano player was a complete bonus. He played everything from classical to Sinatra and jazz. Why wasn't the place packed?
We went twice varying the menu only slightly, we weren't disappointed. Would definitely recommend this bar/restaurant. It's Rome after all, what's not to like?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dr_ruthSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enchanting!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our group consisted of two couples. After being in Rome for four days, we have had our share of pasta and pizza. We were in for a surprise when we ordered the antipasti, which came on a huge cart and was a presentation of at least 12 different dishes, ranging from fresh cheeses to prepared vegetable dishes. We were delighted with the range of flavors. The main courses were also good, but it was hard to beat the initial presentation of the antipasti course and the good house red wine. Our hosts were engaged and seemed to enjoy our positive responses to the food. They even surprised us with fresh biscotti and liquor after dinner, when we thought we couldn't eat a bit more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SDreviewer60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
344 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“down the stairs, good value and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

even without the piano player, we would have had a good dinner. great, attentive and friendly service, and good food at reasonable prices fit the bill after walking Rome all day. not gourmet but good quality, fresh food nicely presented.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food in cellar”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

House red wine was very good. Restaurant was placed in cellar. Saltinbocca was very good and dessert was delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Barberini also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Barberini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing