We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property
Exterior 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior 1
Exterior 2 Planimetry
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
Exterior 1
Exterior 2
Planimetry
Living room 1
Living room 2
Bed room 1
Bed room 2
Balcony 1
Balcony 2
Studio 1
Studio 2
Kitchen 1
Kitchen 2
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
hhnygaard
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This place looks too good to be true, but in reality it's even better!

The house is compact, but perfect in every way. All you need is provided. Really nice terraces. The owners used to live in the house and have clearly put some effort into making this place special.
Very kind and helpful host. Even helped to arrange a happy birthday-welcome for my daughter upon the arrival!
Nice and quiet neighbourhood, easy parking, grocery store, café etc. max 100 m away.
Perfect location on a hill, walking distance to city centre and easy tram and bus connections.
Stayed 3 nights with kids, would like to come back for a longer stay next time! The city itself and this house make you want to stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the terraces and the location
Liked least: What's not to like!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAKH
Cairo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Rome”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is lovely, compact but well designed for comfort and the kitchen is very well equipped. The jewel is really the terrace; we had breakfast there every morning and sun downers in the evening. The location is perfect as it is close to the centre but away from the noise. Don't even think about driving a car in the city centre as it is impossible to park unless you want to a a fortune for underground parking. The owner is very helpful and gave us several recommendations for restaurants etc in the area. The two we tried were easy walking distance from the cottage were very good and reasonably priced. In fact everything you need is in walking distance. Bonus is free parking on the street outside the cottage. Highly recommended and we would certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful terrace
Liked least: Liked everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kam75
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottage”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived in Rome on Christmas Day and stayed until January 6th. The owners of l'Orangerie were absolutely wonderful to work with... since we got in on a holiday, Giacinto arranged for us to have a hot meal which was a wonderful surprise and hugely appreciated. Knowing that local shops might be closed around this time (Christmas is traditionally celebrated December 24 through January 6 in Italy), our refrigerator was stocked with basics--including wine. I know some reviews said how easy the payment process was, but I had a hard time with the wire transfer. Luckily, Giacinto said I could pay upon arrival. He also arranged for airport pick-up/ drop-off. What a gracious host!

For us, the location was perfect. Very centrally located. The Vatican is approximately 2 miles from the house as is Castel Sant'Angelo, Colesseum, Trevi Fountain, etc. We got lost in the city exploring everything. We never used the city transport because everything is relatively in walking distance. Yes, the stairs on return were at times grueling, but manageable. I go to the gym so I appreciated the daily workout. Trastevere has wonderful restaurants and they are often less expensive than other areas of the city. Around the corner from the house, Caffe Poerio makes wonderful cappuccinos (Italy has the best...only if they had a large to-go cup) and next door to that is a small grocery store. Another few blocks, we discovered a lovely bakery/ bar where at night we'd enjoy a nice glass of wine with a yummy dessert. I think it's called Bar Pasticceria?

The house itself is very cute. Being the time of year we went, we never took advantage of the terraces, but I could see how this would be an advantage with good weather. As others have stated, the pictures portray the real thing. And the price... what a wonderful plus! We took advantage of it with a quick trip to Florence. Ordinarily, I wouldn't pay for a place if I wasn't staying in it, but the price allowed us this luxury and bringing handheld instead of luggage through the cobblestone streets of Florence was ideal. Only one word of caution: be careful going down the stairs. I went down with slippery slippers and almost lost it. Go barefoot or have shoes on!

I love Italy and Rome is my favorite...I wonder if I had stayed elsewhere other than l'Orangerie, if I'd still have this opinion? Thank you Giacinto for the wonderful accommodations and sorry it took me over 6 months to write this review!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cute house in a perfect location.
Liked least: Handheld shower...but not enough to taint my opinion of the house!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hideaway in a quiet neighborhood”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Yes, it really does look just like the pictures! We had our breakfast and lattes on the upstairs terrace, which has a nice view of the street. The house is lovely, and clean and comfortable, and it was easy to get to town. We enjoyed returning to the quiet neighborhood and relaxing on the patio after a busy day. All amenities are close by. Definitely do your grocery shopping at the open-air market--the free-range eggs are spectacularly good. Our landlord, Giacinto, and caretaker/housekeeper, Elda, were very helpful with arranging transport, helping us find addresses, and anything else that we needed. We recommend this great place very highly and would love to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming, beautiful, and comfortable
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdale123
Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in a great location.”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. Excellent, huge terrace for relaxing. House was well equipped and spacious. Easy access to transport and local restaurants. In a normal Rome suburb so it was nice to get away from the touristy areas and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The hard mattress!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miznovemb...
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Like a home away from home - charming!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We rented L'Orangerie in Trastevere for five days during our recent vacation in Italy. We wanted to be away from the hustle/bustle of Rome, yet close enough to see the sights when we were ready. The cottage is in a quiet residential area on a hill near a park and was just what we were looking for. We were able to take the tram or city bus into town and from there connect to all the major attractions.
L'Orangerie delivered as advertised. It was just as the photos depicted and contained all the items listed on the website except a telephone. It was very clean, well-lit, and cozy with lots of closet space, well-functioning appliances, TV, DVD movies, internet access, a lovely garden with outdoor seating, plenty of electrical outlets, attractive furnishings, and nice towels and linens. There are two sets of stairs inside because it's a tri-level place, so be sure you can manage the steps or you'll need to sleep on the sofabed. We are in our late 60's/early 70's and had no problem but are able-bodied.
The cottage is near some very good eateries, and a bank and supermarket are close by. We caught the tram to the historic center of Rome and took one of the buses to return because they brought us to the top of the hill instead of the bottom. It's a short distance to the heart of Trastevere, where there's a church, museum, and shopping. You must stop at Cremi and have a gelato. They are scrumptious! You can take the Giancolo walk from the cottage toward Vatican City and enjoy a gorgeous panoramic view of Rome. It's a nice walk through the park; just ask a local which direction to go. Although the property owner leaves instructions for getting around that are pretty easy to follow.
You should have dinner at il Foccolare for a real treat to the taste buds, and Tutto Qua Bistro is good as well -- both are quite near L'Oangerie. The people in the neighborhood are very helpful and we felt entirely safe, both day and night.
I highly recommend L'Orangerie for a delightful stay in Rome and a welcome alternative to the busy hotels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We felt immersed in the culture of Rome and felt at home, like we belonged there.
Liked least: The mattress, but we informed the owner and he has since replaced it.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage - just perfect for a very happy holiday.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We have just come back from our first visit to Rome, and indeed first visit to Italy, and are completely in love with beautiful Rome! Our visit was greatly enhanced by our stay at l'Orangerie; it is a home from home - very comfortable and clean - with simple but elegant furnishings and decor. We were blessed to have lovely weather and the terraces were very much enjoyed. As others have said, it was so good to be able to come away from the hustle and bustle of central Rome to the peace of the suburb. Giacinto, one of the owners, met us on our arrival and was extremely helpful; we were made to feel very welcome.

We very much enjoyed joining in with the everyday life of the people amongst who we were living - we visited the wonderful local market and bought a lot of pasta, cheese, fresh fruit and vegetables. We tried the local restaurant, il Focolare, and were not disappointed - the food was beautifully cooked and very tasty. I can particularly recommend the tiramisu!

We enjoyed very much the area of Trastevere and loved the little lanes and shops, even finding an English bookshop - the Almost Corner Bookshop - run by some ex-pats. This shop was recommended by our Lonely Planet guide, as also was a restaurant in Trastevere called Bir and Fud - they serve a huge selection of beers, as the name suggests, and their pizzas were totally delicious.

We strongly recommend l'Orangerie for a stay in Rome, and we hope one day to be able to go back there.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Its situation, its convenience for everything, its comfort and cleanliness, and views.
Liked least: We did find ourselves being a little cautious on the stairs - it wasn't a huge problem but the main stairway is U shaped, and the small stairway up to the study is open. It's just a matter of taking one's time and not rushing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing