We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful cottage - just perfect for a very...”
other travelers have booked this property
Exterior 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior 1
Exterior 2 Planimetry
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
Exterior 1
Exterior 2
Planimetry
Living room 1
Living room 2
Bed room 1
Bed room 2
Balcony 1
Balcony 2
Studio 1
Studio 2
Kitchen 1
Kitchen 2
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Louise P
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage - just perfect for a very happy holiday.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We have just come back from our first visit to Rome, and indeed first visit to Italy, and are completely in love with beautiful Rome! Our visit was greatly enhanced by our stay at l'Orangerie; it is a home from home - very comfortable and clean - with simple but elegant furnishings and decor. We were blessed to have lovely weather and the terraces were very much enjoyed. As others have said, it was so good to be able to come away from the hustle and bustle of central Rome to the peace of the suburb. Giacinto, one of the owners, met us on our arrival and was extremely helpful; we were made to feel very welcome.

We very much enjoyed joining in with the everyday life of the people amongst who we were living - we visited the wonderful local market and bought a lot of pasta, cheese, fresh fruit and vegetables. We tried the local restaurant, il Focolare, and were not disappointed - the food was beautifully cooked and very tasty. I can particularly recommend the tiramisu!

We enjoyed very much the area of Trastevere and loved the little lanes and shops, even finding an English bookshop - the Almost Corner Bookshop - run by some ex-pats. This shop was recommended by our Lonely Planet guide, as also was a restaurant in Trastevere called Bir and Fud - they serve a huge selection of beers, as the name suggests, and their pizzas were totally delicious.

We strongly recommend l'Orangerie for a stay in Rome, and we hope one day to be able to go back there.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Its situation, its convenience for everything, its comfort and cleanliness, and views.
Liked least: We did find ourselves being a little cautious on the stairs - it wasn't a huge problem but the main stairway is U shaped, and the small stairway up to the study is open. It's just a matter of taking one's time and not rushing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bembridge
Reviewed March 6, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Houston
Reviewed February 13, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chillerbe...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A quiet comfortable cottage with charming, helpful owners”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

A comfortable, well equipped, and spacious two bedroom cottage in a quiet, safe area of Rome. Booking was easy and responsive. The owners provided lots of useful information to help us make our decision. They also provided lots of tips about where to go, what to see and where to eat in this fascinating city. The cottage has good transport links and is convenient (if you don't mind climbing three flights of steps) for Trastevere railway station which saves some money on airport transfers. Our host even dropped us back to the station upon our departure because the tram wasn't running that day. All in all, a comfortable, relaxing and pleasant stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewed November 21, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bobbi4812...
Dearborn, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I am hesitant to give the shining review this cottage deserves as I fear it will be fully booked and I won't be able to stay here again!!! It truly is everything as described. A pretty little home in a beautiful neighborhood not over run with tourists. Nearly everything you need is provided by the lovely owners Giacinto and his wife. An exceptional value for a spacious apartment. Though it is not in the historic area, you are steps away from Trastevere. Yes steps, about 200 steps downhill. A little difficult climbing back up, but there is a bus down below to take you back up. Once you've mastered the bus and tram system, it's a breeze. I was able to walk to all the historic sites. Even to St. Paul Outside the Wall... Though the walks are lengthy, you can easily hop on public transport if you prefer. There are several good restaurants near by and a great gourmet food shop in the little piazza down a couple of blocks. The grocery store is very close as well. If you seek a more authentic neighborhood, you must stay here. Hopefully I will return again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing