We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to Feel Special”
Review of Gran Melia Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #89 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

A haven in a hot city. You shouldn't be disappointed with your choice. A calm, cool, design hotel with plenty of space as you would expect from a resort hotel but right in the centre of Rome. After some challenges checking in and taking a while to get our room we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights and even chose to stay by the pool on our final morning rather than having another long walk around Rome. Breakfasts excellent and we didn't have the Red Level experience

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

we are grateful to you for choosing to spend your recent stay in Rome at our Luxury Urban Resort and for the time spent in sharing your positive feelings about.

We are glad to know how much you enjoyed your experience with us, particularly appreciating the breakfast concept and defining our property as “a heaven”.

We are just happy that we were able to transmit you our passion for service, making you feel so special and further enriching your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to let you continue your 'heavenly' experience in the Eternal City...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

The best service ever!!! Last time we receive a service like this , it was in Thailand!!! Always a smile on every one of the workers face. Every one is super nice and patient. Always , even at 12 o'clock at night, are ready to help with every thing. The room are very clean and nice. Nespresso coffee machine in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for choosing the Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina at the occasion of your recent visit to Rome.

We are extremely grateful for your lovely review, highlighting our staff attentive attitude, which has always represented our greatest asset.
We are happy to have been able to transmit you our 'service vocation', since our main purpose is to turn each of our guests' journey into unforgettable experiences...

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the Eternal City and let you keep enjoying your "best service ever"...

Arrivederci,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I definately recommend this hotel! Great design, service and location! The only minus is a really high price but I got some discounts. I would say that Gran Melia is really the best place to stay in Rome for vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing to spend your recent stay in Rome at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are very glad to learn how much you did enjoy your experience with us, appreciating both service and amazing location.

Thank you for rating us as 'the best hotel in Rome'...

We look forward to welcoming you back to our 'oasis' in the heart of the Eternal City, to let you live other unforgettable moments...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in May 2014. Beautiful hotel with the added bonus of having a great pool area for a hotel so central. 5 min walk to Vatican & 10 min walk to Piazza Navono were there are some great little restaurants.
The hotel is very modern and plush. All areas are beautifully clean. Staff are all very helpful and speak good English. We eat at the main restaurant on one night to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. The food was to die for and the service of a very high standard. They even brought out a lovely cake as a surprise. Very nice touch.
Rome is a beautiful city but is now spoilt by street venders trying to sell cheap tacky rubbish. Its relentless they are everywhere. Pity.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ToonBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

we are extremely grateful for your lovely feedback as to the recent experience lived with us.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina while visiting such a unique city like Rome, and that you appreciated our service and facilities.

Thank you for trying our gastronomic experience at VivaVoce by Don Alfonso Iaccarino for such an important event for you, enjoying food quality, high standard service and the little touch we perzonalized your special occasion with.

We do look forward for your next visit to our Luxury Urban Resort to make it further exceptional...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had an amazing stay at Gran Melia.
I booked this hotel for my husbands 40th Birthday as a surprise. The staff helped me to make a great experience.
We had a dinner at Viva Voce Restaurant. They also made a Birthday Cake for him. The food was delicious!!
The pool is great!
I would also like to thank the staff for a wonderful job!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooking i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

we are grateful to you for choosing to spend your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina at the occasion of this important event for your husband.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your experience, described as “amazing”, particularly appreciating the VivaVoce dinner and the surprise by our chef for your husband, as birthday wishes.

Thank you for the kind words highlighting the staff professionalism and attitude, meant to turn each guest’s experience into unforgettable moments… we are just happy to know that we could convert yours in such an amazing one!

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon to let you continue your experience in the Eternal City...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I was totally impressed with this hotel and have stayed here several times. The service is warm and attentive, and the staff seems genuine. The entire hotel is designed well - very modern while maintaining respect for the history. (I heard the property was owned by the Vatican, and leased by Melia.) I love the glass shower in the middle of the room (although I can see how that may be a problem if you are traveling with your family, or friends. Room service is fast with great food (especially the coffee - I love a hotel with great coffee!) Best of all is the location - we had a great view of St. Peter's from our room! We walked everywhere - which is always fun to to do in Rome - close to the Vatican, Piazza Navona and the Trastevere. The only bad thing that happened is that on our second visit - when we were leaving - we had ordered a car to take us to the airport. It seems that the front desk forgot and it took about 20 minutes for a cab to arrive, luckily we had the time to wait. These things happen, though. The car (a Mercedes) is about the same a taxi - so we would recommend having the front desk reserve one for you, why not? In summary, I love this hotel - it's on my top 10 list.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOLAEXPLORA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

we are extremely grateful for your lovely feedback following the recent experience lived with us.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina, while visiting such a unique city like Rome, and that you appreciated our historical property -framed in a suggestive and comfortable location- and attentive service by our professional team.

Thank you also for highlithing the high quality of Room Service that, together with the rest of food and beverage outlets, create such a unique and great concept, driven by the two Michelin starred chef, Don Alfonso Iaccarino.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Gran Meliá Rome to let you continue your 'first class' experience in the historical heart of the Eternal City...

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Very beautiful, comfortable and relaxing hotel situated in an excellent location next to the vatican. Very friendly staff.
I would have wished the hotel pool to be heated...this would have made the experience perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Iris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to report your pleasant stay at our Luxury Urban Resort.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina while visiting such a unique city like Rome, and that you appreciated our service & facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Gran Meliá Rome to let you continue your 'beautiful' experience in the historical heart of the Eternal City...

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,964 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $242 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing