We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very romantic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Melia Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #88 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very romantic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed for a romantic weekend and despite raining non stop for two days, we had the most fabulous stay, thanks to this beautiful hotel and it's wonderful staff.
The hotel is 5 minutes from St. Peter's square and the river. For whom likes to walk, along the river it takes 30 minutes to walk to the center of Colosseum and the main sights and there is always something to look at while walking as the city is one large architectonic jewel.
The hotel staff is great, there could be a better quality in check-in experience and activity in the lobby, as the concierge was constantly absent adn we had to alert Front Desk people to get the lady, but once she was there her recommendations were fabulous.
The rooms are spacious, with a transparet shower, which although it's not very convenient, even when traveling in couples, I understand it's nowaday's trend.
Also a fabulous breakfsat and fantastic breakfast staff!!!!
Overall not a top luxury hotel but great value and best service for the price, I really recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ipanema7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are grateful to you for choosing to spend your recent stay in Rome at our Luxury Urban Resort and for the time spent in sharing your feelings about.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience while visiting such a unique city, and that you appreciated both our facilities and staff professionalism.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina to let you continue your romantic experience in the heart of the Eternal City...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    280
    101
    36
    20
See reviews for
363
655
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a great 5* hotel with a lovely location close to the river, Castle San Angelo, Trastaverde and Vatican. The front desk, and particularly Francesca, were great. The service throughout the hotel were top notch. The breakfasts were terrific with lots of fresh choices. The rooms were very comfortable with nice unique showers, and comfortable beds. All in all, a great place to stay in Rome.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river and City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHCWESTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are grateful to you for choosing to experience the Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are pleased to realize that you enjoyed your time, appreciating our service and facilities, besides the suggestive location framing our historical Luxury Urban Resort.

Thank you also for the kind words addressed to the staff professionalism and warm attitude, especially as regard to Francesco, who is one of our great Front Office team members.
We are happy that we could transmit our service vocation to you, turning your stay into such a great experience...

Looking forward to welcoming you back at the occasion of your future visit to the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel is more a landmark than a Hotel. It was finished two years ago after eleven hard years of work. The construction lasted so long because the site is of great archeollogical value. At one point, the construction was stopped for three years to collect artefacts.

As all Melia, it's full of small details that make the difference. The personnel is warm and attentive (always with their hand on their hart). Breakfast was exquisite and the Restaurant Vivavoce was extraordinary.

The Location is perfect, because is not in the center, but only a five minute walk from it, which makes it a quiet place close to the action. You can see the Vatican wall from your window, so it is right on it's footsteps. It's like a small resort in the middle of the city of Rome.

The gardens make you think as if you were in a small Versalles with beautiful trees and a pool that looks like a lake.

If you visit Rome and do not sleep at the Gran Melia Villa Agrippina, it's like you missed an important monument o piazza. Trust me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to share your experience at our Luxury Urban Resort.

We are pleased to realize that you lived an enjoyable stay, appreciating our touches and attention to details, besides the fascinating and ancient history of our property.

Thank you for the kind words addressed to emphasize our staff professionalism and passion for service, daily expressed since the first arrival through our special greeting to welcome each guest.
It represents the reason of our service vocation.
Just like in the eighteenth century in Spain, we wish to express how much we have been expecting each of our special guests by placing an opened hand over our hearts, as the Spanish Ladies used to do with their fan in the past, to express love feelings...
A symbolic and evocative “language” to give a taste of the exceptional moments to live in our Resort…

We are glad that you had the chance to try and enjoy all our facilities and above all, the breakfast service and the VivaVoce -by Alfonso Iaccarino- experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina to let you continue such unique experience in the historical heart of the Eternal City...

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We visit Rome as a couple for a long weekend and stayed at this hotel for two nights. Our check in was quick and smooth and we were offered a welcome drink when we arrived.

Unfortunately they forgot that we had booked a Red Level room and because we didn't really know what we should be getting we didn't know to ask about this. However when we realised and asked they sorted things out immediately. However we did miss out on the Red Level benefits as a result for the first day.

We booked a Grand Premium room which was comfortable if fairly basic. The room could have benefited from a few more plug sockets for charging phones etc. Also the table in the room was tiny.

On our first morning breakfast was extremely busy and it took about 10 minutes to be even served with some coffee. There was also no one to offer us a choice of food from the breakfast menu so we just made do with the buffet. The second morning service was much better.

We had a brief trip to the Spa and tried the Steam room, Sauna and Jacuzzi. This was an excellent facility and very relaxing.

We didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel because food was very expensive. There are plenty of good restaurants in Rome and it was nice to get out and about. The bar was good and served an extensive range of cocktails - although again these were very expensive.

All the staff were very pleasant and helpful and this made for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexPeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to report your pleasant stay at our Luxury Urban Resort, which you define as top class!

While glad to learn that you appreciated our overall service and above all the Spa experience, I wish to express again my regret about the confusion as to your reservation, preventing you from experiencing the RedLevel service since the very beginning.
On the other hand, I am very pleased to learn that you lived our enjoyable, special welcome addressed to all the guests.

I likewise regret that your first breakfast was not perceived as up to our normal quality level, probably due to elevated number of guests in the breakfast room at the same time.

Thank you also for the kind words addressed to the staff professionalism and dedication to guests, which I provided to share with the rest of the team, since your appreciation towards such service vocation represents a reason of further pride and motivation.

We are just happy to learn that we were able to transmit our passion for job, which could turn your stay into a unique experience, also thanks to the suggestive beauty of our location and luxurious property.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at the occasion of your future visit to the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Only 5 minutes from The Vatican and every highlight you might even visit by walking.Beautiful hotel, pool and gardens.Superfriendly staff.Very clean rooms and environment.Food fine , although breakfast a bit low on variety.Indeed *****

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Grietje V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

we wish to thank you for the time spent in reporting your feedback as to your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina, which you define fantastic...

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience while visiting such a unique city like Rome, and that you appreciated both our facilities and staff professionalism.

We really hope to welcome you back soon to let you continue your Italian experience in the Eternal City...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
210 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Hotel has an excellent Location in Walking distance to the Vatican, Trastevere and the Inner City. The rooms are quiet and beautifully furnished. Service and team is excellent. Breakfast is very nice and you can even have breakfast on the terrace near the pool if weather permits. There is a shuttle bus to the heart of the city for those who do not want to walk.
Quality of Food is outstanding - service in the Restaurant superb.
A very nice quiet retreat in busy Rome!

Room Tip: Rooms facing either the river or the inner courtyard (park of the hotel). High floor for beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcDeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are extremely grateful for your lovely feedback as to the recent experience lived with us.

Your kind words addressed to staff professionalism and highlighting our excellent service, mean a reason of great pride and motivation for us all, since we daily work with passion to provide high quality service to our Guests.

We are just happy to learn that we were able to transmit such service vocation to you, turning your stay into a unique experience, especially as regard to the Restaurant and Breakfast service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at the occasion of your future visit to the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you like the style and ambience of Park Hyatt or Ritz Carlton, then you will like this - it is in their price range. We stayed in a junior suite on the Red Level - it was comfortable for 2 people - but beware that space is at a premium in Rome. Red Level gets you great concierge service, and includes most amenities (gym, spa, breakfast, club lounge with free drinks & food) - would definitely recommend opting for that. Also recommend using their airport transfer service (extra cost) which just takes all the hassle out of the arrival & departure.
Location is great - vatican is 15 minute walk - most everything else is within 30 minutes walk - yet the hotel feels secluded within its nice grounds so you can get away from the bustle and crowds.
We ate dinner in the restaurant once and it was good - we chose to sample nearby restaurants in the old city - a pleasant walk before and after dinner - with some great places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaudi993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to report your pleasant stay at our Luxury Urban Resort.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina while visiting such a unique city like Rome, and that you appreciated our facilities.

Thank you for experiencing our exclusive RedLevel Service, providing fine and sublime luxury through detailed RED touches...

We are likewise pleased to know that your appreciated our transportation service, introducing our dedication to Guests and passion for service since the very beginning, giving you an immediate perception of the upcoming emotions....

We look forward to welcoming you back at Gran Meliá Rome to let you continue your unique experience in the historical heart of the Eternal City...

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Property: Gran Melia Rome
Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing