We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Melia Rome
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Rovere(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lungara(Rome)
View Hotel
Emmaus(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Residenza Paolo VI(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,530)
Filter reviews
1,530 results
Traveler rating
1,032
313
114
46
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
313
114
46
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelpremium roomred glovepool arearose petalsbeautiful hotelclose to the vaticanlovely poolprivate gardenjunior suiteluxury hotelnespresso machinebreakfast buffettiber riverour honeymoonbusy cityeternal city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
796 - 801 of 1,530 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This property is new to the Melia chain and as a Melia member I have to applaud this gem. I always recommend for any Melia hotels that you opt for a Level room since the amenities are exceptional; VIP check-in, breakfast, happy hour, etc. My understanding is that they owned the property for at least a decade before they received permission to renovate. It is evident preservation was kept in mind. The rooms are amazing - I had a terrace with a breathtaking view, a hot tub, lovely furniture, and beautiful textiles. The pool made this experience over-the-top. Having traveled in August, it was steamy in Rome and cooling off at the luxury pool was bliss. The negative part of this hotel was the room service. We were there for 5 days and not once was our room serviced - even with a "please service" sign on the door. We had dirty glasses, etc. sitting the entire time - which we ended up putting outside the door each night. Now the reason I will forgive this is because it was just recently opened when we arrived - so new taxi drivers did know the location. Please note it is rare to have this type of property (grounds) in such an exceptional location (near everything). The gated drive in is impressive. The breakfast was amazing - although the restaurant manager was irritable and not a good representation of the quality of the hotel. I definitely recommend this hotel. I have high hopes the service will be polished - since this is derivative of a new property that can bring frustrations to any staff.

Room Tip: Always opt for "Level" category rooms for any Melia hotels. The junior suites are worth it - they face the pool/sites and offer amazing terrances with lovely lounge furniture.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iamtraveladdicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for the time you dedicated in sharing your Summer Experience at new Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are extremely happy to know that you had a great stay with us, appreciating the facilities of our amazing resort and, above all, the exclusive RedLevel experience and staff professionalism.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, at the occasion of your next visit to the Eternal City, to turn once again your stay into an unforgettable experience....

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the first leg of our Italy trip around Thanksgiving and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. Ewelina checked us in and showed us around. We had arrived early from across the ocean, but a room was ready for us relatively early in the morning.

Our premium room was spacious for Italian standards. The best was the shower/tub int he middle of the room - allowed for some romance. Everything was clean, comfortable and modern.

The location was a concern before we got there, but everything was a short and fun walk away or accessible by the hotels shuttle service, which takes you to the Spanish steps area.

Overall, great experience and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jayyneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

we are extremely glad to realize that you lived such as good experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina, where you felt as welcomed and well attended like we always aim to.

We all remain at your disposal and look forward to receving you back at our Luxury Urban Resort soon, so to give you other unforgettable moments...

Thank you for choosing us and for your nice review about the whole experience.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

After several times in Rome finally I have found a really nice hotel with perfect location.

Hotel premises are quite new, well decorated but not that big. Gym has brand new equipment but located in a room without any view to outside. For a quick exercise was quite functional. The hotel has a quite nice garden where the pool is installed. There is also a spa that I had no time to enjoy but internal pool is just fantastic. Restaurant is very good also with good selection of wines.

Location for me is just perfect. Five minutes walking to Vatican. Ten minutes walking to Trastevere or Piazza Navona. Fifteen minutes until via Condotti for shopping. I took a cab only to visit my customer and back to airport.

But here comes the real differential: people. Young but very well trained people. Tiago in the reception and Francesca at concierge made the difference.

First time I believe a hotel could perfectly match business and vacation needs. Hopefully next time I come back on vacations...





Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Joaopla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

we are extremely pleased to learn about your full satisfaction about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are glad to know that our facilities and service could met and fulfill your expectations while you were here for business.

We wish to particularly thank you for the kind words addressed to our staff professionalism, and specifically to Thiago and Francesca who contribute with the whole team to enrich our Front Office and RedGlove Departments through spacial attention to details and customer care.

We look forward to welcoming you back in our Luxury Urban Resort soon, hopefully for your next vacation so to enjoy the beauty and magic of such a unique city in the world...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great, central and in the same time quiet location (five minute walking form Vatican), extremely friendly and professional staff and good quality of breakfast. The rooms are clean but rather a little bit to small, nice design, for some people maybe to modern conception of open bathroom. Generally good uality of their service and nice impression.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KubaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback about your experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are pleased to learn that you had a nice stay with us and hope to have the chance of welcoming you back at our Luxury Urban Resort at the occasion of your future visits to the Eternal City.

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for a special occasion it was my wedding anniversary, the hotel is absolutely fantastic, we were upgraded to a junior suite, we felt like living in a fairy tail
The service is great the staff very professional and the location on a hill above the Vatican very central
Definitely to recommend

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive feedback about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are just pleased to know that we were able to turn your special event into an unforgettable experience, as it really meant our main purpose.

We will be waiting for the next occasion bringing you back to Rome so to let your romantic experience continue...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews