We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Melia Rome
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Rovere(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lungara(Rome)
View Hotel
Emmaus(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Residenza Paolo VI(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,529)
Filter reviews
1,529 results
Traveler rating
1,031
313
114
46
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,031
313
114
46
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelpremium roomred glovepool arearose petalsbeautiful hotelclose to the vaticanlovely poolprivate gardenjunior suiteluxury hotelnespresso machinebreakfast buffettiber riverour honeymoonbusy cityeternal city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
803 - 808 of 1,529 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Took my girlfriend here for a nice weekend away and this place is well worth the money!

Great staff, great location, can walk anywhere from here!

Room was awesome and it was generally a really nice place to stay would go back

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 02peterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

it was a great pleasure for us to learn that you had a nice stay at Gran Meliá Rome, appreciating both service and staff attitude.

Thank you for sharing your experience which we hope you wiil have soon the opportunity of cointinuing during your next visits to Rome...

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed there for three nights, highly recommend this hotel, staff really nice and helpfull, locationis great , beside all best places to see. Real 5 star hotel
If you visit restaurants in surrounding area, be carefull, waiting staff will try to overcharge you, happened to me twice

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments about your experience at Gran Meliá Rome, which we are glad to know that it was a very pleasant one!

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon at the occasion of your future visits to the Eternal City...

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights in November and it was wonderful. The decor is a gorgeous mix of modern and some classic elements (like the paintings on the headboard). The service was very five star and it is just next to the Vatican. The rest of the sites are a five minute taxi ride or thirty minute walk. The only thing that is true from the negative reviews is the high price for food, drinks, spa etc but what can you do? It's rome and its a five star hotel.... We just had coffee in the morning and drinks one night and the rest of the meals ate out. Make sure to hang out in the beautiful spa (included in the price) and ask for a room with a BATH while booking! Not all rooms in the same category have the same layout. Our first room had a big closet and small shower and we switched to a room with no closet space but a huge bath and shower area. I would stay here again if I go back to rome and would not even bother trying another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseydanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for the time you spent in sharing your positive feedback as to your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome.

We are extremely glad to know that you lived such a great experience with us while visiting a unique city like Rome, where we look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible.

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Surprisingly well located (nearby the walls of Vatican City, 10 mins away by walk of Saint Peter's square and 25 mins walk away from the heart of Rome). Modern, elegant, fashionable, very comfortable, easy and with a great service. All the team is young, very professional and willing to please the guest. Not just because the hotel is new and they have to 'earn their way up' but also, and very specially, because all the team is committed to deliver the highest standards of service of the Melia chain. And they live to it! Rocío (Deputy Director) and Fernando are just fabulous! Kind, gentle, accessible, fun! Great professionals and extremely nice people. The food was great (the kitchen is run by Alfosno Iaccorino, one of the most reputed italian chefs), the building impressive (Villa Agrippina, Nero's mother residence), the room comfortable... But by far, the service was the best of it all. Highly recomendable. We will come back.

Sorprendentemente bien situado (pegado a los muros del Vaticano, a 10 minutos a pie de la Plaza de San Pedro y a 25 del centro histórico de Roma). Es un hotel moderno, elegante, con una decoración de muy buen gusto, fácil para el cliente y con un muy buen servicio. El personal es muy joven, bien preparado, muy profesional y con muchas ganas de agradar. Y no sólo porque el hotel sea nuevo y tengan que 'ganárselo' sino porque realmente se creen y 'viven' el más alto estándar de servicio de la cadena (Meliá). Rocío (la subdirectora) y Fernando son fabulosos. Siempre amables, accesibles, simpáticos. Grandes profesionales y muy buenas personas. La comida del hotel exquisita (la cocina la dirige Iaccorino, uno de los chefs más reconocidos en Italia). El edificio es impresionante (Villa Agripina, en su día residencia de la madre de Nerón). La habitación amplia y cómoda. Pero lo mejor, sin duda, el servicio. Hotel muy recomendable. Repetiremos.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseLopez32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

what a pleasure to know that your experience at Gran Meliá Rome was such a unique one!
It will be a great experience for us too to welcome you back in your "Roman house" soon!

Thank you for the lovely comments you shared, and above all, for the kind words addressed to our Deputy Manager, Mrs. Rocio Galan, and one of our RedGlove team members, Fernando. They are exactly as you describe them, contributing to turn our guests' stays into unforgettable experiences together with the rest of the team.

We will be waiting for you whenever you wish to visit the Eternal City again, to make your experience continue...

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here for a few nights as part of our honeymoon, and were extremely happy with the experience. It is a few minute walk from the Vatican, piazza Nuvona, and great restaurants. The room was very modern and chic, and the staff were extremely accommodating and helpful to us throughout our stay. Highly suggest the breakfast they serve daily. Overall I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Rome looking for first class accommodations

Craig, delray beach fl

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to realize that you lived a pleasant experience at Gran Meliá Rome during your visit to the Eternal City.

Thank you for your nice feedback as to our staff professionalism and our service.
We are glad that we were able to transmit you our values and "passion for job".

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back at our Luxury Urban Resort soon.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews