We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
Review of Gran Melia Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #96 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

A new and impressive hotel in between the Vatican and Castello St Angelo with a marvelous pool which is not usual in the city. Quite expensive , particularly if you sit in the garden for drinks etc. , but not unexpected.
What impressed me most was just how quiet the well appointed room was ; I believe the building used to be a convent so has very substantial walls ; this coupled with excellent glazing and aircon do the trick. More surprising when you walk outside and are surrounded by the usual Roman traffic mayhem.
We didn't eat there being so close to hundreds of restaurants just across the bridge so can't comment too much on the food , breakfasts were excellent however.

Spa stuff was good too , apparently.

All around , very good indeed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back probably quiter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments about your stay at new Gran Meliá Rome.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay while visiting the Eternal City, appreciating our services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and let your experience continue...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    296
    107
    44
    22
See reviews for
392
705
25
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We found the hotel using Tripadvisor. It is a new 5-star property in Rome, close to Vatican city but outside of the historical city (5-10 minute taxi ride away). The hotel is very siimilar to a slightly more casual 4.5 star US hotel. We had no complaints. The room rates were equal to several lower star but more established hotels in Rome.

The hotel staff was extremely pleasant and the hotel facilities and room were wonderful. Our initial room assignment was a bit small for a party of 3 - and they quickly moved us to a more spacious room when we notified them of this. After that there really were no issues. The hotel looks just like the pictures on their website.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sxp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing your feedback about your stay with us, at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are pleased to know that you lived a nice stay overall.

We wish to welcome you back soon in our Luxury Urban Resort during your next visit to the Eternal City.

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I Took my Girlfriend to Rome to propose between the 28th of September and 01st October 2012. I picked this hotel because it was modern looking as opposed to the outdated alternatives i saw online. After reading some negative reviews, i was a bit cautious on arrival. However once we arrived, we absolutely loved everything about this hotel. The staff were superb, the rooms were amazing and the location was perfect. They catered for all our needs immediately and had an answer for every question and query we threw at them. They genuinely went out of there ways to make our stay perfect. I cannot understand why anyone would write negative stuff about this hotel or where these people come from but I have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and this was definitely in my top three hotels in terms of location, service and room quality. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and if I was to return to Rome I wouldnt stay anywhere else. We had a truly amazing experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kem Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We wish to express our hertflet gratitude for your lovely comments about your stay with us.
We are just happy to have been able to make your experience an unforgettable one.

Thank you for choosing Gran Meliá Rome, where we look forward to welcoming you back soon to make you live again the magic of the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We visited for 6 nights from Sept 17-22, and overall Rome was an awesome experience for us!

We decided on this hotel after signing up for the Club Melia program which we have been satisfied with so far. We did realize after the first night that we were super tired after traveling and wanted to have a quick convenient dinner at the hotel that you REALLY have to be prepared to fork over some more serious $$ to do anything at the hotel. The minibar drinks were around $8 for a spirit, $4 for a soda, and you only get 2 free waters a day (which we took full advantage of). Things that usually cost more such as the gym/spa were completely free which we took advantage of as well. Don't try to eat dinner or order room service for less than $40 a person b/c the check will own your soul. We had 50% off breakfast so it was $18 per person, without being members it was $36 a person...CRAZY. If you take a 5 minute walk down towards the river you can find two very good dinner places, a couple snack bars and a fairly priced market.

However, the "red glove" service was very accommodating, we traveled with another couple who had asked them to find out prices for shipping their broken bag, and the maintenance worker just fixed it for him! They would book reservations at restaurants for us, and whenever they called a taxi it would be there in less than 5 minutes. We called them for ice and limes almost constantly. The pool was also beautiful.

Like other people have said there was SLOW internet without a cable which they did provide to us (all you have to do is ask!) but one night it completely stopped working and my boyfriend had to get work done. We had to call them a couple times to come in and work on it and I do realize that it would be the internet provider's fault, but in a five star hotel something like that shouldn't be an issue! They really need to work on the internet problem since it appears to be consistent from the other reviewers.
I will definitely be back when in Rome! Hope the kinks are sorted out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrystea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for the comments shared about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome.

We greatly appreciated both your positive comments about service and staff, and your helpful remarks.
We consider, in fact, our guests' feedback extremely important to monitor if the service quality we aim to offer is the same you perceive.
On the other hand, your comments are also an important improvement tool for us.

We really hope to welcome you back soon at our Luxury Urban Resort to let you live a fully satisfactory experience overall.

The whole team and myself remain at your complete disposal for any need.

We will be waiting for you....

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I visited Rome and stayed in the Gran Melia back in May for our wedding anniversary. The hotel hadn't been open long at this time. We loved our choice the minute we clapped eyes on the hotel. There was a very upmarket boutique feel about it. The pool area was superb, very unusual to get such a lovely pool with four poster day beds in Rome just to chill around after a hard days sightseeing. The weather in May was superb, lovely and warm so perfect to cool down in. We didn't have the biggest of rooms but everything was decorated beautifully' the beds were very comfortable, plenty of hanging space and a gorgeous bathroom with a separate toilet ( always a plus in my mind). We received daily hand written black cards with silver writing with touching thoughts for the day. The hotel also made us a stunning cake to congratulate us on our wedding anniversary as well as a bottle of sparkling wine. The staff knew us by name and the concierge Red Glove service could not do enough for us. All these little touches made us feel very special . In addition we could walk to the Vatican within 10 minutes and be close Trastevere, a place with superb restaurants with a great night time buzz and Piazza Navona. As for Rome itself, it is a truly magically city, I would go back in a heart beat. It has it all, great food, people, romance, history, architecture, shopping, sun and just oozes with happiness and excitement . In all one of the best city breaks ever.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor so you get lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leyla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

it was a great pleasure for us to receive your lovely comments about your stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

Thank you for the kind words addressed to the team, especially to the RedGlove staff.
They are very significant to us, meaning a clear feedback of our "passion for our profession" and attention to the little, personalized "touches" you mentioned.

We are extremely gald to learn that we were able to make your experience with us a special one!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon during your next visit to the Eternal City, to breathe, once again, its magic...

Very Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The location is absolutely amazing and the design really matches my taste! However the overall service was poor and if it weren't for the extremely nice staff dedicated for Red Level, I would never recommend this hotel for the prices they charge. Make sure you don't get a room under the terrace & restaurant. We had to change the suite, because it is impossible to sleep after 8am... and that's really not nice when you are on honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

a warm thanks for sharing your comments about your stay at Gran Meliá Rome, through which we regret to realize that you were not fully satisfied with the overall service.

While thanking you for the words of appreaciation addressed to the RedLevel staff, I wish to highlight how the whole team daily works sharing a common vision and one mail goal: turning our guests' stays into unforgettable moments.
This is the reason why I am really sorry to learn about your discontent about the service, especially at the occasion of your honemoon which we generally make very special.

We really look forward to receving you back in our Luxury Urban Resort in the future if you decide to visit Rome again, to be able to make you live the experience we generally provide.

Please, consider myself at your complete disposal for any need.

Thank you for your attention.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel has a great location - very close to the Vatican, great views from some rooms, pretty good shuttle service to Spanish steps area. Feels like a quiet haven away from busy Rome. Easy walking distance into Trastevere and Piazza Navona areas. Staff are very, very helpful. Pool area (v rare in Rome) is very good. Hotel has an attractive, fresh, boutique style. Room, bed were v good and the bathroom was fantastic. Spa is good too. Only criticism is the price of food and drinks - which were prohibitively high across the board (above top end New York prices) - to the extent that we avoided eating and drinking in the hotel. There are good restaurants and bars close by. But with an empty bar and restaurant, the hotel has got this wrong. Sensible Rome comparable pricing would surely be profitable and would bring the bar and restaurant to life.

Room Tip: Go for a city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrunswickFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your comments about the recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.
We are happy to know that you lived a nice experience in the Eternal City.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#85 of 1,263 in Rome
1,978 reviews
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,263 in Rome
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Property: Gran Melia Rome
Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing