We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel”
Review of Gran Melia Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #97 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We visited Rome for the first time last week and spent four nights at this hotel.

We had a lovely warm reception on our arrival and was given a tour of the hotel and welcome drink in the bar area next to the pool. Our room was beautiful with lots of cute attention to detail reminding us we were in Rome. The rooms are modern and feel very luxurious with all the all the touches you'd expect from a 5* resort.

The staff on the front desk really couldn't have done enough for us. All their recommendations for restaurants and tourist advice was spot on. I wish I could remember all their names but Sara was fantastic as well as the rest of the team. The service from them was friendly and super efficient just as good as the service I've experienced in any Shangri La hotel.

The location is incredible, 10 minutes from the nearest restaurants and about half an hour to the colosseum. The pool is very peaceful and we had read a few reviews that talked about the amount of birds around the pool in the evening and their mess everywhere. This is definitely something that has been addressed as we didn't see one bird near the pool and it was always pristine.

The breakfast was simple, fresh and delicious. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked nice enough if not a little empty in the evenings. People tend to complain about the prices of drinks at the hotel being too expensive. I have to say they are no different to any other 5* hotels we've stayed in anywhere else in the world, it's really to be expected.

We would totally recommend this hotel. It really is the perfect urban resort!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to report your pleasant stay at our Luxury Urban Resort, which you define as the perfect one!

We are pleased to realize that you appreciated our touches, since the special welcome we like to give to all our guests, touring them through the Resort and let them experiencing the history and ancient origins of our building, before escoting them to the room.

Thank you also for the kind words addressed to the staff professionalism and warm attitude, especially as regard to Sara, who is one of our great Front Office team members.
Please, be informed that we have transmitted your comments to her and shared them also with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Gran Meliá Rome to let you continue your unique experience in the historical heart of the Eternal City...

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia Rome
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed for four nights last week, for the first time, and really enjoyed our stay in both Rome, and the Gran Melia.

A former convent, the 19th century building has been brought right up to date, with a very stylish and modern renovation. The huge rooms, especially in and around reception (coupled with the air conditioning) made it a lovely place to be - especially with the temperature nearly 40 degrees outside every day.

The staff were all fantastic, and couldn't do enough to suggest and book restaurants for us, and help us get the best from our short stay, probably the best front of house service we have ever had.

The room was lovely, and the beds / pillows etc. extremely large and comfortable, and the shower was THE BEST.

Given that the hotel has only been open for around 4 months, I expected more niggles, but apart from some occasionally slow service for drinks round the pool (they were still building the bar area when we were there), you really can't fault the place.

Drinks and food are expensive though, and I would like faster service when paying €18 per drink in the evening, but I really can't think of anywhere more lovely to spend a hot, balmy evening than round the poolside at the Gran Melia.

Room Tip: Beware a room at the far end of the corridor (we had 409) - rooom was fantastic, but the wifi didn...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CadillacJukebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

we are extremely pleased to learn about your stay at our Luxury Urban Resort.

We are glad that you enjoyed the building's facilities and appreciated the quality of our room equipments.
Our main gratification comes out your lovely comments about the personnel service, professionalism and attitude.

It is extremely important for us to have been able to transmit you our passion for service and show our first commitment, which is turning our guests' stays into unforgettable experiences...

Awaiting to welcome you back at Gran Meliá Rome soon to let you continue your experience with us...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed at the Gran Melia Rome, the first part of June 2012. Hotel is in a great location, walking distance to the Vatican. Hotel has a very modern feel. Deluxe rooms were a nice size. The pool area was inviting and relaxing....you would never think you were in a big city. There is also a first class spa on site. Staff was very cordial and concierge very helpful with sightseeing and dining suggestions. A great getaway whereas you can still experience the hustle and bustle of the wonderful city of Rome, but come back to a beautiful, relaxing resort feel hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slrnstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing the positve experience you lived at the new Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina: a luxury Urban Resort in the historical heart of such a unique city like Rome...

We are glad to realize that you appreciated our magnificent building and our facilities, like the Spa, which is an intimate and refined corner where to relax.

We are particularly grateful about your remarks as to our staff professionalism and attitude, since we daily work with passion for our job and with the only aim to guarantee our guests' satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the future during your next visits to the Eternal City...

Kindest regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Gran Melia is an excellent hotel in a great location, it has a fantastic pool and the rooms are modern, clean and spacious. However the one problem that the gran melia has is the less than average service, particularly poolside where the staff are un attentive, and your drinks orders are quite often forgotten. In fact there is no poolside service, you have to go up to the bar area to order drinks, which in a 5 star hotel isn't acceptable, and even when you do order a drink, it may not even arrive (it happened at least twice). The poolside / bar staff do not seem to have a brief, and are un attentive and disinterested, especially to those guests around the pool. With a beer costing 12 euros you would think they would want to push sales ? When you do try and sign your bar bill, we found the tab had been closed for us and a signature wasnt required ?

We paid extra for the red level service, the red level service staff were very helpful and knowledgeable and helped us book 2 great restaurants in Rome during our stay. In our opinion is very much worth the extra euros.

Tip, part of the red level service is access to the poolside cabanas which are great protection from the sun, particularly in July. What we weren't told is that you can 'reserve them' so one day we had to sit on the normal loungers (not a problem at all) unfortunately the 'guest' who reserved one of the cabanas didn't turn up all day. However the life guard on duty did allow us first refusal on the next cabana that became available, which we were very grateful for.

Gran Melia, please sort out your waiting / bar staff, and we will be back, but those paying 5 star prices want 5 star service.

Room Tip: God for the 'red level' access when you book
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for reporting us the recent experience you lived at Gran Meliá Rome.
Our guests's opinions are extremely significant to us because they help us to monitor the quality standards we aim to offer and to further improve them, so to reach our main objective: let you live unforgettable moments!

We are glad to realize that you enjoyed and aprreciated our exclusive RedLevel service but we regret that you did not fully enjoy the pool one.
Please, be advised that we shared your comments with the mentioned department and we provided to put them at the attention of the Management to take the appropriate actions and improve it.

Thanking you again for your important feedback, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in our Luxury Urban Resort, at the occasion of your next visit to Rome...

We will be waiting for you...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent four great nites there. Had two rooms, one for me and my husband and 11 year old son, and another for our teen daughters. We got the " Red level" for ourselves which included the breakfasts. We took our daughters to breakfast and they let them join us no problem! The spa experience was a treasure and we couldn't wait to get back to the hotel after a day of walking around Rome to go thru the spa process- free to red level. The pool was very nice also. There are just so many great amenities can't mention them all!! Yes, it was very pricy, but it made wonderful memories.

The Vatican was a quick walk and we did take our time and walk from the Pantheon back to the hotel. It was a good way to burn all the calories from lunch.

The staff was great !!

If you're looking for a place to unwind and enjoy the beauty of Rome, the Gran Melia is the place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loveromaforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

it is a great pleasure for us to realize that you and your family lived such a great experience with us!

Thank you for your positive feedback about our exclusive RedLevel service, expressly conceived to make you live unforgettable moments through high quality service, special amenities and above all our warm staff's attention!
We feel just glad and grateful that you felt all this!

We will be waiting for your for your next visit to Rome, where we will do our best to let your unique experience continue...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was my first visit to Rome and after hours of looking I plumped for the Gran Melia, and the hotel was fantastic.

On arrival our bags were taken from us and put into our room, we were in a Superior room, which was beautifully and tastefully decorated with a fabulous bathroom/dressing area.

The hotel is very central to all of the sites and the bars/restaurents and the pool area was just the thing after a day checking out Rome. There were always plenty of sun loungers and the bar staff were very attentive in bringing drinks over.

On an evening we had a couple of cocktails at the pool bar before heading out and again the service was excellent and when we got back to the hotel on an evening after a night out, the staff were always very polite and good for a laugh, it was lovely to visit a hotel where the staffs personality shone through, rather than the usual robotic style staff you see in hotels

I will definitely visit this hotel again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

I wish to heartily thank you for the lovely comments about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome.

We are extremely glad to know that you lived a lovely experience with us, appreciating both our service and staff attitude and professionalism.
We daily work to transmit our passion for job and, above all, to make our guests's stays unforgettable ones... That is why your satisfaction is really meaningful for us and makes us fell pleased and proud. Thank you!

Looking forward to welcoming you soon in the heart of the Eternal City....

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Gran Melia Rome. We were delighted with our stay.
The entire crew deserve a special recognition for their service and their willingness to make you feel happy and arrange everything possible to make your stay a wonderful one, without faking. This makes a huge difference.
All the property is great, clean and quite (bed in room is very comfortable as well).Free wifi everywhere, good speed. Taking the breakfast near the pool but in the shadow is a treat, the wonderful pastries, nice coffee (all sorts) etc.
Music throughout the hotel can be annoying sometimes but it is very minor detail.
We did not have lunch or dinner at the hotel as we wanted to enjoy more authentic Italian restaurant. Trestavere is walking distance and city center, just a taxi ride.
We’ll go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JC_PARIS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for transmitting your feedback about your stay in our Luxury Urban Resort.

As our main object is to fulfill our guests’s expectations, we pay much attention to their opinions as an important feedback about the service we provide, and especially to further improve it and make your journey a real experience…

We are pleased to realize that you had an enjoyable stay with us while visiting the Eternal City, where we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $281 - $889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing