We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK food, super confusing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Fish Market - CLOSED

Fish Market
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“OK food, super confusing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was a really interesting evening that was anything but a relaxing restaurant experience. It was quite busy and we ended up at a table where the wait staff brushes past the back of my head every few seconds.

The order process was thankfully explained to us in English, but still made little sense. So many unnecessary steps! First you use the paper order form on your table and tick what you want from there. Then you go to the fish counter to tell them what fresh fish you want, then you go to the bar to see what drinks you want, then you line up at till to give them your paper, tell them what fresh fish you ordered and what drinks you want, then you pay and get given drink tickets, then you go back to the bar to collect your drinks.

The food was OK. It wasn't super tasty or fresh but it was alright.

One of our starters was missed and we were told to go back to the til who gave us a refund no questions asked. I'm suspecting it's quite a frequent occurance.

Overall verdict - not worth the hassle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaLaLauraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    230
    217
    204
    219
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh fish indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The fish market is a particular experience you should try if finding yourself in Rome. It's not your typical restaurant and if you're going with a bunch of snobs you'll be disappointed but it's definitely one of the best fish restaurants in the city. It's almost self service, you pay when you order but it has really good prices for those of you who don't want to spend half a salary for a fish dinner. The food is excellent, you chose your fish (which is still moving by the way) and they'll cook it for you. The setting really reminds you of an actual fish market. Service is not very good but at least it's fast so you might want to order the second course after you finished the first, otherwise they might bring it all at the same time. Definitely book ahead. Did I mention the food is great?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruxandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“do not go!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went twice to this place,the first time I enjoyed the new feel and new way of handling things...you have to pay befor you can order! Thought it was something different...but the next day I felt sick!

The second time,I did not enjoy it AT ALL,the garcon bringing us wine was very rude and unhelpfull! we went with a group of 15 and 8 of us was sick the next 3 days,all 8 of us had the TRITTICO!

It was crouded,cold,and the food was not good!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l-f-s-francois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What the hell.....!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We-same group of old friends- visited again the premise for the first time again after summer, when our review was enthusiastic....
Something is changing ...maybe because of the refurbishing of the bar area?
In a few words the "cartocci" with the fried stuff were visibly much smaller, though the quality of food in general was always very, very good, but what now unpleasantly strikes is the service: every single dish was literally thrown in a haste in the first free corner of the table and to order some wine, water or bread, yo have to " intercept" one of the only two waiters attending the numerous tables. We understand that in moments of economical crisis something has to be done, but restrictions to the cuts, especially in services, should be seriously considered.
Stay tuned: another chance will be given in a couple of months....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bibisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not your standard Roma meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Found this one night looking for something other than pasta and pizza. Very busy, full of locals. Once you get a table you order and pay at the cashier. Food is delivered on baking sheets. BIG servings! We ordered way too much. Cod (?) was delicious, baby calamari was the best I have ever had. Should have skipped the salad and fries. If you want wine you have to go to the little bar to be served and pay separately. Service is waitresses running the food to tables, don't expect much. It was odd the way they set up but we enjoyed our meal and left happy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KathrynMc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing