We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Tour In Rome by Tour in the City tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Tour In Rome by Tour in the City
from $96.90
More Info
Reviews (2,208)
Filter reviews
2,072 results
Traveler rating
1,607
359
81
13
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,607
359
81
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skip the line roman forum third ring third tier palatine hill general public arena floor pre book audio guide meeting point ticket office small group city wonders tickets euros structure info
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,072 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

We booked online via trip advisor on the morning and was pleasantly surprised. The instructions on how to find the office were clear and relatively simple. They were clear to see on the ticket. We arrived 30 mins early as requested. I can see why as they departed 15 minutes prior to tour time so that we could get an exterior look and then get to the skip the line. Which was great as no line at all. Flamenia (sp) was brilliant, she has great English and was very thorough. We had the Colosseum tour and then Palentine hill and the roman forum. Highly recommended

Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed today

When arriving at the office for the tour the staff were friendly and accommodating, even though we had arrived a little late, we took the option to upgrade to a private tour with our own personal guide, it turned out to be a brilliant day full of information, stories and history that we wouldn't have got if we hadn't booked ahead with this agency! 5 Star experience!

Thank 670louisppk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had tour on Livitaly that was cancelled due to closing of Colosseum because of high winds. Guide was not very informative so not too disappointed. Rebooked on Tours in the City. Our guide was Timotea (sp) and she was fantastic. She is an archeologist and so is very knowledgeable but more importantly she enjoys conveying that information to the tour members. Who knew that Romans kept their thumb in their closed fist in they voted for life?
PS As previous reviewers mentioned, the meeting place is hard to find. You must go up the stairs just inside the metro station, turn right and go straight ahead over small overpass. Office is on left.

Thank Eileen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only possible reason to sign up for this is to avoid the hassle of buying Forum/Palatine tickets. We left the office at 11, walked for 20 minutes to the Palatine (the guide must be training for the Olympics, since he kept up a pace that had us gasping for air while he never looked around), & had a total of 40 minutes with him before he left us. During this time we had a very brief walk on the Palatine, a very brief stop at the Basilica of Constantine & Maxentius, & then he left, saying that we were on our own to explore. He never told us that we would need an additional ticket for the special places on both Palatine & Forum, which really upset us.

As others have said, finding the office for this place is a nightmare. Even our trusty GPS failed us; luckily we'd gotten to the area in plenty of time to finally arrive.

Thank TexasClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent experience! The tour was interesting, I learned a lot of things. The guide Manuel was super nice and tried to pay attention to the smallest details. He answered all out questions.

Thank 475kristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Must see..great tour guide Simona. Very knowledgeable and friendy. 5 Star rating.

Very informative tour and totally worth the price. Great bang for your buck.

Thank Mehernosh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this before we left the U.K. so we knew we were on the tour. The tour of the Colosseum was good and the guide was very informative. The tour itself lasted maybe 75 minutes and was packed with information but also a bit of hanging about waiting to get in etc. The Tour in the City Office was hard to find and don’t rely on a Rome taxi driver as he will just drop you anywhere and scarper. Unlike other Skip the Line tours this one is not situated near the Colosseum and is a convoluted walk through a metro station, up a hill and across a bridge........then you have to find their office. We were late so had to pay an extra €25 per person (€75) and wait for the next tour. BEWARE. They say its timed and strict and they mean it. Overall I would say that it was not worth all the money we paid (and we paid A LOT) and might not even be worth the original amount we paid before they added the late fee. It might be worth standing in line for a regular ticket and getting a guide book and doing it at your own pace.

Thank DBS1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tour In The City, or as it also likes to be known, Fun Tours should be avoided. Skip the line tour booked including Palatine Hill & Forum. Struggled to find details of where to meet from the tour company. The address given was wrong. A guy selling hop on hop off tickets in the street,who we asked out of desperation after searching for this place for 25 mins said he worked for them gave another address, also wrong. 3rd person also claiming work for this tour company said try the Coloseum!! Went to the venue. Utter madness and chaos. No signs, no indications of entrances, nothing. Yet another tour guide said try the office 'up that way'. 'Up that way' was were we finally found the office. We were about five minutes from the deadline to start the tour having walked for over an hour around Rome. Told by the rep that we were too late. Tour had already late. Tried to point out that there was still 5 mins to go but none interested in our plight. Told to sit and wait. What for? No idea. 5 other disgruntled punters are also waiting. Same problem as us. Tour rep flits in and out. No info. No apology. Nothing. Finally, another 30mins later she say's she might be able to get us on another tour but it will cost us 50euros!! She 'might' be able to arrange a 'free' tour of the Forum, Palatine Hill but we have to pay 50 euros as well. Having already paid 50 euros for this tour I find the offer both insulting and predatory. There is no offer of reimbursement. No apologies. The tour rep can speak good english and understands what we are all saying about the misinformation but doesn't seem to care. No one takes her up on the 'kind' offer and we all leave. Complete rip-off. Have nothing to do with this company. If it were possible I would rate them -10.

Thank Frederick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a party of 4 on our first trip to Rome. This company was recommended by the USO since they didn't have availability for a tour of the Vatican. Our guide was Maria, she was very knowledgeable, funny and kind. We had enough time to view the grounds and didn't feel rushed. Would definetly recommend using skip the line and this tour group if you plan to visit. The lines were hours long to get in. Also the history to the area would of been missed unless you were well versed.

Thank worldwide04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We absolutely loved Daniella and highly recommend the guided Colosseum tour! She was very personable and knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor!
Thanks Daniella for making the Colosseum come alive for us.

Thank Zahrak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews