We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ...”

Rome Coliseum Guided Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.82*
and up
Skip the Line: Colosseum Official Guided Tour - Entrance Fee Included
More Info
$58.55*
and up
Skip the Line: Colosseum, Palatine Hill and Roman Forum Official Guided Tour...
More Info
$86.03*
and up
Skip the Line: Early Morning Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel
Ranked #60 of 802 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitto various city sights, museums, galleries can be arranged for special interest parties on demand, as well as excursions to out of town sites. Licensed multilingual guide lecturers for standard city tours, specialized itineraries and out of town excursions are available.
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent ...”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a must when visiting Rome. We booked through tickitaly and although it seemed organised chaos to start with (there were no clear visible signs at first to see where you had to line up .... it's the 2 arches facing the road). There is now scaffolding in place due to cleaning.

If you book through this operative then you must ensure you are there on time for your tour as they will not wait. We lined up at 11.00 am (tour at 12 noon) and one of the organisers told us to come back at 12, I tried to explain that our tour was at 12 but she was not having any of it. The booking form also advises you to ensure you are there 30 mins before during the week and 60 mins at the weekend Her attitude was terrible (obviously got out of bed the wrong way) so being a woman of substance I took no notice and came back at 11.30 and we were let in to line up to exchange our ticket. If we had not have done this we would have missed the tour as there was a queue to obtain our tickets. The ticket also includes The Forum and Palatine Hill.

We did the upper and lower level tour and it was fantastic ...... when we got home we had to watch Gladiator again to visualise it. !!

Take water and a hat as there is no shade at all and there are also some steps to the lower and upper levels.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SammersSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,515
    366
    80
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phenix City, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“History!!!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was the trip of a lifetime. I am so lucky that I was able to see such historic landmarks! Beautiful and breathtaking. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and funny! I hope that I can visit again one day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good views of Rome.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great views of Rome, but lots of stairs. Be prepared. It may be that I was there on a day that was over 90 degrees, but I was exhausted after. Bring water with you. The ruins are beautiful and I would suggest taking a tour with a guide as the information they give is very interesting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked a tour with Viator from the UK before we went to Rome. The Colloseum was great & very interesting also the Roman Forum was included. They are both worth seeing & a must for Rome. The Viator guide was good but a little to informative!. She was a teacher & was typical teacher as in showing us pictures that she had brought with her of how parts of the Colloseum & Forum looked before. But in the heat it was a little to much info. We did go back to the Forum on our own to see the rest as to much to see in one day & enjoyed it.
A must to see when in Rome!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank minkyhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What an awesome experience!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I went on a 3.5 hr wlaking tour led by our tour guide, Bruno. He was very knowledgable and with walkie talkies in tow, were able to follow and listen to him describe the rich history of the surrounding area. The colosseum is an absolutely awesome sight to see, even better once you're in it. Going on a tour allowed us to skip the very long lines and then we got led around Palentine Hill which doesn't seem like much but has far more than meet's the eye. Walking around and learning about all the ruins and sights is amazing and a great introduction to what Rome has to offer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rome Coliseum Guided Tours also viewed

 

Been to Rome Coliseum Guided Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing