We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warning!! No longer exists here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Gino e Antonio - CLOSED

Da Gino e Antonio
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ghetto
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warning!! No longer exists here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

WARNING! Da Gino e Antonio's no longer exists! Have no idea where it went in such a short time?! It seems like someone was there just a short while ago ... Very surprised!!

Went there after looking at the reviews on tripadvisor. Tried the restaurant in its place (Roma Mia - Arte & Cucina) and it was obviously not ready to entertain yet .... Half the menu was unavailable, and no credit cards accepted, despite the credit card sign on the door. Most of these things were told to us after the fact. The waiter was trying his best (offered a glass of white on the house) and the food was decent and inexpensive but took a very long time. Would not recommend a visit in its current shape and form, but I hope it gets better, as we could see this being a really good little restaurant, with some better management.

If anyone knows what happened to Gino e Antonio, please enlighten us!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Misha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an amazing find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We ate here on our last night in Rome and it was such a fantastic way to end the holiday. A true experience, and a delicious one at that.

The restaurant is hidden away in a corner of a small square with no other restaurants and bars. Very easy to miss. Once inside, you feel like you've stepped into someone's home, and are made to feel very welcome. We were immediately greeted with a glass of Proseco (on the house) and some very tasty Tuscan salami. There is no English menu, we don't speak Italian and Gino doesn't speak English. Also, there doesn't appear to be a wine list... So, Gino chose the dishes and wines for us. The mixed antipasto was delicious and very generous in size and so was the courgette lasagne. By then we were too full to eat anything else which was a shame. Having had the wines, which were excellent, chosen for us we were quite nervous about the bill. But, it turned out to be the cheapest (and the best) wine we had had all holiday. I'm now dreaming of going back to Rome to visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this inconspicuous restaurant in a side road off the Jewish quarter. Although the staff couldn't speak English, we were given sufficient help with our order. We started off with some beautiful, fresh mozzarella and beef carpaccio which was delicious. I ordered spaghetti with meatballs for my main course and my partner ordered zucchini lasagne. Both dishes were cooked to perfection and extremely tasty. When we finished our meal, we were given a lemon liquor and some small biscuits on the house. The bill arrived and we couldn't believe that the total only came to 35 euros! The impeccable service, highly quality food and superb ambiance meant that we had a great experience at this authentic restaurant. We will definitely return and won't hesitate to recommend others to pay a visit! For those of you who want to avoid a tourist trap, you must come here!

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We came on a chilly night in december, and could not have wanted a warmer welcome. We left the choice of our menu and wine to them and it was fantastic! We felt well pampered. Warmly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maarten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Like finding long-lost family in Rome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

While traveling through Italy, we tried to find places to eat that were not being frequented by tourists. Da Gino e Antonio was an exceptional experience in Italian hospitality and wonderful food!

When we arrived, the door was locked, but Gino himself opened the door, waved us in, sat us down and took care of us for the evening. He gave us menus, and then took them away. After confirming that we were hungry, he proceeded to bring us course after course of amazing food and wine.

We were served the best Prosciutto and melon of the entire trip. Squash blossoms with ricotta and honey were light, decadent and delicious! The pasta was perfectly cooked cacio e pepe, and the best lasagna any of us have ever had on the planet! The biscotti (wafer-like chocolate chip) were fresh from the oven.

We ended the night with lots of cheek kisses, hugs and talk of the art on the walls (keep in mind, Gino spoke no English, and we spoke no Italian). Gino even pulled Antonio out of the kitchen to meet us.

After walking out, our group all agreed that we felt like we just made friends for life--they just happened to be amazing chefs and we'd definitely be back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing