We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like your breakfast in a plastic bag....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Gazometro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Gazometro
Ranked #3,069 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you like your breakfast in a plastic bag....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in September with a KGB voucher, for the price we couldn't expect anymore, but I certainly wouldn't pay full price. This is basically a 2 bed flat which has been converted into a 3 bed unserviced b&b in a commercial building (dentist next door).

The front door is unmanageable unless you have a strong man with you to force it open. No one was there to meet us when we arrived, after about 5 phone calls the cleaner turned up to let us in, this was the last time we seen him in the 5 days we were there. The breakfast consisted of a soggy pan eu chocolat in a plastic bag and some sort of sponge cake, also in a plastic bag. There's a kitchen with a coffee machine which worked twice in the time we were there. One of the mornings we had no breakfast left out at all and nothing in the cupboards.

Our room was really big and the bed was comfy enough, however, the en suite shower room was so small that you had to sit on the toilet to have a shower. It also smelled of sewage if you closed the door or little vent window.

We were the only residents all week so we had a look in the other rooms, the big bath shown in the pictures is surrounded by black mould, both rooms although vacated were untidy and the beds remained unmade with the last residents sheets up until the day we left.

The area isn't the best, it takes about 10 mins to walk to the train station and at night the streets are quite dark. On our first day we stopped at a little cafe for a slice of pizza, however, the local drunks decided to have a fight right outside. They were hanging around all day drinking large bottles of peroni.

We walked into Trastevere one day which took about 20 minutes, well worth it as the square is lovely.

If you are visiting Rome however, be sure to book a night time segway tour....now that was an amazing experience!.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I do not normally write reviews but feel i have to warn people. The pictures are not what the rooms look like (other than the front door view). It is in a building that is shared with other businesses etc and they have a room on the first floor. It really didn't feel safe and the area it is within didn't either. The only positive is that it has good rail links nearby - but good luck if you leave or arrive in the dark!. The rooms are not designed to give you privacy and the 'en suite' that we were shown could not fit in two people. Trying to get hold of the owner is near impossible as well - don't expect replies from emails.
I usually take bad reviews with a pinch of salt and tend to make my own mind up but I really thought I should warn people of this. I hadn't paid full price as I had a deal from a website but ended up having to pay again for a hotel that made me feel safe!

Room Tip: Hotel Cicerone was in an excellent location and good value - especially if booked through Booking.co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireColley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

great location near Ostiense railway and also Piramide Metro station
breakfast was help yourself which meant you didnt have to get up at a certain time
Mattea met us at the staion when we arrived and it was 5-10mins to B & B
We had a KGB voucher for this holiday and it was amazing value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michlemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We purchased a voucher for this hotel through KGB deals and it was a really pleasant stay. The owner Mattio is very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were nice and clean, all with air conditioning and free Wifi. The breakfast was OK, but there could have been more choice.
The hotel is very well located, just a 5-10 minute walk to the Pyramide metro station and Ostiense train station, and if you fly into Fiumicino, you can take the metropolitan train straight to Ostiense from the airport.
The restaurants and bars close by are much cheaper than those in the centre of Rome and there's a very nice cocktail bar across the road called Gran Caffe Imperiale.
When we were due to leave, all the public transport was on strike, and Mattio was very helpful by arranging us a taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Very friendly people. Guy asked me to ring him once we landed and he kept check on us guiding us every few minutes as we told him that it was our first time in Rome. He even came to pick us up once we reached at the station. Good sized room with air conditioning and ensuite bathroom. Good breakfast with help your self basis. No time restriction for breakfast. Get up late if you are tired and help your self with the breakfast. Close to the Piramide metro station and only two stops way from cllossium. Will definately go back again. Windows in the room are quad glazed with balck out blinds to give you comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

This little B&B is just off the beaten path. It is truely a wonderful little B&B. Easy 3 minute walk to the Praminade Station, that will give you access to the whole station. Which is far enough away from the tourist attractions that you can find stores with descent prices (Iced Tea near the collussium runs close to 6 Euros, near this B&B its less than 2 Euros), but close enough that you can still get to just about anywhere without a car. By a day pass for the subway and you'll save. The Colussium is 2 maybe 3 stops from the Praminade station making it easy access. The Vatican is alittle further away, but also easily reachable by subway. Extremely friendly people that run this place, they offered to help give me a ride to the airport so I wouldn't have to pay the 10 Euro train ride. I declined only because my flight was very early in the morning. Clean room, family type atmosphere, you can sit and eat and socialize with other guest. This is the place I'm always staying at when I go to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travelbound13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,571 of 3,734 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
San Lorenzo
B&B Stay at Rome
B&B Stay at Rome
#1,734 of 3,734 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#374 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#287 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Gazometro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Gazometro

Property: B&B Gazometro
Address: Via del Gazometro 19, 00154 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio , Ostiense
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,069 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming B&B is situated near the city centre in "zona Ostiense" now one of the most trendy areas of Rome.All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioned, TV and Internet connection ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing