We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish restaurant with delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Romano

Cafe Romano
Ranked #2,277 of 12,044 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Description: With its chic alfresco seating on Via Borgogna, Café Romano brings together classic and modern influences to create a unique equilibrium - a restaurant whose cosmopolitan style, elegant ambiance, select wines and unforgettable food is designed to be savoured day and night. The perfect location for people watching and light lunch after a morning's shopping or a relaxed dinner and drinks with friends, Café Romano's central location makes it the ideal city meeting point.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stylish restaurant with delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Like one of the previous reviewers, me and my husband also came to this restaurant twice in three days! First time around we had pasta allamatriciana and lasagna. Second time around zucchini flowers with ricotta, caesar salad with prawns and pasta with cheese and black pepper. This restaurant is in a great location near the Spanish steps, but on a more quiet street. The decor is beautiful - modern setting, tables outside, fresh flowers. Food is refined yet traditional. Quality ingredients and excellent cooking. Service is reasonable - waiters try hard but when it is busy they get distracted. Slightly more pricy than other similar quality restaurants but appropriate for the location. Overall, this is a restaurant where you can have delicious food in stylish surroundings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Sabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    44
    14
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Twice is NICE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I have been traveling the world for 21 years and we always use a guide for our restaurant selection. We generally only visit a restaurant once a trip because we have so many we want to try - but we could not resist two times at Romano! Marco and his team won us over for lunch and then we had to come back the next night for dinner. Our best in Rome!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LouAnne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Whilst staying at the hotel we had dinner at the restaurant, which is also used for breakfast. The service was exceptional with Marco and his team making us feel welcome and made sure we want for nothing neither in terms of service or food. The food was exceptional, whilst it is not cheap, it is appropriately priced for its location and compared to some similarly located hotels was of far better quality not only in terms of service by Marcos team but by the food produced by the kitchen. A must for any traveller whether staying at the hotel or not.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeonardoF710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning food excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were staying at the hotel. Part of our honeymoon and decided to eat at the hotel restaurant. I highly recommend a visit to this restaurant! The staff, particularly Marco who's personality was outstanding and who was attentive during a busy service making us we always had everything we needed, were friendly professional and were determined to make our experience special particularly as it was our honeymoon break. This combined with excellent food and wine made the experience an unforgettable meal we were determined to repeat! Something we did the next day but this time for lunch! We were greater again by exceptional staff and Angela was on hand and attentive to our needs despite us sitting outside and it being a busy lunchtime. If you are not staying at this hotel make sure you take time for a little treat and visit this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank claireo542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GANLLWYD
1 review
“A Romantic Christmas Eve Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I wanted to give my wife as a present a romantic dinner at “Café Romano”.
As we arrived there we’ve been welcomed very kindly, and when we sat down we’ve been offered a glass of prosecco as a welcome drink.
We’ve spent a beautiful evening, and during the dinner we’ve been followed and cuddled by the waiters.
The showpiece of the evening was the turbot and cuttlefish loin with comfit tomatoes and broccoli pie… really delightful!
The service was perfect, absolutely recommended: I will certainly return there!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reece S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Romano also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing