We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castel Sant'Angelo”
Review of Apartments Apart

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apartments Apart
Ranked #940 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have traveled many places around the world and I have experienced many different hotels and places to stay and this apartment and the company are at the bottom of my list. We stayed at the Castel Sant'Angelo in Rome. Where to begin. First of all the description included air conditioning. There are air conditioning units in the apartment but they are non functioning. Not good for June in Rome. The heat in the apartment was miserable. We called the office and had 2 different "technicians" come and look. Niether of which spoke a word of English so I still dont know what the problem was. The office finally stated they could not fix the problem. I understand things break but what was really frustrating was their lack of support to do anything for us to help us fix the situation. Basically they just said too bad it doesnt work. I asked for a discount or anything to help remedy this situation. They offered me only my 20Euro payment for the baby crib back (which we reserved ahead of time but was not available until our second day here..making it real fun with an 18month old to run free) and our 15Euro internet.(oh and the internet only works in the room you have the router plugged in to.
Secondly the description is a "Romantic and Quiet" Neighborhood. Well only if honking horns, noisy ambulances and businesses opening their doors right outside your window is your idea of Romantic and quiet . I realize we are in Rome but maybe they need to rethink their description. Nevertheless who can think about being Romantic in an apartment that is 100 degrees inside.
The apartment itself looks nice but one walk across the floors in your white socks and you are throwing them in the garbage. We actually went out and purchased a mop because the floors were so dirty.
There are beautiful light fixtures in the apartment but many of them are missing bulbs and on the subject of things not working if you want to take a cold bath (you wouldnt want a hot one in this heat) in your jacuzzi tub be prepared the jets dont work either.
So all in all I would highly advise you to stay clear of the Apartments apart and their miserable apartments and terrible management.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marykaycrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Apartments Apart
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 25 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

The apartment felt like a cave as there is no direct light. It is hard to tell whether it is day or night. There are windows but they face an interior corridor with dimmed glass. There are strong odours and noise during lunch time and evening hours from the restaurant immediately below. There was a water leakage in the bathroom with a constant dripping on the floor. No one answered the repeated phone calls about the problem despite calling all the three numbers provided. The apartment is in a poor general condition with electricity wiring from the 1930s. Overall, I'd say that was the worst place I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Avoid this company!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Jacque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Overall, we thought this wasn't worth the 220 Euros we paid...

I will start with the positives though- the appartment is conviniently located for those who wish to explore the old city including the Colloseum which is practially next door... For those going elsewhere the metro is only 5 mins away... Generally the area around the appartment is well developed with the restaurants and shops in abundance.However, the appartment itself is generally run down and not well maintained. The beds looked shabby, linen was rather cheap. Drainages in both showers were not clean and it usually took quite a bit of time for the water to disappear... The wall paint throughout the appartment need some serious refreshing, as there is quite a bit of staining... The third floor was not the easiest to climb even with only two suitcases we had... Won't stay there again...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caledonian_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our apt was called "Bella Vista", on the fifth floor (yes, elevator available) of an ordinary building in Rome. View from balcony was beautiful, similar to the view from Spanish Steps, only from a different angle and with a few minor obstructions. Location was great: walking distance to main train station, walking distance to Colosseum, walking distance to supermarkets ("Tuodi", "Conad", and "Sma"). Light brown linoleum floors were easy to keep clean. Laundry machine in the bathroom was a great boon, as I had planned on finding a laundromat outside. Furnishings very convenient: cutting board, knives, bowls, pots, pans, double boiler for pasta in kitchen; collapsible rack for drying clothes, bed low enough for toddler to climb into with us, bidet in bathroom that toddler used as her own personal sink instead. Luckily, we could not figure out how to operate the TV, and that resulted in higher enjoyment of family time. Windows are on two sides of the unit, so wind blows through very very nicely if you want; light comes in very cleanly, too, making the space bright if you draw back the drapery and shutters. It was really very pretty. Kitchen sink is stainless steel, double-basin. Stove is gas range with oven. Microwave oven is there too, for your leftovers. Good gosh, I wish we were still there.

Room Tip: You must try to pick a unit that is in walking distance from the local ApartmentsApart office, becau...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank naomisdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed for a week in Italy with Apartments Apart's flat called Tiziano on Via Urbana 33. It had two rooms, plenty of storage space and sufficient kitchen /cooking facilities for preparing snacks etc as they described on their website. However, the accomodation had windows in both lounge area and bedroom but the bedroom window looked out on to a dark wall and the lounge window looked out to the neigohbours flats and you could never open the windows to get sufficient light or air without feeling as though you are sharing your living room space. I would not recommend choosing this accomodation with Apartments apart on the basis that it does feel very claustrophobic. The additional blankets and pillows left were not very clean and had no linen covers on them so very dissapointed as they advertise it as an apartment to fit 4...we were were travelling with two small toddlers. Our internet wifi also failed to work and when we called them they said they would check to see if they had any other wifi plugs available but we didnt hear back from them. However we needed to stay till 12.30 on our day of departure and they accomodated this easily. However the apartment was clean and tidy. My main reason for staying with this apartment is that it was the only one left with air conditioning and pretty central to Ancient Rome.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you check whether the windows exist!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuchiOki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at Monti one bedroom apartment. This was a small older apartment, but the bathroom had been recently renovated. Double bed plus sofa style bed in lounge area - this was perfect for us as it allowed our daughter to be sleeping in one room whilst we could be in the other talking or watching TV. Having the kitchen was fantastic. A reasonable selection of cooking utensils were provided, however the knives were a little blunt. Apartment was tidy and well located to access Colesseum, Roman Forum, via Nazionale, etc. We enjoy exploring on foot, and found it reasonable even to walk to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Vatican, etc from the apartment. Also well positioned to access public transport.
We used the airport pick up service offered by Apartments Apart - maybe a little pricey at about 60 euro for 3 pax (??), but worth every penny when arriving in the evening after a long haul flight with a sleeping 2 year old!! Driver was waiting for us as promised in arrivals hall despite a lengthy delay for our flight processing through immigration. The driver took us directly to the apartment as it was after office hours. The next day we walked to Apartments Apart office (probably 15-20 minutes walk) to complete check in procedure. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Check out was easy - simply leave key in apartment (no need to return to office).
Highly recommend this apartment for couples or small families, and also highly recommend the accommodation agency (Apartments Apart) for reasonably priced central accommodation in Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_I_Am_All_4_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This set of apartments was probably one of the worst places I have ever stayed in. Firstly, there was no one really to show us in to the apartments. We had to check in at the local office located quite a distance from the apartment itself to sort out the payments, rules, maps etc. The lady kindly suggested we catch the Metro to a stop which was at least 3 times the distance to the apartment from the next stop i.e. the Colosseum, so we arrived feeling much more exhausted than we should have been. Also due to the numbering system, one side of the road is numbered consecutively and completely different to the other side of the road which is only in odd numbers so if you were looking at the wrong side, you could be easily confused, especially since the door to the apartment is not very obvious. Again this place did not have any lifts, but luckily we only had to go up two flights of stairs. The place was quite warm and consisted of two separate bedrooms with double beds and one sofa bed. The beds were relatively comfortable and there did not appear to be any signs of a rodent or insect infestation. One of the bedrooms did not have a working bulb so we had to call the office to get that replaced. Also some of the electrical sockets in the place were not working properly and looked downright dangerous with wires poking out. The kettle was also faulty and did not boil water even though it looked like it had. Unfortunately it was not replaced for us at the same time the light bulb was replaced even though we expressly requested it. Some of the kitchenware was really dirty, especially the espresso maker, and looked like no one had cleaned it for ages. The tea-towel we got was very bad quality and tatty and left bits of material all over any surface you wiped with it. The place came with a washing machine but no dryer. Unfortunately, there was not really a good line we could use to dry our washing so we had to improvise with venetian blind drawstrings, the ladder, and broom! Also the place had a really low capacity fuse as we plunged into a blackout on our second morning when we had the washing machine, hairdryer and TV going at the same time. This necessitated another expensive callout to the office to replace the blown fuse. Another problem with this place was the hot water running out quickly, even though we all had short showers. Finally to cap things off, there was no Wifi like the other places we had stayed in. Overall, this place was bad news, and we only chose it for its location close to the Colosseum, good pricing, and capacity. Definitely would not recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lamca274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#303 of 1,267 in Rome
854 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#257 of 1,267 in Rome
1,302 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#102 of 1,267 in Rome
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#219 of 1,267 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mondial
Hotel Mondial
#320 of 1,267 in Rome
1,209 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#99 of 1,267 in Rome
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Apart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Apart

Address: Via Torino 135, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #940 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing