We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing....especially on honeymoon”
Review of Deko Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deko Rome
Ranked #5 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing....especially on honeymoon”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We went to Italy on our honeymoon. For the Rome portion of our trip, we wanted to stay somewhere in the top 5 hotels to make sure we would have an enjoyable experience. I searched Trip Advisor, Hotels.com, Expedia.come, etc. and Deko kept coming up in the top 5 or top 10 on all of them. All guests didn't have anything bad to say. I'm usually the guy to balance affordability and value for our money. There were up to 5 negative reviews but they seemed a little bogus. I noted a what some of these complaints were and while we were there, I realized they really were bogus. For example, someone complained about the air conditioning not working and they complained at the front desk but it was never addressed. BOGUS! The description did not even match hotel layout or how anything worked. Beware of some bogus one-off reviews....

Hotel Deko was by far the best choice we made, hands down. It's a smaller hotel with 6-7 rooms and you don't get lost with the other guests. The rooms were great---we even got upgraded to the suite for free because it was our honeymoon! Marco or Serena are always around and are on point. They have reservations at a few different restaurants held in case you want to go out, and those restaurants are top notch! We even went our of our way to come back to Rome on our leg out of Italy to go back to Osteria de Pegno! They also took the time to talk to us about what to see, what not to see, gave us a map with all locations and times to visit--for bars, restaurants, sights, etc. Since we tried to avoid our cell phone usage because of international charges ($1.20/min), Marco and Serena set up some other reservations for us, too. They even helped us out with some of the taxis, as alot of the drivers will take advantage of you when they shouldn't (trying to charge per bag or extra people in the cab.) Heck, Marco even arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport to take us to Deko! That saved us $30, (or 20-25 Euro).

We walked all over Rome and this was a great place to start the day. Deko had a sizeable breakfast every monring---pastries, cereal, coffee, meats, cheeses, etc.

The hotel is in a great location---not too far from Borghese park, several blocks from the hustle and bustle of the busy areas, a block from a taxi line, yet quiet enough to get great sleep at night. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Yes, all hotels in Rome are expensive, but at Deko it actually feels like you are getting what you pay for--and you never feel like you overpaid.

Room Tip: All rooms in Italy are double beds--make sure you tell them to put the beds together if there are tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jzb110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    45
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
112
593
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Staying with Marco and Serena is like being welcomed by family. Marco provides an excellent introduction to Rome and his restaurant recommendations are tops. We went to a fusion of French and Italian restaurant owned by friends of Serena and Marco and were welcomed with open arms. Marco or Serena will call through to the restaurants they recommend and tell them you are from Deko. Makes a BIG difference to the table and service you receive. Breakfast at Deko is fantastic but hard to eat it all as the food just keeps being served. Top coffee! Really tasteful rooms and interior design. Clean and well serviced. Good location on a quiet street. Close to Trevi and Spanish steps. Serena is a whiz on tips for clothes shopping. Very important for my wife and daughter! We will definitely stay at Deko next time we are in Rome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivenhall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This has to be one of the very nicest places to stay in Rome. It's small, quiet and very friendly, and for my wife and I met all of our needs for a 4 day city break.

We were met on arrival by Marco who promptly offered us a glass of Prosecco, whilst discussing good places to go in Rome, and good restaurants in which to eat. We took up some of his recommendations, and we had some really memorable dinners in small restaurants, in the historic back streets of Rome, which we would never have found without his recommendation. There are also some excellent restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Marco is a fount of knowledge about Rome, and is very happy to help you find your way around, and of course will book restaurants and taxis for you.

Marco and his partner Serena own and run this small hotel. They are a very friendly and helpful couple, with excellent English (I expect other languages also). The hotel is spotlessly clean, and furnished in a very modern style. Our room was of a good size for a city centre hotel, very comfortable, with a great bathroom. The provided free WifI and iPad make it easy to keep in touch with friends and family, as well as looking up details of the places you want to see, opening times etc.

Breakfast is continental style with something for all tastes, sweet and savoury, and is normally served between 8 and 11 (or later if you wish !). Serena was our host at breakfast, which can be readily adapted to suit your particular taste, and of course the quality is excellent.

The hotel location is very close (10/15 minutes stroll) to the famous Borghese Gallery and Museum, the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain. We also walked to most of the other sites, for example taking about 45 minutes to the Colliseum, and only used the Metro to get to the Vatican. You see much more of the real Rome if you walk, but make sure you have sensible shoes, as the cobbles can be uneven and a little treacherous. If you don't want to walk, taxis are plentiful, and quite reasonable (€10/15 anywhere in central Rome) and the integrated Metro/Bus system is also very straightforward, and only €1.50 a trip, less if you buy a pass.

We really cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, it makes such a pleasant change from the larger (and more expensive !) hotels, that just cannot compete with the friendly and personal attention you will receive from Marco and Serena.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I were on our first trip to Italy recently. We used Trip Advisor to locate a B & B in Rome. It is hard to know what to believe in a review or see with pictures and such how good (or bad) a property can be. Our research brought us upon Deko Rome at 1 Via Toscana very near to the US Embassy. From the start of our reservation process to the moment we left Rome, our hosts Marco and Serena were BEYOND COMPARE! The room was exquisite! The service impeccable! The delightful breakfasts and cappuccinos were amazing! I have never had such a diverse selection of breakfasts form a B & B. Americans can be too used to bacon and eggs and this you will not find at Deko Rome but the fruit, breads, cereals, yogurt, jams and toast and on and on were wonderfully arranged on your plate every morning.

Marco and Serena are the loveliest couple and both worked very hard to make our stay exquisite. The room (we had the two room suite) was modern and efficient not to mention extremely spacious. Well decorated and chocked full of amenities. It was cleaned each day while we were sightseeing which was wonderful.This is not your typical B & B folks...It's fantastic! I could go on about their hospitality, the food, the location, the room but I don't think I need to say more than this. Do not go to Rome without staying at Deko Rome. I know I might not get a reservation next time because it will be booked but I don't care. I will make my next trip to Rome based around the availability of the rooms at Deko Rome! Love you tons Marco and Serena! Thanks! Kris and Derrick

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundthehouse2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sa
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Deko after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. This is a perfect location for tourists, safe and with easy access to the city. You are greeted by the charming Marco and offered wine, a city map and useful advice for your stay. He organized dinners, taxis and whatever else you need - this place feels like home. The actual room is so modern and clean, with water provided. The breakfast was amazing, lots of fresh fruit, cereal and meats and cheese so yummy. The bed was very comfortable. Overall a great place to stay to explore the city and a home away from home. We recommend you take the transport organsie by Marco it would not be easy to find by yourself. This place only has six rooms which is a part of its charm. There is a supermarket downstairs if you need anything else.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank angelah321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Deko Rome is a very cool little boutique hotel located in a very safe neighbourhood (the American Embassy is across the street, and a police station is two doors down). It is in a beautiful old building on the 2nd floor. Everything is new and modern and the rooms are fairly large and the bathrooms are beautiful, clean and fully appointed. Marco and Serena are wonderful hosts and gracious to help you with any of your needs, from booking tours to meeting you at the end of the day with a lovely glass of wine and a chat about your day. Now, one tip, when you book your room, try to NOT get Room #1. It's a gorgeous room, but is close to the main desk, and you can hear everything - first thing in the morning the breakfasts being put together, to late at night when other guests are coming in from nights of happy times in Rome, so if you you are a light sleeper, this room is not for you. That was my only downside to this little gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tinasimpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Never have I visited a hotel and felt so at home. The rooms were perfectly quaint and sufficient, having everything I would look for in a small apartment. It was clean, and the bed, bathroom and shower were modern and perfectly sized.

But the thing that separates Deko Rome with any other hotel is the personal attention given by the owners Marco and Serena. As others have written, once we got there, Marco gave us a map and showed us all of his recommendations, which included attractions, but most importantly really fantastic restaurants.

Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and was the time we got to chat with Serena about life. She also was also very helpful with setting up reservations to museums for us. In the evening, we would look forward to chatting and drinking some wine with Marco. These two felt more like friends than hotel owners. And what's amazing is that they are great at what they do, going the extra mile, making sure you have everything you need. My wife and I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Thanks for everything Marco and Serena! Hope to see you again soon. -Eugene and Annie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,263 in Rome
6,751 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,263 in Rome
726 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,263 in Rome
3,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,263 in Rome
2,930 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,263 in Rome
4,185 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,263 in Rome
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deko Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deko Rome

Property: Deko Rome
Address: Via Toscana 1, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#3 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Deko Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deko Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing