We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If location is more important that the room, this is a great option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Ranked #493 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

For me it is, which explains my high rating. Rating only the room, I could give 1/5 if I'm in a good mood. Too old, noisy (sound pass through the doors), very old, a window facing the stairs, no WiFi coverage in the room, the TV remote control was not working, very small elevator etc etc. In the positive side, the room size was very good.
But, there is no other place where you can have breakfast under the arches of an old theater, the staff (all of them) is great and willing to help you for everything you will ask. Best of all: you are walking distance from all the (current?) hotspots of Rome. I never used taxi or public transport to go anywhere, as everything is on walking distance.
As a closing remark and in order to be fair: for 140 Euros, I was expecting something much better. On the other hand, I've checked a lot before booking this hotel and like in all major cities in Europe, you cannot find a good hotel in a good price, so Rome is not different.
Will I stay again in this hotel? for sure, but I will not suggest this to people that spend a lot of their time in the room or their standards are 3 or 4 star hotels.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window facing outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George-Bill-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 325 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I spent 6 nights here and were completely satisfied. Please note that it's not for the person who wants the amenities of a large hotel and want to be pampered. However, if you want a small hotel with a friendly staff that knows you and is extremely helpful, this is the place for you. The rooms are nothing special, but a clean and the A/C really works (a rarity for Italy). Also, it is a 2 minute walk from the Campo d'Fiori where you will find great restaurants and lots to do and close to all major attractions of historic Rome. Since we love small hotels and B&B's, this has to rank as a gem in Rome.

Room Tip: We picked Room 21 based upon recommendations in Trip Advisor. It is an inside room which has a windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Teatro di Pompeo for 16 nights. A great place for dedicated tourists. In the medieval neighborhood, outside the tourist crush but very convenient to attractions, shopping, restaurants and neighborhood amenities. A friendly, helpful staff, with english proficiency more than adequate to help with directions, local transportation and shuttle services. Our room was clean spacious, airy and light... a view to the nearby Sant'Andrea dome. Very good continental breakfast downstairs under the stone arches. Excellent neighborhood bakeries nearby. Very convenient to the Campo di Fiori, Piazza navona and the Pantheon. Easy walk to the Vatican, Via Corso, the Forum and Trastevere across the river.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights in October. the location is excellent and the price is quite reasonable. The rooms are small so would not do again for 4 night stay. The breakfast buffet service was terrible. They did not refill empty items so unless you are early riser you will have few choices
Sand if you need to stay connected to outside world find another place. both the wireless service and the computers provide were slow or non-existent

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sallytclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We are a married couple, m42 & f39 on a bit of an overseas adventure from Australia. Review was written towards the end of the trip so had the opportunity to compare with other accommodation experiences. Over lunch today we discussed our favourite Hotel, and aside from Positano where we splurged this was our favourite hotel of the trip.

This was our first stop of 4 days (3 nights) in a three week Italy experience and it was exactly what we were wanting for Rome. Safe and clean, the staff were friendly / helpful. We used this locations as a base and were able to easily walk to all the main attractions such as the Forum, Colosseum, Vatican and Trastevere region within 30 minutes or less.

Good, hearty, typical Italian hotel breakfast was included.

It was not top of the range accommodation, but had everything that we wanted for our Rome explorations. Reasonable sized room, separate bathroom (not a cupboard ensuite) and well serviced daily. Air conditioner worked just fine.

Hotel was just a stone throw away from Trevi Fountain / Spanish Steps and the Pantheon, between Piazzas Navona and Campo De Fiore so we were spoilt for shopping and eating opportunities. We preferred eating on the side streets rather than the Piazza based restaurant offerings. It was great to just wander around, and we always felt safe. Excellent people watching opportunities over a glass of wine or shared bottle.

We were in a room of the Hotel annex ( which we loved ) but the included wireless Internet access did not reach us. A room in the main hotel building might have better access (?). We had good speed from the Hotel lounge where there were comfortable couches and we felt it private enough to Skype home to check out how the kids were coping in our absence; they were just fine...

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Heath71Hampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was somewhat dismayed when I first saw the exterior of this hotel as it was a just a single door on the street with a small lobby. However, the room was very pleasant. It was spacious, quaint and even had a bidet in the bathroom. French doors faced into an interior courtyard, so it was very private and quiet. The woman who met us in the afternoon was not particularly helpful. We learned almost right away that a fire down the street had damaged the telephone line that provided internet and phone service, so we did not have that. Also, breakfast was served at 7 am and we left before that time each day so missed that. She suggested to us that we could buy a coffee and a bite to eat at our bus pickup spot. In fact, when she was not on the job, the young night desk clerks made us lovely "American" coffee and gave us a croissant each morning to help us on our way. She did not offer any help in this way. She also did not tell us that they had a separate room with computers and a printer that worked on a separate line from those damaged, and that we could have used them to communicate with family/friends. We actually went to an internet cafe at one point when we had to send an e-mail.
I was not unhappy with the hotel itself and the internet and not being available for breakfast were not their fault, but it was somewhat disappointing. The attitude of the female receptionist was quite disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doris19622013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Someone not used to Rome hotel prices might think this expensive, but considering the location, it is actually a good value. We stayed two nights in Sept. 2013. Breakfast is good, and they make your coffee drink individually by order. Rooms are decent. The local utility company decided to dig up the small square our room faced, and I found out another asset - the windows are great (second floor, main building), as when closed they silence the outside noise. Staff was very helpful in getting a driver to get us to the cruise port at Civitavecchia (and at a great price). Only negative was the provided "computer" in the lower level for internet access - it's an ancient XP system with really out of date IE browser, cannot run or load Flash, and I could not even access my email account (I gave up after about 15min and was billed about 1 Euro - yes they charge for that piece of junk!). If you go, get out and explore the Campo de Fiori, a short walk behind the hotel location - contrast the morning market with the evening party scene. So, the location is great for most of central Rome, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rtraveler10570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Palazzo Taverna
Relais Palazzo Taverna
#515 of 1,272 in Rome
262 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#665 of 1,272 in Rome
500 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#392 of 1,272 in Rome
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Sole Roma
Hotel Sole Roma
#695 of 1,272 in Rome
158 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#335 of 1,272 in Rome
216 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro di Pompeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro di Pompeo

Address: Largo del Pallaro 8, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#177 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $89 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Teatro di Pompeo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The teatro di pompeo hotel is located on the remains of the ancient roman pompey's theatre dating back to the year 55 b.c. It is situated in the heart of rome's historical centre, just few steps from piazza navona and campo de' fiori. Guests may enjoy breakfast and drinks in presence of ancient roman remains. The hotel is dedicated to select and exacting guests who appreciate quality comfort and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Teatro di Pompeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teatro Di Pompeo Hotel Rome
Teatro Di Pompeo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing