We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Ranked #498 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a great location”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This small hotel in the central part of Rome is highly recommendable to anyone, who do not want to stay in a typical tourist hotel.
With only a few rooms and few guests, you almost felt as being home. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. Breakfast is served in the basement under the hotel and this is a history on its own.
The location is perfect and even though in the part of Rome known for late nightlife, the area was quiet.
Only warning about this hotel is the rooms in the annex, which are accessible via a steep stair only. If you dare take this challenge we can recommend the annex.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikmelgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    141
    18
    5
    11
See reviews for
38
150
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
RI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel, and it has remained a favorite. Tucked around the corner from the Campo di Fiori, it is in a central location, easily walkable to many of the places you want to visit. For those like me who are somewhat mobility challenged, it is also near Largo Argentina with all of its buses, and was a 5-7 minute walk from two stops on the hop-on hop off tourist bus.
Breakfast was served from 7-10 am. We were given the same room we had stayed at previously, which was fun.
One of the best reasons for booking here is the great staff, especially Simona and Paolo, who went out of their way to help. Great suggestions for dining were given - it is surrounded by small, great restaurants as well as the Campo for the morning market and people-watching.
We stayed from 26 Sep to 2 Oct and will definitely return to this hotel when we return to Rome.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 21 both visits. There is a small elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I booked this hotel based on the great reviews it has gotten on Tripadvisor, and I was not disappointed! I found Teatro di Pompeo to be an excellent choice for anyone wanting a basic 3-star hotel in the middle of Rome.

There are generally three major things I look at when booking a room: sleep comfort, shower quality, and location. Teatro di Pompeo gets high marks for all three! In addition, breakfast and wifi were both included in the hotel price. The breakfast was tasty and filling, and the wifi signal was strong and reliable. The staff persons spoke great English and were very friendly.

My room was #14, which is on the 1st floor (2nd floor for Americans). I was by myself, but the room was made for two persons. The windows looked out on a small inner courtyard. There was no real "view" but that didn't matter to me. Even if you had a room with a street view, there's not much to see in the small square below (just a parking lot, basically). There was an elevator, but I always took the stairs since my room was only one flight up.

There was some noise during the day, but during sleeping hours (11 p.m. to 7 a.m. or so) I never was awakened by any noise. The way the property is designed, the other rooms are not really located directly beside you (at least I never heard noise from nearby rooms.) I only heard a little noise from the room above mine.

At first I thought that the air conditioner in the room did not work very well. However, I discovered that there were two different units. The one on the wall by the window just blew air and didn't really cool. It took me a while to discover the other unit high on the wall near the ceiling. It was controlled by a remote control and worked wonderfully with lots of cool air.

The bathroom had a great shower with strong water pressure and plenty of hot water at any time of the day.

The location of the hotel was excellent, being very close to Campo de Fiori. This campo has a wonderful market were vendors sell fresh fruits & vegetables, pasta, cheese, souvenirs, etc. in the morning and early afternoon. There are quite a few restaurants in the campo as well. The best way to get to the campo is through a gated walkway that is just a few steps from the hotel (turn right as you exit the hotel entrance, then look for the narrow path on the right). At first I thought this walkway was a private entrance, but the gates are unlocked (at least during the day) and you can walk through the passageway directly to Campo de Fiori. This takes about one minute. If you go by another path, the distance is much further.

I would heartily recommend Teatro di Pompeo to anyone looking for a good quality, basic hotel in the center of Rome. It was great for me as a single traveler, but I'm sure it would be fine for couples as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wesbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We traveled through Italy in July 2012 and this Hotel was excellent. The woman at the desk in the mornings is very helpful with anything you need. The air conditioning and shower were great and the breakfasts were wonderful, they had many choices of food. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErynT650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent 6 nights at Hotel Teatro Di Pompeo and were very impressed. The rooms are very big and comfortable and the location is excellent. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank JenMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I came back to the Hotel Teatro di Pompeo. And it was great, location, service, and everything. Steps from Campo di Fiori and Piazza Navona, and Via Julia, can walk to Trastevere and to the Vaticano... I will keep choosing it when going to Roma! The building is very cute, with the breakfast room built in the ruins. WiFi as ok, the room as very spacious, facing the street, staff was very helpfull.

Room Tip: I loved the room with with street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marialaura215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My mother and I stayed two nights at this small hotel while we visited Rome and we really liked it. The location was excellent and you could walk to all the major sights in the city. What we were really thankful for was the staff, especially the female front desk clerk (sorry I forgot her name!) who advised us of the general transit strike that would effect our journey. She also volunteered useful tourist information and a map so we could get around. Breakfast was served in the old teatro and was good and the rooms were comfortable with a/c. We quickly learned to inquire if hotels were staffed 24 hrs at the front desk, and this hotel is. There are numerous restuarants nearby, one next door with a fixed menu and price of $25. Service is rushed but the food was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertagemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Sole Roma
Hotel Sole Roma
#660 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa de'Fiori
Casa de'Fiori
#561 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
#176 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#171 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#310 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#433 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro di Pompeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro di Pompeo

Property: Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Address: Largo del Pallaro 8, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#177 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Teatro di Pompeo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The teatro di pompeo hotel is located on the remains of the ancient roman pompey's theatre dating back to the year 55 b.c. It is situated in the heart of rome's historical centre, just few steps from piazza navona and campo de' fiori. Guests may enjoy breakfast and drinks in presence of ancient roman remains. The hotel is dedicated to select and exacting guests who appreciate quality comfort and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Teatro di Pompeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teatro Di Pompeo Hotel Rome
Teatro Di Pompeo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing