We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do something about the drains”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #186 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The staff were reasonably friendly and they were very helpful. The location was great although small the room was fine except for the awful smell from the drains at night . As the en suite was so close to the bed even with the door closed and all the drains covered the smell was rotten at night The breakfast was quiet nice given that the cost doer night was vey reasonable. however overall when you consider having to put up with the smell not good value which is a shame as otherwise good

Room Tip: One without smelly drain
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Madame ,
we are sorry about the smell of drains but it came from the apartment upstairs .
It's been fixed the day after you left us . I hope you'll be back to Hotel Italia some day and We promise to offer you a special discount and a bigger room to let you have a more pleasant
stay .

Regards,
Gabriel / HOTEL ITALIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Italia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is centrally located. 15 minutes walking to fountain Trevi, 5-10 minutes to plaza Republic. 15 minutes from Termini
Not too bad, not too good.
There is elevator in the building. Our room was really small, and window was facing inside balcony. You can hear every single noise outside of the room. There is small frigde in the room, and safe. Internet connection was on/off, weak and inconsistent.
Room was clean, nice towels. But I had problems with water in the shower. After you would get water to temperature I want, it would keep changing from ok, to cold, to cold, and then to really hot. It was annoying.
For breakfast selection they had variety of things, but they tasted bad. So their coffee was bad. I never in Italy tried food tasted as poorly as in this hotel. Where do they get it?

I was disappointed for the money we paid.

There is nice restaurant across the street from the main door. They serve very good lunch for reasonable price. You can get plate of food and bottle of wine (small) for 10 euros.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagoBurbsIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thanks a lot for posting your review. We would like to remind you that you had a small room because you booked an economy room ( small and cheaper than the other ones available ) . Anyway rooms in Europe are smaller than American Standard .This is also a 2 star hotel and breakfast is high quality particular mention to our coffee that comes from Nestlè ( a Swiss Brand famous all over ) . I'm sorry if you personally disliked the breakfast served as we know Guests
are all happy about it ( see other reviews ) .

Best regards,
Abdul / HOTEL ITALIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our room was good-sized, very well decorated, very clean and silent. We just loved it. The location is wonderfull. Near to the subway station Piazza de La Republica and a walking distance from Coliseo. The breakfast was really delicious. We recommend Hotel Italia !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nora_brasileira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItaliaHotel, Owner at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you Nora !
Your review is very much appreciated .

Ciao ,
Andrea / HOTEL ITALIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We chose Hotel Italia based on price and the availability of a quad room; the one in the photo with the red headboard and green covers was ours. We were thrilled on every count. We arranged a car from the airport through them, which was perfect and the same price as a cab would have been, but if we had known our way and traveled at a better hour, we could have gone by Metro to a stop just a couple of blocks away. The room was clean and good-sized, the bathroom was modern European. The staff was amazing -- helpful, friendly, knowledgeable -- they made our trip! There were plenty of restaurants nearby, and we walked everywhere we went in Rome except the Vatican. The breakfast was delicious -- we have recreated it here at home when we get nostalgic for our visit. We would stay here again any time in Rome, either all four of us or just two of us!

Room Tip: We had a quad room in the main building and it was perfect for us.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Hannah ,
Thank you so much for your kind review .
Qe are happy to hear everything was fine during your stay at Hotel Italia .

Best wishes,
Gabriel / HOTEL ITALIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is excellent for the price! This was our first trip to Europe and I was not too concerned about a fancy room to lay my head at night. I was in ROME... I wanted to SEE Rome, not spend my day in a room. I naturally wanted a place that was clean, but size of the room did not matter to me. We only had one night to stay as our cruise docked too late for us to catch a direct flight home the same day. We spent our last day after the cruise on a tour that dropped us right at the hotel when we were done.

We checked in, went to our room and decided to spend our last night walking in the area. We found a very inexpensive souvenir shop (t-shirts were 8 euros!) just a block or two down from the hotel for those last souvenirs we needed. We asked the owner of the shop to point us in the direction of a nearby good restaurant with reasonable prices. We had our last delicious meal in Rome in a very quaint street side restaurant just a few blocks from the hotel.

The room was small, but very clean and I love the size of the room key ..... HUGE !! I loved the ambiance of the hotel. The tiny elevator... the street noise in our room with the old window open.... I was in Rome !!

I had emailed before arriving about a ride to the airport and Gabriel was very helpful in arranging a car to take us to the airport very early the next morning.

Since we only had one night and had to leave before breakfast was available we cannot comment on the breakfast offered. We saw the room where breakfast was served and it also looked very quaint.

I am only giving this 4 out of 5 stars because we truly did not see the full hotel with the few hours we spent there. What we did experience was excellent.

If fate allows us to return we would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: We had room 10, on the same floor as the reception desk. I loved the street noise as I said in my re...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 312Luv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItaliaHotel, Owner at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thanks a lot for your truly kind and detailed review about us even though you spent just 1
night . See you next time for a longer stay .

Regards,
Andrea / HOTEL ITALIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights.
Our room was in an annexe over the road.
The room was small, however the bed was really comfy and the shower was superb.
The room was very clean and we had our room cleaned and towels changed daily.
I think the facilities looked better in the main building.
We met the reception, breakfast and bellboy(luggage helper) and all were friendly, knowledgeable and a credit to the hotel. Staff were particularly helpful on our last day. Our flight was much later in the day after official check out(11am), however they found room to store our luggage allowing us to enjoy our last day.
We were not expecting perfection, however we were pleased with this hotel.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawberryblonde20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Madame ,
thanks for having stayed with us !
Staff were all pleased to help during your stay .

See you next time ,
Abdul / HOTEL ITALIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. Walking distance from Termini and other things. Busses nearby. Also a little Spar-supermarket. Nice breakfast. The staffmembers are very nice. Andrea, thank you for everything!

Room Tip: The superior room is definitely nicer than the classic, more space.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlaBreukelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItaliaHotel, Owner at Hotel Italia, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Carla,
thanks for your truly kind review.

I'm happy you had great time !

Sincerely ,
Andrea / HOTEL ITALIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#102 of 1,267 in Rome
1,485 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#159 of 1,267 in Rome
1,310 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#134 of 1,267 in Rome
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#89 of 1,267 in Rome
668 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#94 of 1,267 in Rome
892 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#123 of 1,267 in Rome
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Via Venezia 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#163 Family Hotel in Rome
#275 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $74 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Italia!In the heart of the storical Rome next to the Quirinale, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Termini station and the Colosseum, an exclusive and elegant place is going to offer you a relaxing and confortable stay ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing