We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seems expensive but is worthwhile”

Catacombe San Sebastiano
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.32*
and up
Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour
More Info
$77.20*
and up
Half-Day St Sebastian Catacombs and Appian Way Tour
More Info
$475.07*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour: Catacombs of St Sebastian from Rome
Ranked #126 of 1,523 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A series of underground passages containing the tombs of the early Christians.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“seems expensive but is worthwhile”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

because the catacombs are 8 euros to enter and there are at least 3 main ones to visit, with no combined ticket, we were slightly horrified by the costs adding up- this was the second place we visited and the tours are short and you have to go with a guide- but the group we were in was only about 15 people and the guide was informative and helpful- you'd definitely get lost and confused on your own. the No Photos rule was a little irritating but understandable. I would say it is worth visiting at least two of the catacombs as you get a slightly different viewpoint from each.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ellie995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    207
    57
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highly Interesting!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The catacombs are out of the way, and if you take the public tourist map of rome, it is not featured at all (outside the map). I suppose This makes it less 'prone' to tourist invasions (just think of Trevis fountain, Colleseum, Spanish Steps etc).

Missed the bus, and decided to walk from Metro station (Circo Massimo). Big mistake! It's so out of the way and it took us around 1hr along the Via Porta San Sebastiano(leading towards Antica Via Appia.)

The tour itself was great, mainly because we were the last visitors of the day, saw the logs and the catacombs had only 7 visitors on the day we visited. A nun acted as the guide since we were not allowed to enter unescorted and we could easily get lost. Only around 1-3% of the catacombs were covered in the tour, which is more than enough. History of San Sebastiano was explained and the different phases of the burials/catacombs were explained, as with the different styles of carvings reflecting christianity compared with catholiscm. The tour lasted around 40 minutes, and we made a small donation to the church.

If walking from Circo Massimo, I suggest visiting the Caracella Baths as well.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Hails41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way but interesting”
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

The catacombs are a bit off the tourist path,although still plenty of people make the trip. We got the Archeobus, as part of a combined ticket with the 110 open bus, so were dropped off and picked up (after a while - the buses are about every half hour) at the front door. The catacombs were interesting and the guide was informative and entertaining. Worth making the trip for something a bit different.

Helpful?
4 Thank RALTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Christian-related catacombs - extremely interesting!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Of all the catacomb tours, we chose this one and we greatly enjoyed it.

It is the supposed resting place (at one time) of Peter and Paul's bones when the early Christian church was hiding their bones. While the bones aren't here anymore, the many references to their being there at one time are. This is via the inscriptions made in the rock where Christians of antiquity were celebrating breaking bread in the presence of the Apostles bones.

Within the tour, there are also many references to Roman burials, a Roman burial crypt, and the hiding Christian church. We enjoyed it a lot. As others have said our guide was very informative. She did a very good job of explaining things in detail and putting context around where you were standing. The catacombs and tunnels and their mazes were fascinating to me.

Cost was 8 euros per person. This is a walking tour through the catacombs. You stop at highlighted stops along the way. It's about 1 hour. We were a catacomb tour group of about 25. My party brought up the rear in single file thru the catacombs but our guide waited until she saw us before she would begin speaking. Tunnels are lit but there are dark spots. TALL people be aware or you'll hit your head as there are a couple low spots. No photos allowed in the catacombs.

The church above the grounds is very pretty also. It sits right over the catacombs.

Helpful?
4 Thank Stan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss the catacombs.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Interesting tour. Nice and cool down there, as well!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catacombe San Sebastiano also viewed

 

Been to Catacombe San Sebastiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing