We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury four star hotel in rome italy in the historical center”
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Ranked #160 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
sardinia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“luxury four star hotel in rome italy in the historical center”
Reviewed July 22, 2009

luxury four star hotel in Rome Italy, the best four star hotel we find during our stay holiday in Italy. this four star hotel in the historical center of Rome offers standard as 5 star hotel. Best location: face tyo face to the Forum Romanum. at walking distance from Trastevere, Colosseum, Piazza Venezia and many other important monuments. This four star hotel was opened on dec. 2007 and now in an historical building you find all modern comforts. the multilingual staff is very professional and friendly. We had all our dinners in the hotrel Restaurant "Le Jardin" in the garden of this four star hotel you have really the possibility to enjoy the unique location. Our room was large and very elegant, the bath room with Jacuzzi idromassage bath-tub. the price are really reasonable. best value for money. we will suggest this four star hotel in Rome to all our friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sardinia2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    477
    158
    45
    28
See reviews for
335
670
25
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Nice Large room. The round bed would be avoidable but well equipped with latest tech but lacking an ipod dock and connection

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jofolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

First time to Rome (but previous year three weeks in Italy). This is in the Aventino area...The hotel was a totally unexpected delight from the moment we stepped foot in the door on arrival from the airport. Only a two minute walk from the Circus Maximus metro station, five minute walk to the Roman Coliseum - felt very safe walking here at night, across the street from Palatino Hill - the original city of Rome. Located on a quiet street near restaurants, near the river where you can walk under the shade of the trees, near shops and transportation. If you like to walk, you can actually take the map from the front desk, - they will show you the most popular route...and walk to all the most popular sites of Rome from this hotel. There is also a museum (?) "next door" which hosts free outdoor summer concerts.

The hotel's decor is beautiful - Italian chic. Very sophisticated. This property looked brand new. I don't think the web site does this hotel justice. In an old convent with high ceilings in the rooms, huge windows, a park-like garden in the back with fountains, chirping birds, orange and palm trees, where guests can eat their breakfast and dine in the evening, or enjoy drinks from the bar. The buffet breakfast which was included here was overly generous. Hot and cold breakfast food, the best chocolate croissants Ive had in Italy! Breakfast staff was excellent and courteous. Dinner was a bit pricy for our budget, so not eat here at night, but the menu looked good.

In all our walks around Rome we did not see a hotel that would compare to these amenities (regarless of hotel star-ratings), or one as quiet, or with a garden. The rate we paid was approx 130EU. In our humble opinion this was a steal.

The staff is helpful and friendly, even under pressure with a full house of guests to deal with. They were full when we arrived and I'm sure as word spreads of the quality and value here, this hotel will always be full. We asked for an upgrade since we paid/booked well in advance and were given a huge corner room (#209?) overlooking the Palatino Hill. (We had no idea of the depth of history we were looking at until after we toured.) The bathroom was enormous and fully tiled with granite, marble, spa shower etc..was beautiful. No gratuitous, cheap artwork on the walls - just beautiful fabrics on the windows and bedspread (with very effective black out curtains). Spotless.

We did notice our room was larger than others (we could see when the maids were making up the rooms down the corridor). So it is worth the upgrade, if available, to a superior double (not sure of what they call it). It would have been nice also to have a garden view.

Did not work/did not like: Minor detail....The lobby internet connected, but jammed when trying to read email. Not sure what the problem was, but they did agree to remove that charge from the bill on checkout.

Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank aboutmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of July and found the hotel to be very nice and clean with a fresh feeling to it. The reception staff were very friendly and our room was ready earlier than we had expected. Before I left for the trip I had contacted the hotel and requested a garden view room (on the advice of a review on here due to noise) and was pleasantly surprised when they had provided us with a garden room. This was nice as the doors opened up to the garden and you could sit outside.

Our room was very clean, and larger than I had anticipated. The bathroom was a good size also. The only downside to the room was the fact that the TV has only two english channels which limited what you could watch when lounging in the room. There was also not much hanging space but we got by.

The location is overlooking the Roman Forum and roughly a 10-15 mins walk to the Colosseum in one direction and a 20-25 mins walk to the Spanish Steps in another direction.

The downside to the location is lack of restaurants. 5 mins round the corner there were two but not much variety.

All in all a nice stay and would recommend this to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gp171080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

After reading good reviews about this hotel, we decided to stay here for our first trip to Italy. We have done a fair amount of travelling and staying at hotels...and this has to rank as one of the worst.First of all, the location sucks. There is basically nothing around in terms of restaurants...it took at least 15 minutes of walking to get to a decent restaurant. A Metro stop and a bus stop also took 15-20 minutes of walking. If you are travelling with little ones or elderly folks, we need to take a cab to go anywhere.We asked for a queen bed and essentially got 2 small beds put together. I kept falling into the crack between the two mattresses. Also, the people working there are not the friendliest...I am trying to be nitpicky but we didn't get a single "good morning" the whole time we stayed there. The worst part of the hotel, however, has to be the checkout. They asked me if I want to charge my credit card on dollars instead of euros. Maybe I was being naive but I didn't think it would make any difference...maybe save on the foreign transaction fee from the credit card company. I also didn't think the hotel would try to rip off their guest. Basically they charged me at a horrible, despicable exchange rate. No disclosure of the exchange rate or explanation of anything. And I found out that the credit card company charged the foreign transaction fee anyway. I could not believe the scam that this hotel is running. I tried to discuss this matter with the hotel but no response from them. In all, this was a very unpleasant experience.
One positive...the breakfast was nice. They have a computer with internet in the lobby but charge 3 euros for 30 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank akkHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I travelled with my aunt and my mother to Rome, and we stayed at the Kolbe Hotel for four nights. It is a fabulous property overlooking the Forum, which makes most attractions at a perfectly walkable distance. The room was very spacious and had a great view, along with a large bathroom, so the three of us had a very comfortable stay. The breakfast spread was delicious, with freshly baked goodies! The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly, and very cooperative. They helped us organise our onwards trip to Florence, and gave excellent recommendations for things to do in and around Rome. Their restaurant staff was perhaps the most hospitable I have ever come across. Our last night we decided to eat at their restaurant, and had brought along our own wine, which, as luck would have it, turned out to be a bad buy. The restaurant manager offered a lovely bottle of wine to cheer us up, on the house!!!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a pleasant trip to Rome!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KamaHele1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Kolbe in June. We found it on line and everyone indicated it was "perfect location". First off, it is a nice hotel, the nicest we stayed in during our 11 day trip to Italy. It was clean, the staff was friendly and it was a large room.

The location is average. It is a decent walk to a few of the attractions. However, given the set up of Rome, at least one or two attractions will be a long walk. Because we were not on any time retraint, we walked everywhere... from the train station, to the Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and even the Vatican.

It's a little hard to find, but overall a nice place to stay in Rome. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fusayachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#76 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#156 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#69 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Monti
Hotel Forum Roma
Hotel Forum Roma
#191 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Property: Kolbe Hotel Rome
Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#190 Business Hotel in Rome
#230 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing