We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.....and breakfast!”
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Ranked #117 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Everything is available on foot, if needed the bus stop is near and it's a safe neighbourhood.
We took the last minute offer, two days before traveling and it was a great deal!
The room was nice, clean and fresh linen everyday.
Rich breakfast buffet, keeps you full for hours.
If we ever come back to Rome, we'll stay here.

2  Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed three nights at the Kolbe Hotel. The hotel is very well located right next to the Roman Forum. It is an old convent that has been converted into a hotel and appointed with modern furnishing and decorations. The hotel has a lovely quiet courtyard and is a pleasant place to eat breakfast or sit with a wine or beer.

The staff were all very friendly but unfortunately there did not seem to be enough of them. At the time of our stay a couple of large tour groups were also staying at the hotel. While the groups were being attended to for meals there were no staff left to attend to other guests, so on several occasions we were left waiting with other non-tour guests for both table service and service at the bar.

The rooms were nicely appointed, although the bathroom was small and the shower was a full length gyzmo that was annoying and we didn't enjoy. We were given a loft style with the lounge and bath on one level and an open bedroom on a mezzanine level. The airconditioning was ineffective at cooling the bedroom area which was hot and stuffy through the night. The mezzanine was quite high above the lounge with a steep set of stairs to reach it. The stairs were metal and very slippery and felt dangerous, especially when visiting the bathroom in the middle of the night.

We had the opportunity to come back to Rome on the same trip but chose to stay somewhere else because the negatives were just slightly tipped against the positives for us on this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Positives first - great location, just a few minutes walk and you're in the heart of the tourist attractions. The hotel is modern, well laid out with lovely gardens and very quiet - our room opened onto the gardens so nice to sit out in the sun with a glass of something cold. Usual supply of potions in the bathroom, no bath in our room but the shower was good. Prices vary vastly - trebled within a week of our booking so worth watching for a good deal. Evening meal in the restaurant was nice if a bit pricey. Free nibbles with drinks in the bar which is a nice touch.

Negatives - our room was very small, there was no tea or coffee making facilities within the room and the bed was small and pushed against a wall so no bedside table or reading light for me. There was a fridge/bar which we only discovered towards the end of our stay as it was in a cupboard blocked by the bedside table. Breakfast was disappointing - buffet style hot food so rubbery scrambled eggs, shriveled sausages and unappealing bacon. The bar was pleasant enough but lacked atmosphere, the service was patchy (often having to go and find someone to serve) and the same dreary CD played in there for the whole of our duration, there's only so much Enya one can take! The staff, whilst friendly, had to be asked and then reminded a few times for requests such as extra pillows. Although there is free wifi it didn't work on our iphones but there are pc's in the reception you can use. Only 2 English channels on the TV, CNN and BBC World news so take a book!

Overall I would recommend and go there again but would book one of the larger rooms or suites for that real 4 star feeling.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter and check the cupboards for the bar/fridge in the smaller ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myzteak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Situated on the edge of The Roman Forum, the Kolbe Hotel is quite central to lots of the ancient roman sites including the forum, the Circus Maximus and the Collusium. We generally walked everywhere and worked out we covered about 30 miles in 3 days! The hotel is very nice but our room was tiny, so tiny in fact that the double bed was up against a wall on one side and the bedside cabinet on the other side made it impossible to get in the fridge! No complimentary tea and coffee making facilities which for a 4 star hotel is surprising and disappointing...The hotel is very well decorated and free wifi and use of the computers in reception is a bonus. Although sitauted literally over the road to the forum, entry into the ancient ruins involves a 1km walk to the entrance on the Collusium side. The hotel has a nice bar but service can be slow as it seems the staff are doing other jobs and are not always present. Overall we were happy with the hotel but the room was too small to be comfortable, on the plus side however, the room opened into the garden which would be great in warmer weather.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAMMO11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Perfect location ,friendly staff ,great breakfast ,value for money ,especially if you get a deal !
Local produce market in same street ,very nice and relaxed atmosphere ,good value local produce including hand made wines .
Will be back !..............when ?, I don,t know !
ps lovely gardens with orange and lemon trees ,fountain and fish pond ,

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottish-Walker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Kolbe Hotel Rome is ideally located to visit all the sites of Rome by foot, public bus or tour bus (open top). Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our superior room had a double jacuzzi and doors opening directly on to the hotel's lovely gardens. Buffet breakfast was varied and well stocked. We booked direct with the hotel and got a good price and an easy booking process. E-mailed hotel to clarify a couple of things (bed size, arrival time etc) and received a personal response very promptly on both occasions.

Room Tip: Garden views are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John_A_S_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel was all we could have wanted. Clean and well run, great location right in Ancient Rome and close walking distance to everything else. Helpful and courteous staff with suggestions on how to navigate the city, great places to shop and eat and even language and cultural questions answered patiently and expertly. We loved it and recommend it to anybody going to Rome for a holiday. We will return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to rooms away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#80 of 1,271 in Rome
1,896 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#150 of 1,271 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Forum Roma
Hotel Forum Roma
#204 of 1,271 in Rome
1,210 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#65 of 1,271 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#190 Business Hotel in Rome
#230 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $104 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing