We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Ancient Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Ranked #163 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location for Ancient Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The hotel is located directly next to the Roman Forum and very close to the Circus Maximus & Colosseum. This was great for us as for me these are the best sights in Rome. Walking to the Colosseum is a must do at night as it is all lit up.

The closest Metro is the Circo Massimo, if you look on a map the Colesseo looks a similar distance but as you can't walk through the Roman Forum the Circo Massimo is the best one to go for.

We decided to walk everywhere from our hotel as it wasn't far and that way you get to see all the streets in between, if you have a smart phone i'd definitely recommend downloading the Tripadvisor Rome app before you go as it's really useful for getting around and seeing whats near you. If you turn data off when you get to Rome & just have GPS then it all works fine and doesn't cost you a penny.

We ate in the nearby Restaurant/Pub that was just right out of the hotel and then first right and it is then hidden on that corner, we really enjoyed it there and after a hard day of walking the last thing you want to for dinner is venture out too far to find some nice dinner. There are some similar nice restaurants around the Colosseum (Some quite expensive, especially for drinks) and also near to Circo Massimo Metro. Again using the app you can see just how well reviewed any nearby restaurant is!

We booked through British Airways Holidays and decided to pay a little extra to get the Superior Room (No View Specified). I also sent an e-mail direct to the hotel to request a nice view & a jacuzzi bath if possible. When we arrived they had indeed upgraded us to the Junior Suite Room which was perfect for a hard day of walking. It's worth sending them an e-mail before you go especially if you aren't travelling in the Peak seasons like we did. I would be interested to have seen the Superior room to have seen the difference but the Junior Suite room had everything you need.

Breakfast - Scrambled Egg, Boiled Egg, Fried Palma Ham, Frankfurters, Croissants, Pastry s etc. For a European breakfast it was definitely one of the best I've had.

The staff in the hotel were all really friendly and were always on hand to answer any questions we had.

To & From The Airport Fiumicino

From the Airport we took the local train to Roma Trastevere train station, from there we got a bus which is just out of the station on the right hand side.(I had a look on Google Maps -Public Transport before we went which helped) This dropped us really close to the hotel and you could then walk from there. The train fare was €8 each so a lot cheaper than the 'Leonardo Express" then the bus cost just €1.50 for a single. As this method dropped us off a lot closer to the hotel than by going via the Rome Termini & then Metro we found it a lot easier than that method and cost less. The walk from Circo Massimo isn't far with no luggage but sure it would seem a lot further dragging a big suitcase. As previous reviewers have mentioned if there is 3/4 of you it's probably worth getting a taxi, there is a set rate of €48 from the airport to the rome centre which would make things easier. Probably worth ensuring you will actually get charged the €48 as you hear of a lot of taxi drivers trying to rip you off from Airports. http://www.revealedrome.com/2013/08/ciampino-airport-taxi.html

Room Tip: Junior Suite is great with view over the Roman Forum
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jez_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    475
    156
    45
    28
See reviews for
333
663
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

very nice hotel in the heart of Rome.
Close to the historical monuments, the location is great!
nice room with a good service! the only poor thing is the coffe that is not the typical italian one!
reccomended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlotta1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a three night visit to Rome made all the more pleasant by the friendly staff at the hotel which I believe was a former monastery, The rooms were very spacious and quiet.We both enjoy the mattresses we encounter in Italy, nice and firm and this resulted in a very restful 3 nights. My wife grappled with the power shower but won eventually. The location allowed us to walk to a number of sightseeing attractions as well as visiting many interesting back streets. Do study your maps (the hotel has plenty) and after exiting right take the first right and within no time you are near the Monumento Nazionale a Vittorio Emanuele II which despite the criticism it receives is a very helpful landmark and I particularly love its majestic sharp lines.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MedwayMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

we stayed in room 105 on the ground floor and were more than happy with the size and decor of the room which was very clean. The bathroom had a feel of luxury with plenty of fluffy towels, complimentary toiletries, slippers and a shower with jacuzzi style jets, there is a hairdryer too. The room was warm, if a little too stuffy at night when trying to sleep but opened window so no big issue for us. Plenty of wardrobe space and a digital safe inside so no need for a deposit for a safe key. Breakfast was simple enough with reasonable amount of choice on their buffet style set up. cereals, yoghurts, fruit juice, bacon, scrambled eggs and various pastries along with coffees and teas. There is an outside dining area overlooking the walled garden which I imagine is very popular in warmer months. The staff were friendly and efficient, check in was welcoming and the woman on the desk was helpful giving us a tourist map and took the time to show us best way to some of the sites. check out was just as simple and since our return flight was in the evening the staff offered us left luggage option which meant we were able to enjoy our last day to the full without having to lug our bags everywhere. Location wise we felt it was ideal for us, just close enough to the main sites for walking distance but far enough from the main strip to be peaceful. All in all a very pleasant stay and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsB043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Modern decor, very clean, good sized room, not huge but if you stay in 116, you can open your patio doors to a lovely garden area, just begging for the sun to be out during the summer. We stayed for possibly the wettest period in recent Roman history, floods everywhere, the game at stadio Olimpico abandoned, we were there. Breakfast was great, staff were friendly. The only minus was location, while central, was tooquiet. To get anywhere quickly you had to climb up behind Campidoglio and down to piazza Venezia or Via Fori Imperiali. But then Rome is all about walking. Got a really good deal on this Hotel, would love to stay in the summer if price was lower. Wifi was ok, just, but don't expect to view streamed items very well. Oh just down the street on a Sunday they have a covered market, lots of foodstuffs, veg and artisan products available.

Room Tip: Ask for garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMcKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated near the Palatine and Capitoline hills. The staff were friendly, not that we needed them much during our stay. The rooms were spacious and impeccably clean but my only complaint was that the showers were complicated to use! That was only a minor thing however and our stay was very enjoyable. The breakfast selection is decent, not amazing, but certainly very good. We availed of the shuttle service to the airport on our way home which was prompt and on time. Wifi is available, but not 100% reliable, but it was perfectly fine for checking emails and opening times of museums and the like. I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenWillis09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Myself, my partner and our two friends stayed at the Kolbe last weekend. Location is great, about 5 mins walk from the colosseum. Only a 10/15 walk from the main high street which has all the shops and restaurants. We walked to the Vatican City one day and took us about 40 mins.

We didn't eat dinner at the hotel at prices were quite high but as breakfast was included we enjoyed that. Eggs, bacon, sausage, yogs, cereals, pastries, cheeses, teas, coffees, juices and lots more.

On the first night the broke off our bed. We informed reception and they fixed it within ten mins so good service. My only criticism is there weren't any tea or coffee in the bedrooms but maybe that's an English thing!! There was a mini bar in the room but very expensive.

There is a large sitting area in reception and there is a small bar you can have drinks in the evening.

Staff were all very friendly, we received an informative welcome which was handy.

Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EK123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#75 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#148 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#69 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Monti
Hotel Forum Roma
Hotel Forum Roma
#194 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Property: Kolbe Hotel Rome
Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#190 Business Hotel in Rome
#230 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing