We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good 4 star hotel with excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Ranked #200 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good 4 star hotel with excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hotel is situated at the Forum. Open your curtains and there it is. There is also a pleasant garden to have a drink in and food is fresh and of good quality, portions are small though. Hotel staff are very nice and make you feel welcome. You can walk to the Colosseum in 15 minutes and there is plenty to see on the way. The rooms are of a good size and the bathrooms are new and clean. Wifi free and works well. The air conditioning does work, so beware, bring your PJs! The breakfast is not great, coffee was the worst we had in Rome. We went out to numerous cafes after the first morning. Great hotel for a few nights, good food, great staff, fantastic location and reasonable rate. Would recommend and would go,back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel-happy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    441
    150
    43
    26
See reviews for
292
613
23
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We got shuffled to this hotel when the one we booked on Booking.com informed us that they did not receive our reservation but the charges had gone through. We were not happy about this but whatever. Located on a quiet street near the Bocca della Verita, you can drive up and unload your luggage. But who really wants to drive in Rome, its nerve-wracking. There is nothing special in the design of this hotel; it's your typical anonymous modern type thing, somewhat large though it does not seem that way from the outside. The rooms we had were a double decker type, the bed on a loft in a space with an old fashioned brick vaulted ceiling. It had a pleasant view out onto the spacious medieval garden. We went out that night and I left my computer open on my desk. When we return very late, my computer was gone. We immediately called the desk who came up and we checked to see if the door had been locked or whatever, and found that someone had taken a tool and (easily) popped it open. All the doors here are heavy wooden doors with new modern hardware....functioning w. a key card. As we did this, several other people arrived back to their rooms to discover that they devices had also been stolen! Upshot: there are NO security cameras here! and obviously security is bad...how did the thieves know how to access in and out of the hotel?? they did not in some way already know this? I was livid that the only security cameras in this 5 star hotel are on the elevator! how stupid and irresponsible. I really wonder how often this happens.
SO, the night manager says of Signora our insurance will cover your computer:
I go and make a "denuncia" (statement signed by me that says, on the night of...blah blah etc") they give me statement signed that says they will pay, HOWEVER this was already midnight and I had to leave early the next morning for the US. The next day they get back to me to say
THAT I MUST GO TO THE CARABINIERI !!! to make a declaration, that is, if I want to get riembursed. First question: why did the manager not tell me that? they knew I had to leave early and the same manager was there in the morning. Second is, you have a 5 star hotel, with NO security and you are not riembursing me? because I surely can't fly back to Rome to make this declaration....in short, this hotel should be paying for my new computer whether its OUT OF THEIR INSURANCE OR NOT! Don't stay here, period.

Room Tip: garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Murri99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Having read the reviews before travelling I was really excited about staying here,the position is fabulous and the garden is really unusual in Rome! However,i was disappointed! First impressions are a bit underwheming,the reception and staff were ok,it is a similar feel to a travel lodge and the reception staff were ok not over friendly.
The first night I was put right near the lift so woken up at 7 with everyone walking by,so I asked to be moved away from the lift,this was not a problem and was moved to room 240 overlooking the garden which was a beautiful view! For some reason my room smelt damp but I certainly didn't want to move again or to appear grumpy! My shower didn't work and when I told them it was repaired instantly.also when I requested an iron it was straight away so the service was really good.taxis were booked and called for immediately!
I can't comment on the food because we always ate out ! As I said the location is amazing but the comfort and design is sadly lacking,unfortunately the weather was poor so we spent a lot more time in the hotel which was a shame because it's very basic,I would say more like a 3 star,however if you are using it just as a base it's probably ok! There doesn't seem to be any heart or warmth here which is a shame because it could and should be amazing.unlikely I will be back.

Room Tip: If you can get a superior room or one facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snootyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Pros- location, central to most things
Clean rooms as you would expect from a standard 4 star

Cons- breakfast - not great
No WiFi signal in rooms
Noisy rooms-hotel adjacent to a small through road
Reception staff not very helpful when there is an issue I.e Internet access

Would I come here again? Probably not,but I would stay in the area. I certainly would not pay over the odds to stay here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Impatiently to go and visit Rome and choosing Kolbe hotel it was a direct communication with the reception after a good surfing at TripAdvisor. As we arrived things has been not in the agreement we fixed. The room was up to the forth floor. What a floor?! Just with 2 rooms a side and all windows covers with iron protection. So first the quality of the room was so low.
The rest raised a little bit up our expectation. Stuff at the restaurant in middle level and not that much interested for the clients. Probably we have been in the busiest time at the days of New Year Eve. Food (we used only breakfast) as buffet again in the middle level. What to say if after 4-5 days it's not coming any special memories...
Than way "average"?
1. Location in a very attractive place just behind the Roman Forum, by walk in 10 minutes you reach the Victoria square.
2. Reception in a good level, helpful and especially very flexible with taxi arrangement.
3. Lobby a very comfortable place with WiFi free access for clients of the hotel.
4. Back side of the restaurant and bar a garden with plenty lemon and orange tree.

Pity with such a location and great garden such a hotel should be placed definitively at the higher place hotel ranking in Rome.
Again at this hotel? With a better room arrangement yes!!

Room Tip: definitively not the 4th floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

My family of 5 - including 3 teen/preteens- spent a week on spring break in Rome. We chose Kolbe based on a friend's advice, and were not dissappointed. Immediately upon arrival we were greeted with warm smiles and welcoming faces. More about the staff in a minute.
The hotel is right in the middle of the tourist section of Rome with a view of Pallatine hill so it is walking distance (with strollers for littler ones) from most of the attractions. Having said this the Kolbe also has a beautiful, serene southwest facing courtyard which is perfect for unwinding with a glass of wine after a day sharing the above mentioned attractions with thousands upon thousands of your closest friends.
We booked a family suite and a double room. The single floor family suite was very spacious and the layout offered some privacy. The room could easily have fit a family of 4, or a family of 5 with younger children and an additional rollaway. There is also a loft suite, but that was not available when we went. The double was consistent with most European doubles, a king bed that the staff split into two twins in a room a little smaller than its American counterparts. The rooms also have spacious baths, and elegant details such as uplighting onto brick arches. The only improvement would be to wifi performance which was sporadic in the rooms.
The breakfast buffet was incredible as well. Fresh fruit, juices with both hot and cold options.
So great rooms, great location, but it was the staff that made the difference. There were warm greetings, helping us find some off the beaten path places to go, pointing out restaurants where locals like the food, arranging for taxis, etc. After a day, many knew our names and made us feel very welcome even despite my many failed attempts at Italian. Some standouts on the staff deserve mention: Elena, Allesandro, Francesca, Mauricio, Alicia, and Yoma. Their service, courtesy and professionalism rivaled that of many of the world class 5 stars I frequent on business.
All in all we were very impressed with the stay, and will return next time in Rome.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Thebucksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel was generally quite lovely. It was modern and clean and in a conveinet location for the sightseeing we wanted to do. However, considering the caliber and price, I did have a few complaints. They advertise that they have wifi, but the coverage was virtually non-existent in the rooms and spotty even in the lobby. Also, as others have mentioned in their reviews, the bed was very hard and the shower was very weak. Overall, I was generally satisfied with the stay, but I don't know that I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#75 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#150 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#65 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#41 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Property: Kolbe Hotel Rome
Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in Rome
#109 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#190 Business Hotel in Rome
#231 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing