We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but a little basic”
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Ranked #157 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient but a little basic”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A very conveniently placed hotel close to the road to the business district and also the main tourist places are walking distance. The hotel garden is really nice - lovely place to sit with a drink.

The rooms on the ground floor that my colleague and I had were fine - basic, a little shabby in places but suitable and spacious considering what we paid.

We didn't eat in the hotel but the service in the bar was a little slow but not the end of the world. The reception staff were helpful and recommended a nice restaurant "Dar Pallaro" nearby that was just what we were looking for.

Great for people who want to be central, don't want to pay the earth and don't want too much flair.

Room Tip: Front rooms can be quite loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alliekeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    479
    160
    46
    29
See reviews for
338
673
25
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in April 2013 for 7 nights.
Hotel location is amazing!!! Walking distance to the colosseum, Spanish steps, via del corso and all the touristy location. Also, a metro station is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel which can help with getting to the Vatican and you can also avoid lots of walking as the metro does go everywhere.
When we arrived in April 2013, Rome was hot and so was the room. Hotel did not turn on the AC as it was not normal to do so this time of the year. After 4-5 days we asked for Laundry to be done but the hotel returned all the clothes uncleared as there seemed to be a problem with the service. Day shift staff were weird, night shift staff were amazing and overall the staff were trying to be helpful each in their own way. Would recommend the hotel if the price remain attractive. Clean hotel. Breakfast is not great. Free wifi in the room as part of the package.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasser Nora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The Kolbe Hotel is very conveniently situated very close to the Forum, Colosseum and Capitolini Hill. The Trastevere district is also close by with it's wonderful cafe's and vibrant nightlife. This is a great place to stay for tourists as everything is walking distance. The hotel is quite pricey for what you get though... The rooms are average, the bathrooms small and the bedding isn't great but in spite of this we had a wonderful stay as the hotel staff are world class. Friendly, helpful and very accommodating. There is a lot of noise though and the rooms are not soundproof. Light sleepers beware!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Kolbe Hotel has been converted from a convent which gives it a simple under-stated elegance. It is in a quiet part of the city very close to the Forum, between the Capitoline and Palatine Hills. It is also quite near the Travestere district which is full of restaurants via a pleasant walk across the river. Other sights like the Vatican, the Pantheon and the Colosseum are further away but still walkable.
The hotel has a garden which is simple with a few ancient olive and orange trees but is quiet and spacious. When the weather is warm the restaurant and bar operate outside next to the garden. This is a very pleasant area to sit and have a drink after a hard-day's sight-seeing.
Our room was simple, quite austere, with a high ceiling and a great view out of the very large window. The bed was a good size and very comfortable and the shower/bathroom was excellent.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is internet access and a computer connected to a printer.
The breakfast was only average. The coffee was out of a machine, there was a very limited selection of fresh fruit and the pastries and breads were not great. However, you could eat as much you want and the restaurant area is nice.
Overall we were pleased we booked the Kolbe and we are happy recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S0crates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having booked a flight and hotel to Rome through British Airways I hoped for a smooth week end. We arrive at the hotel around 1600hrs. I presented our two hotel vouchers as we do not share rooms to the receptionist. There was quite a lot of talk going on between the two behind the desk. I asked, and was told there was only one room for us mumbling they thought I had booked in earlier! I would be put in another hotel for one night and returned for the other two nights. Of course I would go and come by taxi !..We were invited to have a drink while they sorted the mess out. We immediately phoned a friend in London gave him the booking reference and he phoned BA within ten minutes I had a room in a fully booked hotel! I was so delighted to have a room but it was small and dark certainly not worth £255+ a night. The shower was tiny but bathroom clean and fresh. My friend had a better room with a large bathroom.
The public areas were nice and a beautiful outside area. We dined there twice as we were too tired after busy days to go out. The food was wonderful and the staff there were the best I have witnessed anywhere in the world..Alissea, Maurizio and his twin brother (not identical) looked after us they were always interested in our day and prompt service too.No matter how busy they were they always had time for us. I don't remember the names of the great staff at breakfast time I must say the staff made our visit to the Kolbe well worth while, Pity about my room number214.

Forgive the spelling of the names..forgot there was a male receptionist (who lived in India) who was very helpful too

Room Tip: don't book room 214 Dinner is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarisJ1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Visited the hotel for a 3 night break in november.Got the hotel at a cheap price so didnt expect much but couldnt have been more wrong the hotel was very nice situated in a great place for sight seeing.The staff in the hotel were also very helpful.The rooms were really clean but nothing special.Visited sevral restruants in the city but the best meal we had was in the hotel on our final night "fantastic food".

Would definatley reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliver f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Perfect location, right in the centre of Ancient Rome and a stone's throw from the Forum. For the Vatican etc. the bus stop is at the end of the road, less than 5 minutes away (you need the number 81 bus which is every fifteen minutes approx. and can be purchased at the local newsagent). As requested, we had a garden view room with a bath on the third floor - very quiet and clean and stylish. Loved the room. Loads of fresh towels, shampoo's, cream's, even slippers for each person. Two flat screen TV's one upstairs and the other downstairs. Free Internet connection for two devices was invaluable. The breakfast choice was good, lots of fresh juices, teas, coffee's, cereals, bacon, scrambled eggs, cold meats, cheeses etc., etc. Enough choice for most tastes I imagine. The staff were all friendly and welcoming and the reception staff really helpful, ordering a taxi for us and giving directions. Everywhere was spotless and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job freshening up our room each day. Great price,great location and great hotel - we could not imagine anything more perfect for our needs. Fully deserves a top rating. Thank you Kolbe Hotel.

We will definitely use this hotel again and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for rear room as looks out on to lovely, well kept garden area and is much quieter than the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#146 of 1,256 in Rome
1,108 reviews
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#75 of 1,256 in Rome
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#67 of 1,256 in Rome
2,032 reviews
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#106 of 1,256 in Rome
1,269 reviews
Esquilino
Mecenate Palace
Mecenate Palace
#165 of 1,256 in Rome
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Property: Kolbe Hotel Rome
Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#96 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#190 Business Hotel in Rome
#230 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing