We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in a Superb Location”
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Ranked #160 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in a Superb Location”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

As a hotel and travel operator I rarely write reviews as it can seem a little unfair on those we do not review but every now and then we find somewhere exceptional and think others would greatly benefit from the knowledge.

The Kolbe Hotel is a hidden gem. The location is perfect for walking to many of the historic sites of Rome including Palantino, Aventino and Capitolini Hills with The Forum, Colosseum and Circo Massimo and many other sites all very close. Many of the other sites such as the Trevi fountain and famous piazzas are a little further but all quite walkable. The nearest metro is Circo Massimo which is about 10/12 minutes walk.

The hotel is tucked away so it is nice and quiet. The Kolbe is a hotel which has been nicely converted from an historic building and it has a calm atmosphere. The room I has allocated was large and had all modern amenities and all the staff were friendly and very willing to help. The breakfast buffet was as you would expect from a 4 star hotel and there was plenty of space, a wide choice of hot and cold food and no queuing. All in all this is a lovely hotel in the heart of Rome and was excellent value.

When you visit Rome it is like walking in history, so staying in an historic building adds to the experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coordinatours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    476
    158
    45
    28
See reviews for
335
670
25
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm writing from the hotel itself (free wi-fi) after having paid the bill...

I was born in Rome and lived here before moving abroad. So, I know very well my home town. I needed an hotel during my vacation to Italy and found this hotel on Last Minutes at a very convenient rate (79 euro/room/night). However, the hotel website shows the same price.

Overall, it was an EXCELLENT choice, specially for the price I paid. The hotel is actually located in a sort of spine that is surrounded by the Imperial Fora, and the Palatino. The location is just AMAZING. You can really understand from there why Rome is considered the most beautiful (at least artistically speaking) town of the Old World. If you like archaeology, this is the area to be, close to the most sumptuous archaeological in the World but also surrounded by wonderful Middle Ages houses (see via dei Foraggi) and by a lot of marvelous Baroque churches.

The courtesy of ALL the personnel is noticeable and very professional. Hard to find in Rome to be honest..I couldn't find a single glitch in the service.

Our room was nice, well organized and functional, super-quiet and looking over a nice garden. The building was obviously a Convent. The restoration is elegant and functional. They printed my boarding pass for free and also offered a welcome drink that was not included in the offer in the beautiful restaurant. It is also possible to park for free on the left side of the hotel (otherwise, in almost all of the town you have to pay 1 euro/hour all day long!!!). We couldn't try the Restaurant unfortunately.

Summary: go there if you can find a similar deal. Excellent choice under any aspect.

Room Tip: Look for the first floor rooms overlooking the garden- they cost less but they are quiet and with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pagheca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hotel Kolbe is in a great location - Its right next to the Roman Forum and easy distance to all attractions.

The room was 'ok' . Nice, clean and modern with a good sized comfy bed. Disappointed that there was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
Bathroom nice and modern and shower was good. Hairdrier adequate.

Breakfast was only 'ok' . cold meats , cheeses and pastries as expected. Fruit, yoghurt, orange and tea and coffee machine. Hot selection was choice of 4 and it never changed over 3 mornings. Boiled egg, scrambled egg, frankfurter sausages and fatty bacon. We tended to have toast and scrambled egg. but on the 3rd morning there was no bread left and the waitress said they had run out of bread and she had turned the toaster off. There should have still been another 3/4 hour service. Not happy and she couldnt care less.

Room Tip: we started in a front room overlooking the palatine hill but it was very noisy with vehicles on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellyatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I spent the days of year changing including the New Year eve; two from each year in Rome. As a new practice in my traveling I found via TripAdvisor an opportunity get a room at Kolbe Hotel Rome. Absolutely the location is the best and a very strong point at this hotel. It's placed beside Fore Romano a well known attraction of Rome. Hotel couldn't give an impression of a place that keeps you inside, stuff isn't well trained, but they just following their duties fill up the job. Bar was in-existent included to the only one restaurant hall. At the restaurant less men powers and long time waiting get service. Room disappointed me and in all dimensions and definitively not worthy for the cost, small windows and no balcony and … very strange feel up comfortable. Sleep quality better compare to the quality of the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gitea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We visited Rome for the company's annual strategic planning trip and all 24 of us stayed at the Kolbe. Service up to and during the visit was outstanding. The reservation team were unflappable in dealing with our complicated arrival and departure requirements, sending a variety of coaches and cabs to the airport without a hitch. The service at the hotel was even better - and the evening buffet they organised for us was great. The price was great value.

The Kolbe is in a great location; the rooms are great and the service is outstanding. People from the party enjoyed it so much a few have already booked to go back in the near future. I can't recommend it highly enough. Bravo (and thanks). !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel was great and the room we stayed was very spacious, with a nice decor and with a nice view to the garden. Before our arrival we thought that the location could be not be central, but after our arrival we verified the hotel was actually just a 10-15 minute walk from the Vitor Emanuel monument. We had a great stay and will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Paulo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Very nice reception, very friendly staff with good English
Room is nice if a little 'plain'. Neat and spacious, very large bed!
Bathroom is very clean and tidy, nice selection of 'potions'
Room very warm, air conditioning not working at all. Might not be warm for Romans but it is for me. Tried to open the window but the road outside is cobbled and it was too noisy.
Power shower disappointing. Took a very long time to get warm then was not really powerful at all. It is supposed to be a 'jacuzzi' shower!!
Location is fantastic, really in central Rome and ideal for sightseeing and tourist stops.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the back of the hotel!!! The rooms at the front are facing the cobbled street whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#76 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#156 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#69 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Monti
Hotel Forum Roma
Hotel Forum Roma
#191 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Property: Kolbe Hotel Rome
Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#97 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#190 Business Hotel in Rome
#230 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing