We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel/Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Ranked #180 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel/Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights. It was a great stay, hospitable staff, great sized room, clean, good bathroom, good variety at breakfast. Great location for everything and only around a 10 minute walk from a great deal of reasonably priced, good restaurants. Only a short walk from most major attractions that rome has to offer. The only downside was noise from the road as we had a ground level room. Would definitely recommend to people looking for a good hotel in Rome

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    420
    138
    41
    25
See reviews for
275
608
22
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. A nice and quiet hotel makes up a good base for exploring Rome’s tourist attractions. We walked to the Vatican (20 min), The Colosseum (10 min), The Spanish Steps (20 min) and the Piazza Navona (15 min). Although check in is not until 2 PM they were able to provide us with a room upon arrival 12:30 PM. The staff is friendly and the breakfast was very good. Our room was clean and had a view towards the roman forum. There are several good dining options nearby. I will happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gjeddefett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked this hotel as part of a three night surprise birthday trip for my wife and it could not have been better. The exterior of the hotel looks good, the lobby classy and the reception staff were excellent. Every question we had was answered professionally, with a smile.

Our family room was on split levels, meaning my two children slept upstairs and my wife and I downstairs -- when we initially saw the double sofa bed we had to sleep in, we were slightly concerned but the mattress, sheets and pillows were of a good quality: combined with miles of walking each day, every night we had a comfortable sleep. The kids enjoyed having their own area. The views onto the immaculately kept rear garden was delightful; only marginally spoiled on the second day by a palm tree outside our window being cut down with chainsaws at 7.30 in the morning!

The location is hard to surpass, being as it is right next to the Roman Forum, just 10-15 minutes from the charming Trastevere restaurant area, 15 minutes pleasant walk from the Colosseum, a 25 minute walk from the Pantheon, 30 from the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. A 10 minute walk to the Circus Maximus Metro station got us to the Vatican in about 30 minutes.

The included breakfast was very good and the waiting staff attentive and pleasant. Plenty of fresh food: pastries, fruit, cereals, toast, meats and cheeses.

When we checked out, they took care of our luggage for eight hours and happily called us a taxi to take us to the airport.

Recommended as long as you are happy to walk everywhere (and, in Rome, you really should)

Room Tip: Garden views are quiet and get the sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights recently. It is such an excellent location. Particularly if you want to see historic Rome. It is across (literally) from the Forum Romanum, around the corner from the Colosseum, right by the old palace (Palentine), beside the old Circus Maximus and across from the Aventine hill. San Clemente (excellent and maintained by the Dominicans now) and San Giovanni in Laterno are a short walk away (San Giovanni is a little longer but worth the walk).
A 15-20min quick walk to areas closer to the Vatican. Best to get a cab or underground (which is surprisingly easy to get around in for a tourist). Hotel is a good standard, clean, friendly and attentive staff. I would certainly stay here again - and will. When you get a solid hotel in Rome you remember it! Thanks to all the staff... loved the welcome glass of prosecco and the restaurant recommendation around the corner was spot on!
I would say good for couples (we got engaged!) but friends, families etc. should love the place and location.

Room Tip: If you like historic Rome then this is the place for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michealmm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a nice old building, stylishly converted and retaining the high ceilings and a lot of charm. Very well placed for a city break, with many sights within a short walk. Well worth a visit to the church of San Giorgio, whose windows peek onto the corner of the courtyard at grass level.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We moved here from a hotel further out from the centre, and were pleasantly surprised with the roo and the location. We had a junior suite which overlooked the looked out onto the Roman Forum. You can't really get closer to the centre of Rome. From here you can walk everywhere. In the evenings I would recommend a short walk to trastevere for bars and restaurants that the Romans use.
The room was clean and modern, but black mark for the half full bottle of beer in the fridge on our arrival.
Breakfast was about the usual offering for a European hotel.
The bar staff were attentive and friendly.
Ovaerall this was a good hotel that neither failed or excelled. The sights of Rome provided all we would want from the trip and I would recommend the Kolbe as a comfortable hotel in an ideal position.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allymac62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Kolbe Hotel is located opposite the Forum. It's slightly out of the way, and I was a bit alarmed when our taxi pulled up outside, but the the reception areas are well designed and very nice. It's pretty central for the Forum and Colosseum. The staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and polite. I was a bit disappointed in our rooms (we booked two as I was travelling with my son) as they were fairly spartan. However they were spotlessly clean and the bathrooms were gorgeous.

When I was shown to my room, I sat down on the bed for a moment and was shocked to find it absolutely rock-like. The mattress was foam and had no give to it at all. My son had the same type of bed in his room. The beds were so uncomfortable both of us found it nearly impossible to sleep. Not only that but my air conditioning control did not work properly. Despite adjusting it regularly I was cold all night.

The Jacuzzi shower in both bathrooms did not work at all, but the normal showers did and they were good. However the shower cabinets are very small!

The breakfast buffet is very good, and the staff in the bar are very friendly. The hotel has a nice atmosphere.

I cannot understand why such a lovely hotel would have such appalling beds. We were exhausted for most of our trip. I think the Kolbe Hotel tries very hard and their staff are wonderful but the rooms really do disappoint, especially in terms of sleep quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21stcenturyhousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Reviwer,

with regard to your review, we are happy to learn that you have appreciated your stay in our hotel and that you have found it suitable to visit the most important sites of Ancient Rome, namely the Fora and the Colosseum.
We would also like to thank you for having appreciated our personnel, their professionalism and kindness. We do our best to make our clients feel at ease and cared for.

We apologise for not having slept well. Our beds have high quality wooden slats and mattresses, ensuring an excellent sleep. All our guests have always appreciated them and nobody ever complained. But of course we respect your point of view. Usually, in other hotels
customers complain about soft and worn out mattresses, on the contrary we guarantee new and first quality material. Anyway, we will take your suggestion iinto account to improve our services and to guarantee a better stay.

As to the hydro shower, we checked your room and indeed the knob to select the hydro was quite hard to turn and needed some maintenance. We apologise for the inconvenient. In the house we do have an engineer in charge of the maintenance, so any problem should be immediately notified in order to deal with it straightforward and make your stay perfect.

Thank you for having posted a review on our hotel homepage and we hope to host you once again in our hotel.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#66 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,696 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#152 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#74 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Monti
Hotel Forum Roma
Hotel Forum Roma
#198 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Monti
Palatino Grand Hotel Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Property: Kolbe Hotel Rome
Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in Rome
#96 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#191 Business Hotel in Rome
#232 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing