We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kolbe hotel rome”
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Ranked #113 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Rome is incredible and this hotel is the best to visit all the archaeological sites. It is in the area of Ancient Roman Forum. There is only a small street between the hotel windows and the ruins of Roman Imperor Houses so from the room you can see all time the monuments. Colosseo, Circus Maximum and so many other monuments are few steps from the Hotel. Behind the Hotel there is a very beautiful Church and an antique marble arch. We have walked a lot as Rome time is never enough to visit everything. Near the Hotel there is even a City Tour stop and I think is the best way to have an overall idea of the places. So many places have not to be missed: Saint Peter and Systine Chapel, The Squares and Trastevere. At night we used to come back in hotel and have dinner in the very quiet restaurant. Good food and staff. Hotel is very clean and modern, has good services like good breakfast, wifi in the room, and a beautiful garden to enjoy a drink in relax. The room was big and with a Jacuzzi bath that we enjoyed so much.

We were very happy to have chosen Hotel Kolbe.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights over the 2011/12 New Year period. I am inclined to agree with earlier reviews that this is not altogether a four star hotel. My reasons are (1) our room really couldn’t have been smaller and had absolutely no view, despite us paying extra for a ‘superior’ room; and (2) the room service operated for only 3 hours per day (19.00-22.00).

That apart, this is a nice hotel with modern stylish fittings and is extremely well maintained. Spotlessly clean everywhere and the daily clean of our room was excellent and probably the best we have experienced anywhere. Pleasant garden but a bit to cool for us to use given the time of year we stayed – must be nice to come back to in the summer.

We had little need to trouble the staff but reception was excellent in all respects.

Breakfast was the only meal we took at the hotel which is entirely self-service. The choice, quantity and quality of the food were perfectly adequate for our needs.

The location of the hotel could not be nearer the Forum so very central to the city. About 10 minute walk to the busy tourist area but there are a few small shops and bars along the way. Enchanting side streets to walk through. The metro is about 15 minutes away by walking to the other side of Circus Maximus.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This hotel is delightful. Despite being centrally located and within walking distance of all of Rome's main attractions it retains an air of peace and tranquillity. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful and the room we stayed in was superb.

There have been some reviews here which mention that the breakfast is perhaps not what you'd expect from a four star hotel and whilst it was more than adequate, being of a continental type with fresh bread and pastries every day, it may not satisfy those who demand 'the full monty'. It is perhaps a little surprising that the management of the hotel have not taken heed of the comments here as it is clear that they read them.

The restaurant is overpriced even by Rome standards but there are plenty of restaurants within a ten minute walk from the hotel including a little one called Anima Mundi just 50 metres from the hotel which has received many excellent reviews on Trip Advisor (although the reality doesn't quite live up to the expectation so be warned!).

The room heating is a bit eccentric as no matter how often you turn it off it contrives to turn itself back on again.

All in all, and despite my comments above, this is a truly excellent hotel and should I find myself in Rome again I would have no hesitation in booking a room here again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road are just fine as there are no buildings on the opposite side and the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R1chard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Well located, most of Rome's sites are within a 20 minute walk. Hotel is reasonably comfortable, quiet, with a good, though not outstanding breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We spent four beautiful days in this marvelous hotel. We booked with Cathrine and she suggested a Family Suite for us.
What a Suite it was! The bathroom was all in marble, hydrojets in the bath and the views of the garden! All of that, while the birds were singing in the morning.
Rome is incredible with so many historical monuments and this Hotel was right in the middle of it all. I highly recommend this hotel and please don't forget to try the food at their restaurant! The kitchen and the food is of top quality and superb!
Table settings are elegant and you have a chance to even eat in the garden if it's not in the winter months.
We will definitely be back someday! Cheers

Room Tip: Room with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sofija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We've just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at the Kolbe hotel arriving on the 9th Feb. The hotel staff were all very welcoming and friendly. When we arrived we were given a map and shown places to visit. The maps are just on the reception desk and really easy to read. Our room was a suite overlooking the Gardens and was very quiet at night. The rooms were spotless and cleaned everyday. Breakfast was Continental buffet style and bacon & scrambled eggs being replaced regularly so always fresh and plenty of fruit yoghurts cereal croissants etc. The location was great for the Roman Forum and the Colosseum with all the other sights within walking distance. After a full day walking around Rome it was nice to sit in the bar and have a glass of wine and had a good laugh with the staff on the bar and also chatted to other residents who were also there to see the Rugby. Unfortunatey it snowed the weekend we visited so the Colosseum & Forum was closed but we still saw lots and now have a great excuse to go back later in the year. The hotel can also arrange taxi transfers at good prices. We could not fault the hotel, staff and the standards (My husband works abroad so stays in hotels all the time and is very fussy & he didn't complain once). When we left I realised I had left some clothes in the wardrobe and rang the hotel from the airport so they are posting it over to me. Will definitely be revisiting and would recommend it to anyone visiting Rome.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the gardens are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbysdadgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Ignore the snobby average reviews on this hotel. People who say rooms were not big enough, location was not good etc are talking rubbish. I am in my early 20's, I took my girlfriend to this hotel and it was perfect. Room was not overly big but absolutely spotless and changed every single day with fresh towels and bedding. Breakfast was repetitive but again, brilliant and plenty of choice I found. Location was excellent, just 10mins to colosseum and 10mins the other way to get into city centre. Brilliant hotel all round with very pleasant staff... You can't get much better but I suppose some people are just ridiculously hard to please, this hotel was great value, I promise you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#80 of 1,272 in Rome
1,917 reviews
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#70 of 1,272 in Rome
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#63 of 1,272 in Rome
1,263 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#135 of 1,272 in Rome
1,203 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#67 of 1,272 in Rome
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#190 Business Hotel in Rome
#230 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $156 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing