We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, shabby apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Ranked #18 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, shabby apartments”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We originally booked an apartment and found it extremely dissapointing. The bed was like something in a hostel, the rest of the furniture was shabby and the room was very noisy. The front desk staff were extremely responsive to our request to move to the hotel. We loved the rooms in the hotel itself. They are very small but beautifully appointed. Kind of over-the top decor, but done with such thought and quality that they are like jewel boxes. Great bathrooms too. Location is unbeatable. Awsome roof deck. But it is the staff that makes the hotel exceptional.

Room Tip: Don't rent an apartment. Rooms in front seem best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedGap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your 5 point review and for the beautiful words that you have written in your review such as,” Location is unbeatable. Awesome roof deck, jewel boxes. Great bathrooms, . But it is the staff that makes the hotel exceptional.”
Your reservation was for an apartment but you were expecting a hotel room and we immediately moved you into the hotel having availability. It is our first thought with our guests to keep the expectations up when possible because we base ourselves more on a personal happiness more than an economic point.
Your description of the hotel is clear and overall and this is always a real pleasure to read that our guests appreciate what our facilities and personal offer.
Warmest regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,849
    436
    79
    28
    20
See reviews for
521
1,388
92
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I recently stayed in Rome on my own and chose Hotel Campo De' Fiori mostly due to Tripadvisor comments and wasn't let down. I loved it and the location was great. It is at the most 30 mins walk to nearly all the attractions. Many attractions are closer than this. The campo de fiori plaza behind the hotel is a great spot to buy fresh fruit, souvenirs, coffee and gelati. I didn't actually eat a meal in the plaza preferring to eat in the Travastere area which is only a 10 minute walk. The rooftop terrace is a fantastic place to sit and relax at the end of the day and has great views. The room I had was small but given I was by myself it didn't bother me, although I think it would have been a little cramped if there had been two of us. The breakfast was good and most days I didn't eat Lunch as I had enough at breakfast to last until the evening meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Having selected Hotel Campo de’ Fiori for your stay in Rome because of its’ positive reviews and Tripadvisor position and giving us a 5 point (max) rate is truly something to talk about. This means that you have touched with your own hands the fact that our reviews on Tripadvisor are real and written by real guests and therefore our position of 9 is earned! Our location which is unbeatable being a hop skip and jump away from all major sites is also to be considered a time as well as a money saver. When one speaks about the rooms one needs always to keep in mind that the Campo de’ Fiori area is of the 1400’s period therefore the hotel is obligated to maintain its’ architectural composition but we believe this is overcome by the fact that you receive a beautiful elegantly furnished room with all modern commodities and better yet in the most trendy area of Rome today as well as one of the most historical areas of the city.
Our breakfast is organized that our guests are able to pick from sweets to salts including fresh cornetti, different types of bread, scrambled eggs, different types of yogurt, pies, cakes, biscuits, fresh cuts such as salami, ham, different types of cheeses, fruit, a vast selection of teas, fresh coffee or cappuccino different types of juices and the list goes on and on… as you confirmed writing,” The breakfast was good and most days I didn't eat Lunch as I had enough at breakfast to last until the evening meal”.
Thanking you once again for your 5 point review and for reading our tripadvisor reviews!
Best regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Firstly it is necessary to understand they have the main hotel and then, in a separate building, three apartments (maybe more). We were in one of the apartments.

The apartment we were in looked out onto the Plaza itself, with its bustling market and restaurants. The apartment had air conditioning and was fit out with a small kitchen (including stove top, bar fridge, Italian coffee making equipment and basic utensils). The bathroom was a little more spacious though as other reviewers have noted the shower is probably a bit small for some. The hot water was of a good temperature and the shower head was decent.

There was also a small dining table and a flat screen TV (fairly limited offerings in the channels though) with couch. The bed was two singles pushed together and was quite comfortable. The cleaning service was very efficient.

The location simply cannot be faulted. Firstly, the hotel is basically right on the Piazza Campo di Fiori which offers great fresh produce, decent restaurants (the espresso style coffees at Mercato are my special recommendation) and many fashion stores. The atmosphere at night is great but if you just want to sleep the apartment window is double glazed and there are shutters (for the very light sleepers I would still suggest earplugs though).

More importantly, ALL the major sights are within easy walking distance for anyone of average fitness. This includes the Colosseum, Roman Forum, Piazza Navona, Spanish Steps (high end stores nearby), the Pantheon and the Vatican.

Finally, for somewhere different to eat you can walk just a block or two south of the hotel and cross the river into Trasvetere, famous for extremely cheap and amazing food. In all this is the best location I have ever stayed in in any city.

My main criticism is that there is no wifi in the apartments- you have to cross to the main hotel. This is annoying if you want to backup photos over night, or whatever. Also, sometimes you just don't feel like sitting in the hotel lobby whenever you need to check emails etc.

My other criticism is that the cleaner knocked at 10am one morning but we were still getting ready to go out, so then the next morning she knocks at 9:40am ... and guess what, we were still getting ready to go out. These are hardly outlandishly late times for people on holidays so either the cleaner needs to be more patient or, more logically, they should just get do not disturb/make up my room signs for the doors. This would solve the problem quite easily. In fairness I should note the cleaner did do a lovely job.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to a friend but I would recommend trying to get a room in the main hotel. Also, I overheard the staff saying the best rooms are on levels five and six and that some of the deluxe rooms aren't on hotels.com, so I would recommend just giving them a ring! But what a lovely hotel and friends staff too. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Levels five and six!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guest,
Reading your review I noticed that you stayed in one of our apartments located within a 30 second walk from the hotel and right on the World Famous, Piazza Campo de’ Fiori! Staying in one of the plaza apartments I would like to highlight that you had a view of the famous plaza from your apartment and could see whenever you wanted to the famous statue located exactly on the spot where the famous heretic monk Giordano Bruno was burned alive in 1600 for his thoughts. It is one of the most trendy areas of Rome today!
All of our apartments are located in the Campo de’ Fiori area and are within a 1 minute walk away from the hotel making this truly an unforgettable as well as a must when staying in Rome. It is pleasing to read that you did appreciate our apartment in all of its’ aspects from the position to the bathroom to the silent windows and the cleaning even if you have indicated a small criticism is the fact that the chambermaids came by around 10:00 am asking if they could clean the apartment. I can only suggest that the next time you are with us to refer to the reception that you do not want early cleaning but a late cleaning and this will be immediately organized. I believe the chambermaids came around 10:00 am wanting to have you find your apartment cleaned when you re-entered into the apartment believing that you may have gone down to the market to buy some fresh fruit or necessities having a fully furnished kitchen in the apartment.
Referring to the Free WiFi, the apartment you were in was recently renovated and therefore we were waiting for the telephone technician to come to the apartment to install and program the Free WiFI. Today it is available. I can only say that at least you did have the Free WiFi in the hotel which is also accessible on the roof top terrace with the fabulous 360° view of Rome.
Concluding with a beautiful phrase that you have written, “what a lovely hotel and friends staff too. You won't be disappointed!”
Thank you for having taken time to write your review and hope to have you as our guests in the future!
Best Regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked this hotel just on trip advisor recommendations alone. It surpassed all our expectations. We wanted a quaint romantic getaway for our wedding anniversary and we got that and more. An amazing staff, beautiful hotel with fabulous decor and a fantastic location. We walked to all the major tourist attractions and ate at wonderful restaurants at night on the recommendation of the hotel staff. The staff go above and beyond taking care of you. Exemplary! The deluxe double room was amazing, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, air conditioned and so peacefully quiet. We loved loved loved it. Breakfast was really good, such a great variety to choose from and it set us up for the morning. The rooftop garden is just beautiful and if you want a good atmosphere at night the Campo de Fiori square is just around the corner with some really good bars. Great atmosphere there by day, even better at night. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, staying here is a must!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 1st floor and it was perfect. No noise level from the street or the hotel itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
I believe that, “to appreciate one needs to experience” and it is a joy to read in your review that all that you experienced with us was for you a top experience! As your title says, “Excellent Hotel” , and you describe, “amazing staff- Exemplary!, beautiful hotel, fantastic location.” What makes your review even more important for us is that you were celebrating your Wedding Anniversary and this made your want to be happy major in comparison to other times and as you state, “we got that and more”, “We loved loved loved it.” It is also a nice confirmation to read that you were on the first floor and heard no noise while usually in other hotels the noise is heard.
Concluding, “We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, staying here is a must!
Warmest regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

If all you are looking for a hotel in the perfect location for sightseeing in Roma, this is definitely a good spot. You can walk to all of the sites and the nightlife around the hotel is amazing (although not quiet). The rooftop deck has an incredible view of the old city, a perfect spot to bring a bottle of wine and watch the sunset. Hotel staff were also kind and helpful.

We are giving this hotel a 3.5 because, although clean, the rooms were old, dark and strangely decorated and the breakfast was absolutely terrible. We were forced to go out of the hotel each morning for coffee because the coffee served at breakfast was undrinkable, especially considering that you are in Italy! The buffet was also terrible, serving generic / processed bread/cheese/meat/etc in their hotel basement - much better spent on some good Roman food (although that ended up being very hard to find without recommendations, come prepared!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbeyandNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Direttore at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, October 19, 2015
Dear Guest,
“The rooms were old, dark and strangely decorated”: our rooms are part of a very old building located in the most historic district of the ancient rome and dating back to the 11th century and being renovated many times to preserve its beauty. Also, what you call “strangely decorated” are Baroque ornaments from the 16th century.
“The breakfast was absolutely terrible”: 90% of our guests were always surprised about noticing the high quality of intercontinental buffet able to please any kind of people from all over the world, with its great selection of foods including pies, cookies, juices, yogurts, cheese, milk, fruits, vegetable, bread, ham, salami. Not to miss our uniquely Italian espresso and cappuccino.
A 3 out of 5 rating should have borne in mind all of the above unique features.
Thank you for appreciating our “rooftop deck” and our “kind and helpful staff”.
Warm regards
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Incredible location to visit the major Rome attractions!! The rooms are very nice, spotless and the bathrooms are great. I stayed here with my sisters and three teenaged nieces and they all really enjoyed their rooms. Mine had a balcony which was wonderful to relax on after a day of touring. The staff were very friendly and helpful in giving us directions to various locations and places to eat. I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in Rome

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
“Great location wonderful rooms excellent staff”
This is a beautiful review since it covers not only one but several generations (parents, sisters and teenage nieces) and being all very pleased. It is already difficult to receive approvals from one generation imagine three and this has happened once again and it is truly a beautiful thing to read for us!

Your title covers all aspects of your stay such as, our central location, our elegantly furnished rooms and our staff which is always there to suggest and to explain. You had our top floor room with private balcony which permitted you to relax in private being furnished with chairs and table. The other rooms of course all furnished elegantly without forgetting about the modern commodities such as Free WiFi, flat LCD TV, A/C and the list goes on…

It is pleasing to read as well that you will stay with us the next time you are in Rome. It weill be enjoyabke seeing you once again.

Best Regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Location, location, location .... We had no trouble walking to the Vatican, Trastevere, Spanish Steps, Coliseum. There are almost too many good dining options nearby. The rooms are beautiful if not large. Breakfast is outstanding and coffee is pleasantly served by the same woman who was there on our previous visit in 2008. The rooftop patio is the perfect place to conclude an evening and admire the city.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BB_KingKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
As they say, “there’s no two without three!” Since you’ve been with us twice we will be expecting you for the third time as well! It is always glorifying to read in the reviews that guests that have come back have once again indicated a fabulous stay with us. Location, rooms, breakfast, rooftop and the list goes on and on! What more can one say but thank you once again! As you state, “we hope to be back” and we hope you will be back. We believe as many do that a lifetime isn’t enough to see all that the Eternal City has to offer. The only city in the world where “legend” has been found to be fact and where fact seems like a legend. All that one desires to find and live is found and lived in this city that has been the capital of the Western Worlds’ most important Empire and with the longest duration.
Warmest Regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,619 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,256 in Rome
169 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,256 in Rome
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,256 in Rome
2,863 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,256 in Rome
3,487 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori

Property: Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Address: Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#20 Family Hotel in Rome
#71 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo de' Fiori is located in a unique position in the heart of the lively and pituresc area of Rome known as Campo de' Fiori. The hotel is a fabulous “BOUTIQUE HOTEL”, romantic, cozy and sought after, that know’s how to offer to it’s guests a suggestive atmosphere to make unforgettable there stay in the Eternal City.The hotel is situated since 1937 in an antique structure of the Roma Baroque period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo De Fiori Rome
Campo De Fiori Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing