We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Around”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ristorante Arturo

Ristorante Arturo
Reserve with
Ristorante Arturo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,390 of 12,162 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The Best Around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our expectations for our first meal in Italy were perhaps a little high, and we didn’t really give Arturo’s enough of a chance to knock our socks off, but we weren’t overly impressed by the food. Service, value and atmosphere, however, were excellent.

At the end of the driveway to the Crowne Plaza St James, and about 50 metres to the right, Arturo’s is a huge family-run restaurant. It has a very warm, welcoming feel to it, and is spaciously set out. We sat outside on the patio, with beautiful outdoor lighting. It was really exciting being there in Rome for the first time.

I ordered the margherita pizza, perhaps putting too much stock in the simplicity of food being touted by the pretentious celebrity chefs back home. It was fine, good even, but I wasn’t blown away by the intense flavours of fresh Italian ingredients, as I was expecting. That would have to wait for a cold slice of the same in Florence a few days later. My wife had the mushroom pasta, which admittedly was quite tasty, and she really enjoyed. Unfortunately a dodgy mushroom snuck past the chefs backstage, and the texture of the “snot mushroom” nearly had me wearing my wife’s dinner. While she kept it down, it did take the shine off the apple. Arturo’s menu is heavily laden with seafood, and judging by the reactions of the people around us at the other tables, I think that’s where you need to aim your fork.

The waiter was friendly enough, but obviously busy. However, Arturo’s daughter was just lovely, chatting to us as we paid the very reasonable bill of only 32e ($40). Arturo himself was a bit of a character, trying to engage us with the few things he knew about Australia in broken English. While he earned an embarrassed eye roll from his daughter, we found it really charming.

If you’re staying at the Crowne Plaza, then Arturo’s is not only worth a try, it’s an absolute must. And if you’ve eaten at the hotel, you’ll understand why. Otherwise, a 15e ($20) taxi ride from the city centre will get you there, and the cab rank outside the hotel will get you back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank captain_beetroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arturo011, Owner at Ristorante Arturo, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your dining experience. The texture of the mushroom that seemed somewhat "snotty" because it was a particular mushroom. You are refering to the Porcini mushrooms and they are of the highest quality. In all fairness we are not a Pizzeria, but rather do specialize in seafood and grilled meat. The next time you are in Rome I hope you will come back and I promise to "knock your socks off" with some spectacular seafood dishes! Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    204
    88
    43
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
“A Real Italian Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have eaten a few times at Arturo's restaurant and I am never disappointed. The grilled meat and pizzas are especially delicious. The owner always greets me and makes me feel welcome. I always enjoy the food and the atmosphere in the outdoor seating which is covered and can be enjoyed year 'round! I look forward to my next meal at Arturo's!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GTMeteoro69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
“Pleasure to Dine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had the pleasure of eating at Arturo's and found the dining experience to be quite enjoyable. The owner suggested a wine and it was perfectly suited to the food I had ordered. Every plate from the antipasto to the dolce was delicious and creative. I will go back as often as possible not only for the food but also for the lovely and romantic atmosphere in the covered terrace!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ItalyTrvlQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I went on a month long tour of Europe and had the pleasure of dining at Arturo's. Looking back, this was hands down the best food and best experience I had the entire trip. The magical, inviting atmosphere is only surpassed by the mouthwatering, delicious food.

Exquisite dining and excellent service! Counting down the days until my next visit..

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank codyborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellent service and great food and within 50m of our hotel. Only there for two nights and ate there both times

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Familylark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arturo011, Owner at Ristorante Arturo, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your dining experience. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Arturo also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Arturo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing