We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Retrome Rome
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (271)
    Filter reviews
    271 results
    Traveler rating
    126
    104
    26
    7
    8
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    126
    104
    26
    7
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsb bno elevatorrooms are nice and cleanperfect locationgave us a mapstayed here for two nightsminute walk to the colosseumfirst floorquiet areawithin walking distanceneighborhoodapartmentmetrocolosseokeysconsbnb
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    86 - 91 of 271 reviews
    Reviewed January 22, 2014

    Good value for money. The hotel is conveniently located near Colloseum (few minutes to metro Colleseo). Some fine restaurants in the area (the hotel staff provides a map on which they are indicated; we double checked at tripadvisor and our own experience confirms: yes good food!)
    The room is clean & convenient. We appreciated the little kitchenette. We didn't take breakfast, as we prefer to go to different places (dependant on where we're heading), so we cannot comment on that. In short: we can recommend this hotel!

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Anniemo2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

    Hi,

    Thank you for your nice review. We really appreciate the time you took in order to write this review and to share your good experience with Retrome with other traveller.

    We are happy that you liked our location. This is one of the most important aspects when you book a city holiday, and we are really proud with our location as it offer a real local Roman experience, and still, you are close to any tourist attraction at the historic center of Rome.

    We are looking forward to welcome you again in Rome or in Barcelona, at our new boutique hotel in the center of the city.

    Regards,

    Oren
    Retrome

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 12, 2014

    During our stay for 3 days in Rome we enjoyed a very good service. At arrival there was someone waiting for us (it's an B&B not a hotel) till we arrived in the late evening. It was a not very big room but all we need was there. And very important, it was clean. Every morning a good breakfast in a local bar in the same street as Retrome. Breakfast with the Italian people.
    Conclusion: cheap, clean, good location, good service. All you need for a short stay in Rome!

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank CitytripRome
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

    Hi,

    Thank you for your very nice review. We really appreciate the time you tokk in order to write this review and to share your good experience with Retrome.

    We are happy that you liked the cleanliness of our property. It is essential for us that the accommodation will be spotless, and we are more than happy that it has be appreciated by our guests.

    We are looking forward to welcome you in Rome, or in Barcelona, at our new boutique hotel at the center of the city.

    Regards,

    Oren
    Retrome

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 3, 2014

    We received a warm welcome when we arrived. The rooms are nice and clean, the location is perfect, close to the Colosseo, subway, restaurants and supermarket. The breakfast is served at a different location, but very close to the hotel and it was very good and tasty.

    • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank BudgetTraveller27
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

    Hi,

    Thank you for your nice review. We really appreciate the time you toom in order to write this review and to share your good experience with us.
    It was a pleasure to host you, and we are happy that you liked your stay, and of course the location of the Colosseum Garden.

    We are looking forward to host you in the future in Rome or in Barcelona, at our new boutique hotel in the center of the city.

    Regards,

    Oren
    Retrome

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 22, 2013

    We stayed here in October, the location is fantastic. Complimentary breakfast at a nearby café wasn't great and quite difficult to find too, even with the map they provided. There's some great gelato a few doors down from the hotel too!

    The rooms were comfortable and I would stay again but maybe have my breakfast elsewhere.

    • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Kmg1982
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

    Hi,

    Thanks a lot for your review. We really appreciate the time you took to write this review and to share your good experience with Retrome.

    we are happy that you really liked our location, which si really unique. Regarding the breakfast - I am happy to tell you that we have change the location of the breakfast Cafe we serve, and we get a lot of good compliments now for the quality of the breakfast.

    We thank you again, and look forward to host you in the future in Rome or Barcelona.

    Regards,

    Oren
    Retrome

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 16, 2013

    We checked in for 4 nights here on the last leg of our honeymoon trip. Angela met us with a warm welcome, and gave us a map with lots of neighborhood stores and restaurants highlighted nearby. We were even treated to a bottle of complimentary red wine too! The hotel was on a quiet street, and the apartment itself was secluded and quiet. It came equipped a kitchenette, outdoor terrace, and another bonus was a washing machine. There was a TV with a selection of English DVDs, as well as extra space heaters in case we needed extra heat.

    The Colosseum is right down the street, and there were lots of great eating options in the neighborhood. There is a flower and a vegetable market a block or two away, as well as a wine shop, grocer and pharmacy so it's convenient for anything you might need during your stay. We felt safe in the neighborhood here, even late at night.

    The only negative to note was the bathroom and some areas of the apartment weren't real clean. It wasn't a total pigsty mind you, but it was like a bachelor's apartment and certainly not what you'd expect in a hotel. There was some mold in the shower, as well as on the walls and ceiling, and even the white garbage cans were dirty and brown with no liners. The doorways and lightswitches were stained and obviously hadn't been cleaned in a while. However, our bedding was clean and fresh, and the floors in the common area looked fairly clean. These are details that I'd never miss in my own home, so I was a bit shocked. The location was so good, and price point was so low that we just sucked it up! It really wasn't worth complaining over or going through the hassle of trying to change rooms. Just keep this in mind if you have high expectations (or a germaphobe).

    All that aside, after staying in a very noisy hotel in Florence, we were just glad to be in a quiet place. It was a comfortable apartment and we slept like rocks and awoke refreshed and ready to conquer Rome again each day. I'd probably stay again if they gave the place a deep cleaning. It was a charming apartment.

    • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Julie S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

    Hi Julie,

    Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the time you took in order to write this review and to share your good experience at the Colosseum Garden.

    We are happy that you liked our personalized service. It is so important for us. We took into account the remarks you gave about the cleanliness of the apartment you stayes, and will make sure that also the small details will always be covered.

    We are looking forward to host you in the future in Rome or Barcelona, at our new boutique hotel in the center of the city.

    Regards,

    Oren
    Retrome

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews