We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms and staff service.”
Review of Retrome Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Retrome Rome
Ranked #463 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great location, rooms and staff service.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent welcome, including a bottle of prosecco, to celebrate my honey moon. The retro vintage rooms are spacious and amazing, and they take you to a different world. The staff is very friendly and give you tips about the city. The breakfeast was not in the same building, instead it was in a nice terrace very close to the hotel.

As a plus, perfect location, just 100mt from the Colosseum.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Aldo,

Thank you for your nice review, and congratulation (again) for your honeymoon!! We are happy that we have contributed to this special occasion.
We are glad that you liked the decoration of our room, We pay a lot of attention and resources for this aspect, and we are happy that most of our guests choose to stay with us based on our unique style. If you plan to visit Barcelona in the future, please have a look at our boutique hotel in the center of the city that offers the same style and the retro-vintage feeling.

We thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,

Oren
Retrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    99
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
47
139
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am a frequent traveler, both with work and for pleasure and have to say i was thoroughly impressed with this hotel. In previous experiences of Italy, i would say that the quality of hotel for the price you pay is pretty poor compared to a lot of other places in the world, but that is certainly not the case here. The hotel is in a fantastic location, easily walkable to most attractions and the metro station. The Colosseum is quite literally on the door step. However, don't think this means it is in a busy or noisy location, as the hotel is situated a few streets away in a lovely neighbourhood that will really let you experience authentic Italian life. There are many quality restaurants and cafes that cater to all budgets. unlike some of the other areas of Rome, where the food can be below average and over priced, clearly to extort Tourists. The room was clean, quiet and well decorated, and i really liked the shared kitchen area with coffee making facilities. Finally the staff, we were warmly welcomed with cold beverages, given lots of information about tours and attractions and very useful recommendations of places to eat nearby, without the pushy sales pitch we received in other italian Hotels. We were recommended a restaurant nearby called Luzzi di Luzzi by the staff and it was one of the best meals we had on our Italian trip. The Gelateria on the corner is also very good. I very much doubt you find a better hotel experience in Rome in this price range. It was excellent value for money and vasttly improved our experience of Rome. I will recommend to anyone traveling to Rome, and would personally stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
HI Ross,

Thank you for your great review on your stay at Retrome. We really appreciate the time you took to share your good experience with other travelers.
We try to give our guests not only the best attentive personalized service, and a uniquely designed retro-styled accommodation, but also a great value for their money. We are happy to read that this is being appreciated. .
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future. If you are looking for the same experience in Barcelona, please check our new boutique hotel there. You will love it.

Warm regards from Rome,

Oren
Retrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located to the train station and was very easy to find.
The staff were great and the hotel is very American vintage.

We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and when we arrived to our room there was a bottle of Presecco waiting for us.

That was very nice.

The B&B had many doors to access to get to the room, but I felt very safe.

The only thing I didn't like was that when we came back to our room the first day it hadn't been picked up. But, I found the innkeeper and he was able to exchange our towels.

I would stay there again.

Thanks to Angela who let us relax for a while in the lobby before trekking over to the train station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Shannon,

Thank you for your nice review. We appreciate the time you took to share your experience with other travelers.
Out top priority is the service to our guests, and when we can, we give that special "touch"and attention. We are happy that you liked that bottle of Prosecco...
We hope to be able to welcome you again in Rome. If you plan to travel to Barcelona, please check our boutique hotel there (in the center of everything). We are sure that you are going to love your stay there as well.

Warm regards from Rome.

Oren
Retrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall our stay at the bnb was excellent. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, rooms were spacious and clean and also have an external kitchen to use with a fridge kettle and many over essentials. Only issue was the staff at the breakfast cafe. Extremely rude with poor service. On the 2nd morning of our stay we actually walked out before we even got to breakfast we were that unimpressed. The hotel could do with explaining to the cafe and their staff that the service they provide should be just as good as the service provided by the retrome bnb itself.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamboatrickie1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi,
It was a pleasure to host you in Rome. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyedd your stay with us, and appreciate the time and efforts you took in order to share your experience with other travellers.
We are going to check with the owner of the Cafe about the service you report here. Usually, the guests are happy with the service and Italian breakfast they get, and we try to control the level of service there, but if you have been treated in an unprofessional way, it has to be addressed immediately, and we are going to do that.

We will be happy to welcome you again in Rome, or in Barcelona with our new boutique hotel in the center of the city.

Regards,

Oren
Retrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a four night stay at retrome. The room we stayed in was large and had everything anyone would need for a short break away. It is very close to the Colosseum and it is great to walk past every day.

The staff were very helpful and communication was good before and during our stay. They were very welcoming and recommended a number of places that we should visit and eat at.

When booking we found a number of places that were very expensive in this area and retrome represents great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nenes84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your very nice review. It was a pleasure to host you in Rome, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
We put a lot of emphasize on introducing the real Roman life to our guests. We have created an online map with most of the points of interest in our neighborhood (which we like, and want to share our experience with our guests), and you got also a printed map that we have prepared with the most interesting points to vist and dine. We hope that you have enjoyed the local atmosphere.

Thanks again,

Oren
Retrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a lovely time staying here. It was not hard to find the first time- having read reviews we knew there would no be a flashing sign, but if you know the street and property number you will find it.
We had a great welcome, very friendly and helpful with a free cup of tea- very welcome after travelling.
The room was lovely, not a bad size for city centre accommodation. Great location- so close the colisseum you could almost get blase seeing it every day! Close enough to walk to most sites but also close enough to use the metro if tired of walking.
You do not need to move far for fab food and drink- try the pizza at 'Made in Sud' just up the road and the croissant at coffee shop opposite the pharmacy around the corner. Friendly waiter at the jazz wine bar nearby, and off course the ice cream parlour on the corner!
All in all a great value place and good base for a city break.

with a quick online search for a map.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moti_retrome, Owner at Retrome Rome, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear May,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time you took in order to share your positive experienve with us, and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Retrome.
We are happy to read that you liked the restaurants and the general atmosphere in our area. It is a residential neighborhood, so you can meet the real Italalian, and eat in excellent restaurants, but with the regular local prices, and not the tourist prices that you can sometimes find in areas like Piazza Navona.
It was a pleasure to host you during your stay in Rome, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future in Rome or in Barcelona at our new boutique hotel in the center of the city.

Regards,

Oren
Retrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

After living in Rome for two years in 2008-2010 we were happy to visit the city again in March 2013. The RetRome was advised to us by Roman friends who had people staying over there before.

RetRome B&B proved to be an excellent place to stay. Central location (central and quiet!), tidy rooms and off course the retro-design bonus. The hostess Angela was very helpful (though we didn't need much of an explanation) and the room was cleaned every day.

The Retro design could be a bit "more". The reception looked great and I presume, being a tourist, I would expect one of the famous romantic 50's and 60's images of Rome in our room. But I can fully understand the less is more philosophy so... keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomfooleryNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you for your great review, and of course, thanks for visiting us again.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you could have seen, the hotel is decorated in a retro-vintage style, but each room is individually decorated, so depends on the theme of every room, you can find a different decor and retro influence. We are very proud with our personalized service, and Angela and her team is doing the best to let all our guests feel at home. It is always good to hear a good feedback about it.

We hope to be able to welcome you also in our new boutique hotel in the center of Barcelona. You will appreciate the retro style there as well.

Regards,

Oren
Retrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
#493 of 3,669 in Rome
60 reviews
Monti
Guest House Maison Colosseo
Monti
Arena Guest House Colosseo
Arena Guest House Colosseo
#208 of 3,669 in Rome
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
MarcoAurelio49 Apartments - Colosseo
Monti
Profumo Maison d'Hotes
Profumo Maison d'Hotes
#124 of 3,669 in Rome
261 reviews
Monti
Colosseum B
Colosseum B
#331 of 3,669 in Rome
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retrome Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retrome Rome

Property: Retrome Rome
Address: Via Marco Aurelio 47, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #463 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Retrome Rome 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retrome is a design, boutique accommodation, offering private guest rooms and apartment suites all with private en-suite bathrooms in Retro-Vintage design in the very center of Rome, in a quiet location just meters from the Colosseum.Our air-conditioned guest rooms are spacious and comfortable and our apartment suites varies in size and can host up to 8 guests in the large 2 bedroom suite. Our design concept and standards have been recognized by travelers, magazines and newspapers around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Retrome Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing